We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Allada Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Allada Apartments
Ranked #113 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed November 2, 2006

I was very impressed with these apartments, and have to say the location is just fantastic. Right in the heart of a beautiful area with cobble streets, lovely restaurants, bars and gorgeous shops.
You can walk every where from here, it takes about 15 mins to the Ramblas but to be honest, we stayed away from there and just soaked up the atmosphere of the lovely area we were staying in. Great little restaurant close by is Little Italy with live jazz music every night.
The only fault with the apartments was the noise from other guests, the walls are paper thin, and the housekeeper woke us up each morning cleaning the corridors and adjacent rooms. Also, our shower leaked all over the floor, the seal needed to be replaced, just a small thing really. But overall, great location, clean apartment, air conditioned, and super to have a little fridge to keep drinks cold. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank jldoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Allada Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Allada apartments. We travelled as a family of four, two adults and two children - one aged 7 and the other aged 5. The apartments were ideally situated - a 5 minute walk to the park, which had the local zoo located at the far end, 5 minutes to Las Ramblas with all the hustle and bustle of local life and tourists, 10/15 mins to the beach and there were a plethora of excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance. Having originally checked out the reviews on this site, I was a bit sceptical about booking this apartment but I was pleasantly surprised. It was awkward to get to; we had to collect the keys from a completely different location/my limited Spanish enabled me to ascertain from the taxi driver that he was unable to drive us up to the door of the apartment - it would have probably cost us another 10 euros by the time he had driven around the one-way system - and we had to walk but that turned out to be only about 100 metres (I suppose this could have proved difficult if you had too many bags but as we didn't, it was okay). The one downside was the fact that in the ground floor apartment we were allocated, the sofabed in the living area was on its last legs - literally - and wasn't very comfortable so I would say the owner should take note and replace it as it spoils an otherwise lovely, modern apartment. Also, the tip to take a tour bus was spot on - it enabled us to see a lot of the wonderful city for a small cost and minimum amount of fuss - excellent. I would definitely recommend Barcelona for a visit and the apartments are ideally situated for that. By the way, if you can be bothered (and don't have too many bags to haul), get the tube and bus back to the airport - it saved us over 30 euros and only took 40 mins!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank dkipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2005

I disagree with the negative comments of previous reviewers, I think they may have been unlucky. The decor was fantastic and aparment itself really cool and relaxing (very necessary after the steamy and loud atmosphere in barcelona). The definite negative was that the apartment for 3 was more like a bed sit with two beds and a sofa bed....
We also checked in on a Saturday but did nothing so insane as trying to walk it with luggage! The taxi from the Claris hotel to the apartment was pretty cheap between 3 people and when we arrived there were markets outside- very nice beginning to a great stay.
Close to the musee picasso etc, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kavi_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

Arriving on a Saturday we had to go to the Hotel Claris after 2pm which was a longish walk away from Metro station to pick up our apartment key, before we were able to head to Allada-2 metro stops away. We were given keys to a spacious, dark room on the ground floor with a CAFE with plenty of outdoor seating right outside our window! Internet website promised QUIET, LIGHT rooms so we had to call the manager, return to Hotel Claris to return original keys and collect new keys for a room that was already occupied. We then were made to wait another two hours-( we were told 15min) at the front entrance for keys to our original noisy room as they had nothing left. Keys arrived at 7:30pm, we missed first half of AC Barcelona match, we had 70E tickets(ouch!), 5 1/2 hours wasted. There were dogs barking, we could hear the conversations from the cafe way past midnight.
We were given another room higher up the following day, smaller, lots of light, and quieter, except at night when the slamming door noise, elevator noise, and the thin walls/ceilings(loud TV), bugs, kept us awake another night. Last day, is a Monday so there is a manager. We ask her to hold our bags until the afternoon. She said no, and not even at the Hotel Claris. As we were so inconvenienced the first night we asked if we could have late check-out, she agreed only after we made a scene in front of the other ten or more guests who also needed her services.
BYO sleeping pills. The immediate neighborhood is seedy, but is near the Picasso Museum and great eating establishments in Born.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 356LavaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

I stayed for two nights at the Allada with my wife and daughter in July 2005. The location is superb but there the praise ends. The apartment was tiny (despite being classifed as 'deluxe'), inadequately equipped (eg. no pillow provided for the third bed, insufficient towels and glasses, no soap), and had not been cleaned properly. The reception desk was only manned very fleetingly over the period we stayed, so there was no way of having complaints addressed. As other reviewers have already recounted, there is also a problem with noise from the corridors and other rooms. Overall, poor value for money, and I would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We stayed for 5 nights.
Rooms were very nice and clean with big ceiling to floor windows.
As previous review, the sound-proof within the block is terrible.
You can hear your neighbours doors slamming close etc. What were the developers thinking !
Luckily we had 2 nights of it only. Overall, a lovely hotel. Location is excellent, away from the busy main rd, close to la rambla, metro, beach.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeenaGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2005

We stayed in the Allada Apartments in Barcelona in June 2005 in a petit apartment. We found the Allada to be excellent with everything you need from self catering accommodation. The position of the apartments is excellent (5 minutes walk from lots of restaurants, the Picasso Museum, 2 Metro stations and 15 minutes walk from the Ramblas), yet is in a relatively quiet square. The only problem was that the soundproofing within the building was not good and during our last 2 nights doors were slammed continually until 3am. Overall a good choice.

11  Thank Pristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#328 of 513 in Barcelona
232 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#218 of 513 in Barcelona
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#129 of 513 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Aramunt Apartments
Aramunt Apartments
#112 of 732 in Barcelona
258 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
La Republica Apartments
La Republica Apartments
#103 of 732 in Barcelona
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allada Apartments

Address: Allada Vermell, 6 - 8, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $122 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allada Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allada Apartments are located next to the Born, one of the city's most modern districts. There is a vibrant nightlife but also a great deal of culture, such as the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Mar, and an infinite array of designer shops, boutiques and shoe stores. The beach is just a 20-minute walk away, making it the ideal place to enjoy the city both day and night, both in summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Allada Barcelona
Apartamentos Allada Hotel Barcelona
Allada Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing