We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Parking!”
Review of Sunotel Aston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunotel Aston
Ranked #369 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive Parking!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice hotel, good breakfast, all the staff were excellent... except the female receptionist who was rude. They should state in their adds. that the parking is, 22 euros per night! and you cannot park on the road after 7.00 am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190759Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    174
    142
    52
    30
See reviews for
64
219
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel from 23rd - 29th September 2012. The rooms was clean and comfortable but would have appreciated tea and coffee facilities. The breakfasts were good with a varied variety of food on offer. The staff were very nice and really helpful. The pool on the roof was good but very cold but it was nice to sit out on the sun loungers and relax with a book after a long day walking around the city. Access to the city was east from this hotel with the Metro stop being very close by. The hotel was almost fully booked during our stay but it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visit Sept/Oct 12, we were booked into Sunotel Junior around the corner and was offered an upgrade on arrival to Aston (ie: bigger room). Although the room had obvious slight old evidence of damp by the windows the room was overall very good, spacious, and very clean. I was happy for what we had for what we paid. I didn't find the location too noisy although our room was located right opposite the lift shaft which was noisy at times but we didn't request a room change so it obviously didn't disturb us too much. I was a little disapointed with the breakfast, if you like your cereals and fresh fruit like I then be prepared there was little selection if you like your toast, eggs, bacon, ham, cheese and good selection of pastries then you won't be disapointed.

I found ALL the staff at this hotel very accommodating, especially the gentlemen, we had advice on where to go and where not to go, had all our taxi's booked for us. Very friendly and helpful.

Location, well a good 45 mins walk to La Rambla if you take the most direct route, or a few changes on the metro (ie 10 mins max). Nearest metro a 5 min walk from the hotel. We walked / metro in the day and took a taxi by night which was around 7-12 euro's depending on time.

Room Tip: The further away from the lift shaft the better.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I liked the service.. Very friendly and helpful staff.. The rooms were moderate but clean and comfortable. The hotel was not exactly central but within a reasonable distance to even walk to the centre. I especially liked the very nice breakfast and the "real" swimmimng pool on the roof.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

the swimming pool was 1 meter and full of rubbish.the hot tub had green color and i don't suggest to women.the bathroom's water smells something bad.we locked in the bathroom because the door was broken.the women which clean the room get inside without ask us..unbelievable.no mini bar.near the metro station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

They should invest more in the air conditioning system. It's feels like steam bath.
Apart of that price and rooms are fine.........................................................................................................................

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Not far away from center (20-40 min by walk, and subway station is close enought - about 5 min), A lot of cafe around hotel. Very good stuff.
Small pool on the roof.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#356 of 513 in Barcelona
306 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#365 of 513 in Barcelona
652 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Club Central
Sunotel Club Central
#300 of 513 in Barcelona
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#341 of 513 in Barcelona
2,675 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
556 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Glories
Hotel Glories
#306 of 513 in Barcelona
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunotel Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Aston

Property: Sunotel Aston
Address: Calle Paris 101, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunotel Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunotel Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Aston Hotel Barcelona
Aston Hotel Barcelona
Aston Barcelona
Barcelona Aston
Sunotel Aston Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing