We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really expensive, not too close unless working in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #184 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really expensive, not too close unless working in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has lovely rooms that overlook the sea which are really nice. But the location is a bit fare from tourist areas so unless working right there be careful when booking.
The hotel is also insanely expensive. I travel 100+ night is 4+ star hotels so I am used to high rates. Its not so much the 275 EUR rate but the additional 25 EUR for wifi (outrageous!) and 25 EUR for breakfast
I had a lot of interaction with the staff and they were all wonderful and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we offer free internet service to all our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members as one of their benefits. If you are already member you will upgrade your status adding nights to your account, if not I really invite you to become a member and to start getting points. You will find more information in our web.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    999
    317
    129
    77
See reviews for
564
861
130
803
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is large with a very nice ground floor bar. Bedrooms are very nice and large. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, it was better than average. You can ask the chef to make you anything but they don't advertise this.

Town centre is a 40min walk or €10 to €12 taxi ride. The metro is opposite the hotel. Beech is only a five minute walk away. Airport is €30 taxi ride.

Downside, pool is closed in the winter and the gym is small but functional. Thought it was expensive but then Barcelona is not cheep.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view and upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

It is true that Hilton Diagonal Mar is not located in the heart of Barcelona but the metro and bus can reach to the city center quite fast.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice hotel, rooms comfortable staff friendly and welcoming. Exec lounge is one of the better ones. Gym is about average. Restaurant very nice in the evening with good range of dishes and helpful and friendly waiters, breakfast was the widest range of foods i've ever seen at a breakfast buffet, theyve got anything you can imagine. It's about a 40 minute walk into town but quite a pleasant one along the seafront with dozens of bars and cafes to stop in. Cab back about a tenner. Recommended for couples. If you're in town on business you could do a lot worse!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElCalvados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one.

It is true that Hilton Diagonal Mar is not located in the heart of Barcelona but the metro and bus can reach to the city center quite fast.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here as a family for 3 nights and loved the hotel. As HHonors members we were upgraded to Executive rooms and enjoyed the 6-8:30pm happy hour in the lounge serving free drinks and lovely canapés / tapas.

The rooms were comfortable with excellent views of the sea.

The breakfast was really good too.

Staff were attentive and helpful. I was absolutely delighted when they were able to fix tickets to FC Barcelona when I couldn't get them on the Internet.

Just across the road there is a large shopping centre with some very good restaurants as well as some good shopping too.

The only thing preventing a full 5 strs for me was the location. Whilst handy for the beach it's a long long way to the centre. The underground is around 7 stops. The tourist bus does stop nearby, but you need to change onto another route before finding any of the main sights.

However, if you build in a little extra time or are happy to either get an underground (10 trips less than €10) or a taxi you will love this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay in the hotel. It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff was attentive and helpful.

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona very soon.

Kind regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
309 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

As a Hilton Gold Member, I am well versed in Hilton and the perks...and this Hilton had almost every single one. As an aside, we were on holiday with our 8 year old and 10 year old and, while they were extremely well-behaved, kids who are a bit rambunctious will not be appreciated by the other clientele.
PERKS: Executive lounge access (on the 15th floor) for Gold & Diamond members provided complimentary tea/coffee service, happy hour, and full breakfast...very nice and posh. If your room happens to be on one of the top floors (22 total floors) of the hotel, the views are AMAZING. The location is near the beach (about 2 blocks away), and located in an upper-end neighborhood with a mall across the street and a large park for walking, sports, etc. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold (15 C) during our stay.
DISADVANTAGES: Quite a distance from the Barcelona city centre; if you plan on visiting Barri Gothic, Rambla, Eixample, etc, you are going to need to take the Metro for a few stops or a 10 min taxi ride. Not quite family-oriented; the hotel definitely caters to the business and executive classes...unless you have mature/well-behaved kids or teens.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra (or be a Gold/Diamond member) to get a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas - Genevi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and enjoy the Executive Floor, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

It is true that Hilton Diagonal Mar is not located in the heart of Barcelona but the metro and bus can reach to the city center quite fast.

I'm glad that your children also enjoyed their stay.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona very soon.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a business trip. The check in and out at reception was quick and efficient, staff were smart, polite and spoke excellent english. The room was comfortable, spotless and well equiped as was the bathroom. The bar area in the lobby was very nice and the barman attentive. The breakfast was the usual big buffet, with hot and cold dishes of every kind, and the waiting on staff were again most courteous and helpful. I did not experience the leisure facilities so cannot comment on that. Diagonal Mar area is a busy area with bars and restaurants nearby, about 15mins in a taxi to La Rambla, about 10euro fare.
A good hotel, probably more suited to business clients than a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

It is true that the hotel is well fill out for business purposes but we also take good care of any client we welcome here.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

big but very nice ,put in a bit extra and stay on the top floor,the terrace there is worth it!
flexible and helpful staff,the weather turned bad so we wanted to leave earlier ,this was no probleme ,only paid for stay not for all days booked,flexible attitude means we want to come back
breakfast in the ex.lounge was perfect,same for afternoon snacks and wine/drinks

Room Tip: executive floor or as high up as possible and view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marirustad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff was flexible and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future.

Kind regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#161 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#185 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Property: Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 5 minutes' walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the spectacular morning rising sun. Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona is "the place to be" should you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, have a cultural Barcelona City break or spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia's capital. At less than 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing the largest shopping centre in Catalonia, Diagonal Mar. The Purobeach Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the rising sun, Purobeach Barcelona will provide the perfect place to immerse yourself in an Oasis of relaxation in the middle of such a busy city. Evade yourself starting the Puro Experience with a swim in our unique pool and laying on our teak sunbeds. Relax, hangout, and try our signature massage, listening to our soft tempos from Puro Live Web Radio. The hotel offers services such as fitness centre, sauna and comfortable air conditioned rooms. Our multilingual concierge team can assist you with car and bike renting, museum visits, beauty treatments reservations or simply recommend the best cultural places to discover. Overlooking the sea or Barcelona's sky line, the stylish spacious rooms at the Hilton Diagonal Mar come with WI-FI or wired internet access, flat screen LED TV, safe and mini bar, and some can be connected to other rooms for your convenience. Pamper yourself and book a Hilton Executive room: enjoy the hotel's spacious Executive Lounge offering space to relax and enjoy a unique Mediterranean light with spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. As an Executive guest, you will benefit from exclusive services in our lounge: complimentary internet access, all day refreshments, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves delicious International and Catalan food. The seasonal poolside Purobeach Barcelona bar and Restaurant offers our international M3 menu with Miami - Marrakesh - Melbourne cosmopolitan influence, tailor made to satisfy all our guests' profiles. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect venue for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WI-FI to plan their next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing