We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, poor desk staff, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #201 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2008

There is nothing wrong with the "hardware" of this hotel. The rooms are great, location also, across large shopping mall, near sea, great for families. It is the staff that may spoil your stay.
At the desk, while you are helped, they answer questions from newly arrived people, walk away, pick up the phone and talk endlessly, and the seem not interested at all to help you.
Simple questions like directions are answered with great reluctance if at all. They do not seem to listen well. I asked for a direction to a village that was 10 min drive away, and they printed me a direction of 165 km, without a correcting response to our remark that it was really a 10 min drive. We ended looking up the directions ourself at a paid computer.
Breakfast for the more expensive rooms on the 15 floor was terrible esp in the weekends: crowded space, not enough choices, not enough food, and you had to ask for glasses and plates, as they did not put enough out. And all this for 400 euro per night!
Waste of money, and i will never return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Limabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,269 - 2,275 of 3,169 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

This was the last stop on a 10 day Europe trip with my 17 year old daughter, and the Hilton Diagonal mar Barcelona was a great hotel to end the trip with. We were staying on points, but since I'm a HHonors Diamond member they upgraded us anyway! I found the staff to be friendly. Executive rooms are roomy and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on - anywhere! The club lounge has a great view and is open all day. We didn't spend any time at the pool, but the pool area and pool bar looked like a great place to hang out for an afternoon. The hotel is a 5 min walk to the east end of the beach.

If taking a cab from the airport to the hotel, be very clear to your taxi driver that you're going to the Hilton Diagonal mar Barcelona. Give him the exact address. This property is not located on Avenue Diagonal, but the other Hilton property is - only it's 10km or so to the northwest of where you really want to be. Unfortunately we were dropped first at the wrong property, then had to cab it down Avenue Diagonal to the correct hotel. It was a nice tour but another €20 that I would have preferred not to have spent. I learned later that the tram runs all the way down Avenue Diagonal and would have been much less expensive than the taxi fare.

The hotel is near a nice mall, but is a ways from La Rambla and the port. I was somewhat concerned about the location when I booked the room, but given the wonderful and varied modes of public transportation available in Barcelona it worked out to be a perfect place to stay! The Bus Toursitic and Metro stops are very close by.

I would recommend this property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JDAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

A clean, modern and convenient new hotel.

I checked in for three nights at the diagonal mar barcelona, only a stones throw from the beaches, and in the heart of a shopping/leisure area.

The hotel is impressive with a chic and cavernous lobby. The service was good. The hotel is a tall building with great views of the city, however be aware that a sea view involves looking at the sea in between a couple of very large, close office blocks behind the hotel.

The bedroom was contemporary and clean whith a very stylish bathroom. Space was not a problem anywhere in this hotel, if anything, they had too much of it (July is a quiet time for business hotels such as this one) and it felt a bit empty.

We tried the bar after dinner one night, and though it was dissapointingly empty, we braved the high prices and tried out the cocktails - great friendly service, though watch out for the upselling.

The pool and decking area were fantastic, and once we got over the feeling we were sandwiched between tower blocks, we enjoyed both swimming and food at the poolside bar.

We glanced at the restaurant menu and decided to give its extortionate prices a wide berth (30 euros for one main course, a two course meal for two with a drink would have cost over 100 euros). There are plenty of average restaurants out on the shopping centre complex next door, though I highly recommend wandering around the old streets of Barri Gotic at around 9pm when all the local Catalan restaurants come to life.

We enjoyed good service at all times during our stay at diagonal mar. The hotel was built for the exhibition/conference customer rather than the tourist, however with good transport links and such a great beach near by, I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birmingham262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stay here for our last 2 nights of our multi-city tour of Spain. I am so happy we ended at such a great hotel. During our trip we stayed at hotels that ranged from below average to above average. We definitely needed to end on a positive note. Nothing bad to say about the hotel. Any amenity you need is provided. Hotel staff was way above par. Room was very, very comfortable. And bathroom was clean and spacious. We also had a great view from of the Mediterranean Sea. Probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, and definitely the best service I have ever received.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikemangino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Fantastic hotel, staff could not do enough for you, probably the best hotel I have ever been too.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank manchester29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

As you would expect from an international Hilton, the hotel was in good shape with nice rooms and nice amenities. As I've also come to expect, after you add in parking and internet service and various other charges, expect to pay another $100/day.

The hotel itself is located a 5-6k outside of the center of Barcelona, but is across from a decent mall and a short walk to the beach.

Not a lot of interesting attractions or restaurants in the area, so I wouldn't recommend it if you're not going to a conference there--which appears to be one of its specialties

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank tonynelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We had a great stay at the Hilton! The room was a standard, non-club floor room on the 13th floor. We had a great view that overlooked the Mediterranean Sea and the hotel pool. Our room was spacious and clean, with a large modern bathroom. I really liked the power shower in the bathroom.

The hotel itself is modern and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble. The Indigo Restaurant serves great food and wine, and has excellent service. The hotel pool and sundeck opened while we were there - we spent some great time out there enjoying the beautiful weather. The food and drinks from the pool bar were expensive but very good. I highly commend the staff of this hotel.

The only negative is that the hotel itself is a long distance from Barcelona attractions such as La Rambla, although there is a Metro station very close by. I did like that there was a mall right across the street, for all those little things you might have forgotten.

All in all, I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MuseJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero
#240 of 519 in Barcelona
2,247 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#174 of 519 in Barcelona
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,508 reviews
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#170 of 519 in Barcelona
2,033 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#103 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#136 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $119 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes’ walking to the beach, the hotel offers stunning views of the sea and spectacular morning rising sun, the perfect place if you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, to have a cultural city break in Barcelona or to spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia’s capital. 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by public transports to reach the city center. The hotel is also faces Diagonal Mar Shopping Centre. 433 comfortable and spacious rooms of which 110 are newly renovated premium ones, styled in serene and calm tones inspired by nature, cooled with air conditioning and featured with flat screen LED TV, safe and minibar. The hotel is the home of Purobeach Barcelona - an urban oasis of happiness was voted one of the best beach clubs in the world by Conde Nast Traveler. A modern & completely new equipped fitness center completes the leisure facilitate of the hotel. The Indigo restaurant serves also delicious International and Catalan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing