We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the inner city, lovely rooms. Perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercer House Boria BCN
Ranked #312 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“In the inner city, lovely rooms. Perfect location.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Boria is run by the Mercer group and should not be confused with the 5 star Mercer Hotel.
Boria is in the Born district and pretty much near everything. Barber shop, a hip cafe called Cat Vegano, food stories, endless restaurants. It is a few minutes from Jaume metro and the old city.
The location is great. A walk to the beach is around 15 minutes.
On weekends, it does get noisy on weekends, but hotels in inner cities in Barcelona are like that. Always travel with noise cancelling headphones and ear plugs. I only needed them on friday and saturday night.
I had a junior suite - just beautiful. Great place to work and great place to sleep. The Kitchenette is perfect. The design of the rooms is lovely.
The views are nothing special, dont really recommend them, but there is sun light and three windows.
Staff are really nice and helpful.
Rooms are really well cleaned. And dishes even washed. How good is that!
Wifi is ok, not perfect but good enough. If you have more than one device, then some issues.
All in all, I would recommend it. If you have want quiet then KK Picasso is quieter as it is next to the Gardens. Hilton is great but far from the inner city.
For location, Hotel Boria is great.
I would stay here again. More central is Hotel Colon and if you have a budget, go for the Mercer Hotel.

Room Tip: High Floor - a must! If over the weekend, ear plugs a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mystical18

Thanks for your excellent comment to the Mercer Bòria BCN.

Comments like yours help us to improve every day and be a little better, with the aim to make our guests feel at home.

Forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    75
    24
    11
    11
See reviews for
87
67
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We selected the Boria BCN for it's location, size of accommodations, and reviews. We had a two bedroom suite. One bedroom had a door and was private, the other was not and was basically in the living area. Not a huge deal, but would have preferred more privacy. The lighting was not very good and because we faced the street and other windows, leaving all the windows open was not a comfortable option. Our desk lamp did not work. We asked it they could fix it or replace it and nothing happened. One of the rooms had water leaking down the wall from the A/C and mold forming. This was obviously an on-going problem. Again, it was never fixed. While the desk clerks were very nice and helpful, we got the feeling that management just didn't care. The solution to the A/C was for us to turn it off. We were there in August. Need-less-to-say, if we visit the great city of Barcelona again, I don't think we will stay at the Boria BCN.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoRC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mr. JoRC13,

Thank you very much for your comments, they help us to be better. I will say you that since you stayed in August 2012 till now, thanks to comments like yours in TripAdvisor, we have done many reforms in the hotel, because the main objective of management is the satisfaction of our guests.

For this reason, among other improvements carried out during this time we changed of all the Hotel Tvs, have been changed the air conditioning, lingerie, etc ... and now we are conducting the soundproofing of the rooms.

We hope to have you back with us in order to evaluate the improvements.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am currently staying in this hotel (May 2013), sharing a suite with another two people. The hotel building itself is beautiful, and our suite is very large and beautifully designed and decorated. The position of the hotel is perfectly located for exploring the city and is literally a few metres from the historic cathedral in the gothic quarter. This really could be a brilliant hotel...

However, if a hotel cannot supply such fundamental basics as towels and coffee cups, without being repeatedly prompted, what is the point of all the above?

There are three people staying in this suite, which potentially sleeps four, and there is a full kitchen in the suite. With only two coffee cups, one teaspoon, one tablespoon and one bath towel provided, it took a trip to reception, two separate phone calls requesting cups and towels, and several hours wait to get some extras supplied. Shoot....me....now....

Like I said, I'm trying to like it. It's got great potential.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Harry,

Thank you for your comments, they help us to improve.

I'm glad to know that you liked our rooms.

I'll apologize for all the other things: the time it took to get what you requested... I know that's no excuse, but I need say you that during these dates we had new staff and they has not been too long in the company.

I take note of all your requests and I hope will not happens again.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In many ways this is a great hotel - fantastic location, modern, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staff. However, our room was on the first floor and it was so noisy none of us could sleep our first night. We were lucky that the hotel wasn't full and the staff were extremely accommodating by moving us to a room on an upper floor, which was much better. However, if we hadn't moved (or if another room wasn't available) the stay would have been a nightmare because the area was noisy at night (it was just more muted on the higher floor). Aside from this, the Mercer Boria really is a great hotel so if management could soundproof the rooms, it would add a lot of value.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Ejas,

Thank you very much for your comments, these help us to improve. I can say you that we are preparing somethings to change the doors and the windows of the rooms to improve the soundproofing.

We’re going to solve this problem as soon as possible in order to offer our guest a better stay at Mercer Bòria BCN.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location within walking distance to all the major attractions in the old town (Gothic, El Born, Barceloneta, etc). Less than 100 metres from a metro stop (Jaume I) to take you to all the other major attractions.
Extremely friendly and helpful reception staff who spoke English well - a special thanks to Nikki.
Breakfast was adequate - a mix of continental and hot food cooked to your order. The chef was very friendly and made the effort to come in early for 2 days to accommodate our early schedule.
We stayed in a junior suite (room 401) which was really nice on initial inspection but was lacking in some areas. Some of the issues were quite minor, but some of them could potentially affect our decision as to whether to stay there again should the opportunity arise. Firstly, the lighting was very poor. Even with all the lights on it was still very dark. Secondly, the were no tissues in the room - probably the first time I've seen this in a room of such quality (and cost). Thirdly, whilst the kitchenette was reasonably well equipped, there was only one one wine glass available. Fourth, we were only provided with one bar of soap for the whole 4 day stay which we had to keep moving between the shower and the hand basin. Fifth, the pillows on the bed are quite flat - it would be nice to have a selection of pillows in the room (there may be some available but we didn't ask). Lastly, there was a horrible smell emanating from the bathroom - stale water or something like that. It's the same smell that pervades the reception area (I don't know how they sit in there all day). Whilst the first 5 issues are only minor, though probably shouldn't exist in a 4 star hotel, the last issue is quite off-putting and needs to be considered when booking.
Overall, our stay at the Mercer Boria BCN was quite enjoyable - made even better by the quality of service. If they could rectify the big issue of the smell in the room, and work on a few of the smaller issues it would be the ideal hotel to base your visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyatt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr Wyatt,

As a General Manager Mercer Bòria BCN, I'm grateful for your comments. I'm going to inform all the staff of your satisfaction.

About "minor" problems during your stay, I feel sorry that we are unable to fix it further, but I'll manage myself to solve it and let's hope it never happens again.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mercer Boria was in prime location to the city centre, walking distance to so many shops and the seaside. Being right in the middle of everything made the trip really great. The apartment was a great size.. very spacious, clean, neat and modern with friendly staff. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinnicole247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mrs Erinnicole,

I'm feel very satisfied to read comments like yours. I'm glad that your experience in Hotel Mercer Bòria BCN was great, and we're waiting for your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away for my birthday & it was an enjoyable one. When arriving at the hotel, the door gives a big hint to what to expect inside. Modern, clean & a friendly greeting! With the room we found the bathroom to be great & the room to be perfectly light, not too many lights & not too little. As for the hotels position, right next to the metro stop so you can travel to any metro stop with ease! A five to ten minute walk to the centre & also bars located on the same street. The free wifi also came as a free bonus & would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Helpful?
1 Thank deanoaky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
751 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
275 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#160 of 513 in Barcelona
973 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#200 of 513 in Barcelona
667 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#375 of 513 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer House Boria BCN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer House Boria BCN

Property: Mercer House Boria BCN
Address: Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#186 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercer House Boria BCN 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercer House Boria BCN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boria Bcn Barcelona
Boria Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Mercer House Boria BCN Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing