We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another cancellation without explanation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercer House Boria BCN
Ranked #326 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just read the previous reviewer's comments after coming here to find out more information about why our reservation has been just been cancelled - just 10 days before our stay. Stunned! Something dodgy going on here I suspect. Currently waiting for a callback from Expedia's re-location team - but I'm not that hopeful they'll find anything at such short notice for us. Quite angry and the children will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Allens_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Mercer House Boria BCN
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Having booked via Thomas Cook, were perturbed to arrive and find the hotel closed. No notification prior to departure. After numerous lengthy international phone calls TC have managed to relocate us (a family of 5) in superior accommodation so thumbs up for that; could have done without the hassle and worry of being stranded in an unfamiliar city with the family. Thank heavens we arrived early morning so could at least sit in a square whilst waiting for the situation to be resolved.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManicHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We would have loved to have stay at Hotel Boria after having booked and paid for it on Hotels.com 4 months prior to our visit. One week prior to our stay, our reservation was cancelled with no explanation from the hotel. Our money was refunded per Hotels.com. They were unable to find similar lodging for the same price, especially at such short notice.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank tmartin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Took the train in from the airport and walked the distance through main streets which wasn't a problem despite large suitcases. A little hard to find the hotel, so make sure you have map/ directions prior to leaving. Location was excellent in that it was not on the Ramblas which is busy, but still close to shopping, eating, transit and not far from the beach etc. Staff was extremely helpful trying to locate lost luggage on a daily basis - 4 days later it did show up and they put it in our room while we were out. The only negative is that we found it to be loud at night and did not sleep well. It was Easter weekend, so I am not sure it would have been much different elsewhere but the sound did travel in the close walled streets. We travelled with two other couples and we all really had a great trip. Enjoyed the roof top deck on a couple of occassions for a glass of wine but it could use a couple extra chairs. Having the fridge helped for breakfast items and cold drinks. Had a great birthday dinner one night at Café de L'Academia. Opens at 8:30 and was full from that time on.

Room Tip: Loft as it had a sitting room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is an apartment hotel. The benefit is that our room on the fourth floor was enormous, with every facility for self-catering. The downside is that there are no hotel facilities - bar, restaurant, foyer space. The decor is excellent but unless the management keep an eye on detail, will deteriorate. Examples in our room, flickering lights, broken lid on kettle.

Our main advice in Barcelona is be extremely vigilant with your posessions. Of the six of us there for four days, one had a phone stolen on the underground and one a wallet in the Boqueria market. We had thought both were sensibly tucked safely in pockets. After the theft in the market we went to the police where we saw a steady stream of people who had been robbed in the Boqueria. The worst cases were snatched handbags containing passports, phones, cards and money. The policeman who took our particulars had a pile of some 20-30 reports taken that morning and there were four or five others speaking to victims.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Great apartment hotel, modern and clean. We (four friends) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and there was plenty of space for us all. Great location, so easy to walk to Las Ramblas, the Gaudi Cathedral and the Picasso Museum. We walked past the door initially, as it's not obvious it's a hotel - with its' great big wooden door. Helpful staff too. So all in all great value for money.

The only negative was the toilet/shower being open plan too; as the whole loft apartment had large vaulted ceilings it was very difficult to use the facilities without everyone hearing!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutmeg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

the grate thing about Boria hotel
is the feeling of having your own apartment in Barcelona
than beeing just a tourist in a small room hotel room
also verry romantic wellcome with prosseco
(just little smell from bathroom perhaps all old center of barcelona has )

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#212 of 513 in Barcelona
672 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#163 of 513 in Barcelona
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#128 of 513 in Barcelona
1,139 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
291 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer House Boria BCN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer House Boria BCN

Address: Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $191 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercer House Boria BCN 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercer House Boria BCN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boria Bcn Barcelona
Boria Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Mercer House Boria BCN Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing