We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff. Food was very expensive and the location can be a challenge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #184 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff. Food was very expensive and the location can be a challenge.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It's a decent hotel - close to the Mediterranean so I'm sure some rooms have an amazing view. I could just see the water from my 6th floor (street facing) room which I thought was nice since I didn't pay for any kind of a view. The rooms were nice, clean. The bed was a bit hard for my liking and that interrupted my sleep the last two nights I was there.

I was attending a conference at the Fira Grand Via and it took over an hour (two metro changes, a Renfe train trip and a conference shuttle) to get to the hotel in the morning, and about an hour to return in the evenings so be aware of this if you need to travel daily to that part of the city.

To go out in the evenings it was about a 20 minute (L4) metro ride to get to the center of town so that wasn't bad.

Breakfast at the hotel was expensive - 25 Euro "at the door" and 16 Euro if you buy breakfast tickets at check in. It's buffet only and I thought the quality and diversity of the options was lacking and quite honestly not worth either price. There are not many other breakfast options near by so you're a bit of a hostage. It is located near a commercial center but that was still closed in the mornings by the time I had to leave the hotel. On my last day I just had a croissant and cappuccino in the hotel bar before heading to the airport. It was 8 Euro but that seemed like a bargain.

I would probably not stay here again due to the location and lack of simple dining options close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVA-JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Guest Service Dept
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    999
    317
    129
    77
See reviews for
564
862
130
804
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night before we boarded our Holland America cruise. We had a suite and the rooms were nice and comfortable. We did not dine at the hotel, but we had breakfast which was good, but expensive. The only thing which was not up to par for this hotel was the coffee in the lounge area. We asked for a cup of coffee and although it was made from the machine, it was delivered cold. Otherwise everything else was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The staff at this hotel was super friendly, extremely helpful and very professional. Although there is no concierge desk per se, everyone at the front desk is an accessible source of useful information. Don't be afraid to ask questions!
Our room had a great wooden floor. I personally love wood floors in hotel rooms!
The bed was super comfortable with lovely bed linens. The bathroom had a separate shower and bathtub, and was very large.
The executive lounge had a gorgeous view and was quite large. Breakfast offerings were very generous and varied.
The hotel is a few steps across the street from a mall with a huge supermarket. It was also around the corner from a metro stop that will quickly and cheaply bring you everywhere in the city. If you feel like touring, a Hop On Hop Off tour bus stop. Another great treat, is that the beach is less than a block away.
In short, the staff is great, the rooms are fantastic and the location is super convenient.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnitaM155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay in the hotel. It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff was very helpful and friendly.

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice, friendly employees and clean quiet hotel. If possible, pay for breakfast in advance...30 euros for breakfast buffet was too much per person. Good views of the city. 30 minutes from cruise port. Close to some attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona for six nights after a cruise September 2012. The area is quiet yet near the city centre. We noted in some guides it indicates within walking distance of La Rambla but that may be okay for someone who likes long walks but not us.
However transport was available with the hop on hop off bus 100 metres away, busses outside and taxis lined up at the corner. There is a great shopping centre across the road with plenty of choices of restaurants, cinemas, and a lively open square.
The staff at the hotel are fantastic, very friendly and a great help with information about everything a tourist needs. We had bed and breakfast and were very happy with the range of food offered for breakfast.
Rooms were a generous size and the bed very comfortable.
We had a seaview but it was limited to sea views between buildings, next time I will ask for a room overlooking the Mall which was bustling all day.
The area is far from being old, it is a new area and we felt vrey safe. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzzieStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am glad to read the positive feedback about the staff and room and that you enjoyed with breakfast.

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, MN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great hotel, if you want to be close to the beach. However, to get to the inner city to see the sites, you need to take a bus or taxi.

I used Hilton Honors points for our three night stay because I just could not see myself spending $400 Euro for a night. When I made my reservation I asked for everything.....a high floor with a sea view and...access to the Club Floor. We got both!! The view from our room and the TOP floor was the Mediterrenean Sea!

The hotel staff was excellent. They were able to help us with dining suggestions near the hotel and to explain to us how to get to and from the sites.

The first day we used a one day pass on the hop on, hop off bus system. The pick up and drop off is right around the corner of our hotel...very convenient. The second day the staff convinced us that the city bus was easy and simple, plus, much less expensive than the tourist bus system.

We got to see all of the highlites of Barcelona and did not have to deal with the evening crowds and noise. The Hilton Diagonal Mar was a great way to end our vacation. It definently meets the expectations of being a Hilton property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allgoodonesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton during your recent visit to Barcelona.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one.

I am glad to read the positive feedback about the staff attitude.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there for four nights , the rooms are very clean and the hotel as well . The service staff wre good. Nice little gym a, there is a metro station close by. i would definitly stay there again ! There are many little coffee place near by , so get out the hotel to eat !! Overall

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#162 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#188 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Property: Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 5 minutes' walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the spectacular morning rising sun. Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona is "the place to be" should you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, have a cultural Barcelona City break or spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia's capital. At less than 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing the largest shopping centre in Catalonia, Diagonal Mar. The Purobeach Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the rising sun, Purobeach Barcelona will provide the perfect place to immerse yourself in an Oasis of relaxation in the middle of such a busy city. Evade yourself starting the Puro Experience with a swim in our unique pool and laying on our teak sunbeds. Relax, hangout, and try our signature massage, listening to our soft tempos from Puro Live Web Radio. The hotel offers services such as fitness centre, sauna and comfortable air conditioned rooms. Our multilingual concierge team can assist you with car and bike renting, museum visits, beauty treatments reservations or simply recommend the best cultural places to discover. Overlooking the sea or Barcelona's sky line, the stylish spacious rooms at the Hilton Diagonal Mar come with WI-FI or wired internet access, flat screen LED TV, safe and mini bar, and some can be connected to other rooms for your convenience. Pamper yourself and book a Hilton Executive room: enjoy the hotel's spacious Executive Lounge offering space to relax and enjoy a unique Mediterranean light with spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. As an Executive guest, you will benefit from exclusive services in our lounge: complimentary internet access, all day refreshments, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves delicious International and Catalan food. The seasonal poolside Purobeach Barcelona bar and Restaurant offers our international M3 menu with Miami - Marrakesh - Melbourne cosmopolitan influence, tailor made to satisfy all our guests' profiles. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect venue for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WI-FI to plan their next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing