We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...but look around. Read the negative reviews - they're pretty much spot on.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercer House Boria BCN
Ranked #344 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found Hotel Boria BCN via Trip Advisor and Expedia. The reviews were mostly good on both sites and the photos appealing. The rate was acceptable for where we wanted to be in the city.

Pros:
1. Location - it is located in or at least very close to the Gothic area of the city and is a block from the Jaume I metro (tube) station. A number of excellent attractions are within an easy walk.
2. Separate rooms - I traveled with my wife and two boys. We booked a "loft" on Expedia and stayed in room 303. The kids loved having their own room and their own mattresses. We loved having our own space as well.
3. Fridge, sink, and dishes - there was a small refrigerator, sink, dishes, and some silverware that allowed us to eat in or snack a few nights. That was convenient and welcomed.
4. High ceilings in the main bedroom.
5. Great towels.

Cons:
1. Smell - the small lobby and lower levels of the hotel smell badly.
2. Noise - the hotel is located in an area surrounded by lots of foot traffic. The noise at night started early (8 pm) and went on late (sometimes past 3 am). It was RIDICULOUS - thank goodness we had noise canceling earphones - we had to sleep with them. Seriously.
3. TV - Limited to Eurosport in German or CNN in English.
4. Internet - We rely on the internet a lot to get around when vacationing. Unfortunately, the signal strength was very poor and the provider only allowed one user per "account".
5. Low ceilings - doorways were 5'9"-ish. We bumped our heads daily.
6. No real lobby or lounge area - Besides your room, there was no place to sit, relax, or do anything else. Internet was no better in the lobby than in the room.

Room Tip: I don't think I'd book this hotel again and I'd encourage anyone considering this proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfvint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thr hotel was about a 10/15 minute walk from the aerobus. Which was good and it wasn't too hard to find. It has a really contempory feel for being soo close to the gothic quarter. It is off a side street but not far down it. The receptionists were soo lovely and chatty. We felt very welcomed. When we got to the room we were soo surprised by its size. A huge double bedroom and a separate lounge/kitchenette area. There was even a welcome bottle of cava and some chocolates.
We paid for breakfast before we left the UK and it was fairly simple, cereal, bread and ham and cheeses and the onside chef would cook you up eggs however you wanted. They even made you tea or coffee.
The staff couldn't help much with tourist info but there was a big tourist information hub not far away. There was a night guard so you could get back at whatever hour of the late night/early morning.
The hotel is nicely situated for the cathedral, beach, Palau de Musica and several museums.
The room was cleaned daily and there was no sign of dust in our room. Clean towels were given daily too.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I would stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

we were not overly satisfied with this overnight stay. i really hoped to find a nice room to stay overnight before the cruise that we were going to start the next day, and although the first experience was good, we then understood that the hotel was not managed quite good. the room was not cleaned well (dust everywhere) and quite worn, although the hotel is not that old. we spent half an hour for check out (so much paperwork!).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel very hard to find, taxi unable to drop you near hotel. Very noisy at night, garbage truck wakes you up at 4am every morning. Rooms have kitchens but no dishes or equipment to cook anything, the only hotel I have ever been in that didn't even provide tea and coffee. Breakfast a waste doesn't start till 9am and very expensive. Don't expect staff to be able to help you with any tourist information. Do yourself a favour don't stay here.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank GBH777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Location is great, not too touristy, down a little side street.

However, everything else was pretty average/poor.

Reception area appears to be the main office, with papers scattered on desk etc. Not a great intro.

Paid for the 'superior' room, no idea if we got it. What we got was a room with a warped floor, causing the wood flooring to have risen, which meant the door jammed every time. They must know this - the cleaner could not get in the room without hitting the same problem.

Plus the door was not hung correctly, so we could not lock it from the inside. Someone opened our door in error one afternoon...

The room was a weird shape, with terrible furniture (plastic Ikea tables at the bedside - a triangular leather chair that was just in the way). There was no ceiling light, so any light came from the bedside lamps. Not much sunlight coming in the windows as it's down a little alley, so they really need to have decent lighting. There was a little veranda which was pleasant enough.

There was no safe in the room. There was no 'information brochure' in the room. We had to ask for how to connect to wifi. No info on when breakfast was etc etc. Just really basic things that every other hotel on the planet manages. No telephone. No coffee facilities etc. No idea there was a roof terrace etc.

The bathroom was quite large which was good. Had a hairdryer.

The room was cleaned well though, can't fault that. Fresh towels every day.

No one on reception when we left in the morning, so just left our key passes on the paperwork-strewn desk and left.

Would not recommend as it's not 'boutique' enough to get away with being quirky. It's just overpriced, cheaply decorated and badly put together.

Room Tip: See some photos of the room you're getting before you book and you can judge if it looks 'su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

hotel is down a side street off Laietana which makes it a fantastic location. We booked the loft room with the extra bedroom with twin beds. Myself, my husband and 3 yr old.
The room was fantastic - plenty of room, clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom but there were a couple of cons that brought this down from an execellent score.

1. TV in main room had 1 channel - remote didnt work
2. TV in twin bed room had only german channels - remote broken
3. Water in shower was luke warm
4. machine issuing entrance cards for room was broken so everytime we wanted to go in or out of our room we needed an escort from reception
5. wifi available but signal so low that you cannot connect to internet
6. very noisy (to be expected I suppose given location) but still very noisy so bring earplugs if you want to sleep
7. REception upon checkout didnt ask us how our stay was or thanks or anthing really -

Most people wont care about the TV when in the Centre of BCN but I wanted it and was fed up not being able to zap. But the room and location are perfect if you dont need wifi and can sleep through laughing and singing group of people making their way home...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burkem121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#24 of 518 in Barcelona
374 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#126 of 518 in Barcelona
773 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#166 of 518 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#147 of 518 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#62 of 518 in Barcelona
2,144 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#45 of 518 in Barcelona
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer House Boria BCN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer House Boria BCN

Address: Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#201 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $110 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercer House Boria BCN 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercer House Boria BCN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boria Bcn Barcelona
Boria Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Mercer House Boria BCN Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing