We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #184 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mauritius
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Barcelona was the second destination part of my honeymoon Europe trip and we checked in Hilton Diagonal mar. We were upgraded to a relaxation room and were offered strawberry and champagne ! The room was nice, comfortable, clean and had everything you could ask for in a Hilton. There is a very big mall next to Hilton where you can enjoy various types of food. The beach is only 10 mins walk away and so is the nearest metro station. The hotel has a nice pool as well. All in all, if you are in Barcelona and want to enjoy both city and beach atmosphere, then this hotel has everything you could ask for. Wholeheartedly recommended !

Room Tip: A sea view room is what you want but if you can't have it then go for one with a view of the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website. I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay, and that you enjoyed your honeymoon.

Thank you for recommend us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona very soon.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    999
    317
    129
    77
See reviews for
564
862
130
804
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, b.c.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were treated first class. We checked in early and checked out late. We received a nice upgrade to the 21st floor. The room was clean and a good size. The views of the water and city were nice.
The executive lounge was good with great views also. The selection of food was good for a continental breakfast. The pool is also very enjoyable. The beach is only one block away. We also took a bus into the main part of town-only 15 minutes. Also received a bottle of champagne for our 25th wedding anniversary- what a pleasant surprise. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and found the room clean and that you enjoyed the Executive Floor. We celebrate that you enjoyed your 25th wedding anniversary!!!

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona very soon.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed two nights prior to a Disney Cruise, family of four, and I am a Hilton Gold Member. I did research on Trip Advisor before booking and noted the pros and cons.

Hotel arranged for a car transfer at the airport and it was very smooth. Glad we did this.
Check in was simple and was able to get rooms at 8AM. I did book two rooms connecting and the only complaint was while traveling from the USA I received an email saying my reservation was canceled. They had canceled and then rebooked with two new confirmation numbers due to available room bedding options, but not being notified of this was very stressful and could have been avoided.

We wanted to see the sites before our cruise and Cristobal at the front desk was EXTREMELY helpful. He booked us a car with a private guide. The nice thing was he was able to coordinate them picking us up at Camp Nou so we could do the 2 hour tour on our own in the morning before starting the guided tour. He went as far as having a map with the exact location of pickup sent to our room. The guided tour was well worth the money as we were able to be whisked around the city and learn more in four hours than we could in four days. We even scheduled to have the guide take us out for tapas so we could have the culinary culture explained to us at a place they would eat at.

The complimentary continental breakfast for Gold Members I give a B+ grade. They are unusually strict about getting one of each of three food types (cereal, pastry and bread). I did not see the big deal in just wanting two croissants as they said no, but in my mind I thought it was more of a cultural way of handling it.

The internet is free for Gold and Platinum members for up to three devices. I read lots of complaints on this, but being in hotels frequently on business I actually prefer this. The reason is if too many people are on, the speed is too slow. Then everyone complains about it being free, but having poor speed. You can get free access in the lobby, but have to ask for a code that gives you 8 hours. Again, controlling the number of people on so the speed stays fast enough so you don’t feel like you are on a dial up connection.

The pool was nice. The winds due pick up in the afternoon. The attendant is not a life guard, so you have to watch your little ones in the water.

Cabs are plentiful next to the hotel. There is a large mall across the street that has everything from McDonalds to Starbucks and a frozen yogurt shop like Orange Leaf in the USA. The food there is in the B category, more like dining in chain restaurants. If you want authentic, you can ask the front desk and they have business cards for restaurants you can give the cab driver and they take you right there. They also call in advance and make a reservation for you.

I also did a small currency exchange at the hotel. The difference to the published rate was 5%. I thought that was reasonable versus dealing with an ATM.

The people in Spain that work in tourism I found like Americans. Two main reasons, we tip when they normally do not receive much in gratuity and we are punctual as opposed to other cultures that are not some much.

We are scheduled to stay again after our cruise and will not cancel and rebook elsewhere as it was a GREAT experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNurick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona during your visit to the city and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona when you come back from your cruise.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very nice hotel ......... We only stayed one night , after a cruise, on our way to Nice, but everything was great ! The executive lounge was very nice. Close to the Flamenco show . It was a short cab ride and was well worth seeing. The mall was very close and so was the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sjtmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona during your visit to the city.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fourth stay at this hotel. Still a great location and great staff. The hotel is clean, bright and well kept. A huge improvementhave been wifi for free in public areas (people on holiday don't want to pay 25 euros a day for wifi to connect with Facebook !), this brings people into the lobby and gives the place more of a buzz which is good. Two small moans, the first can't be fixed or at least I don't think so.... big hotel, lot of people and only 4 lifts, we had to wait up to 6 mins for one to arrive, on average at least 3 or 4... The second, we had access to the Exec floor, same as last time... standards have dropped off quite a bit, breakfast was a bit of a joke, it seems that the exec lounge was getting to popular and so they have down graded the standard to push people to take the main breakfast at 25euro a head. International news papers are photo copies. Drinks and snacks available are limited outside the two hours open bar. They even charge 7 euros for a beer ! The hotel is making great efforts to attract people during tough times, well done.. please don't try and cut corners, it make customers think that what seemed to be a good deal is in fact a poor deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona during your visit to the city and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you had a nice stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona. We appreciate your Executive Floor feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good Points
-Pool area is relaxed and quiet
-Staff in executive lounge were helpful with printing boarding passes
-Room was large and on a high floor
-Free WiFi for Hilton Golds
-Good executive lounge breakfast wide selection,
-Fantastic views from executive lounge on 15th floor
-Comfy pool loungers and towels available

Bad Points-
-As a Hilton Gold member we politely asked in advanced for an upgrade request, this was ignored at check in.
-On the final day we asked for late check out, we were first locked out of our room and then had to go back to reception to receive another key card for the executive floor which we had been prevented from getting to.
-We expected to receive a sea view from our room, instead we received a view of the city which we did not want.
-Executive lounge closed on the dot at 8pm, I had just moved out of the lounge and when I came back my drink was gone and the lounge was shut.
-Poor executive lounge food selection after breakfast, only popcorn, nuts, crisps and other strange food
-When walking into the executive lounge with another couple were trying to find the lounge, we were greeted with 'ROOM NUMBER!' We felt this was very rude considering we had a keycard to access the floor as well as previously visiting the lounge.

We would not stay here again, it was only the porters which stood out and were helpful and the executive lounge clerk who helped to print our boarding passes.

Room Tip: Book an executive lounge room for an extra 18 Euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am happy to read the positive feedback. It was particularly pleasant to know that you had a good impression of the staff, and that you enjoyed the pool and the executive Floor. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

First room we were given smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, to their credit they immediately changed room for another one. Good breakfast. A little out of the way, but didn't have to go far to catch Hop on Hop off bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, General Manager at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

It is true that Hilton Diagonal Mar is not located in the heart of Barcelona but the metro and bus can reach to the city center quite fast.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#162 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#188 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Property: Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 5 minutes' walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the spectacular morning rising sun. Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona is "the place to be" should you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, have a cultural Barcelona City break or spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia's capital. At less than 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing the largest shopping centre in Catalonia, Diagonal Mar. The Purobeach Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the rising sun, Purobeach Barcelona will provide the perfect place to immerse yourself in an Oasis of relaxation in the middle of such a busy city. Evade yourself starting the Puro Experience with a swim in our unique pool and laying on our teak sunbeds. Relax, hangout, and try our signature massage, listening to our soft tempos from Puro Live Web Radio. The hotel offers services such as fitness centre, sauna and comfortable air conditioned rooms. Our multilingual concierge team can assist you with car and bike renting, museum visits, beauty treatments reservations or simply recommend the best cultural places to discover. Overlooking the sea or Barcelona's sky line, the stylish spacious rooms at the Hilton Diagonal Mar come with WI-FI or wired internet access, flat screen LED TV, safe and mini bar, and some can be connected to other rooms for your convenience. Pamper yourself and book a Hilton Executive room: enjoy the hotel's spacious Executive Lounge offering space to relax and enjoy a unique Mediterranean light with spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. As an Executive guest, you will benefit from exclusive services in our lounge: complimentary internet access, all day refreshments, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves delicious International and Catalan food. The seasonal poolside Purobeach Barcelona bar and Restaurant offers our international M3 menu with Miami - Marrakesh - Melbourne cosmopolitan influence, tailor made to satisfy all our guests' profiles. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect venue for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WI-FI to plan their next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing