We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel, great stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Casa Camper a couple times and it has become a favorite. It is one of the coolest hotels I have experienced anywhere. Its location is excellent, on a very quiet side street just a block or two from all the activity on the Ramblas, and close to plenty of great shopping, great food, and the like. Everything in the hotel has been carefully thought out to be effective and appealing. The suites are very pleasant. One huge advantage is that there are snacks and soft drinks available to guests any time. This encourages one to keep drinking water, which is good for jet lag. (Also you can get tea or cola, which provide caffeine, also useful for jet lag.) The staff has been very friendly and helpful, beyond the call of duty. You can buy a bottle of wine or cava at quite reasonable prices, unlike the upcharges that many hotels impose. Several days it was great to get a nice bottle of cava and sit on the roof terrace, with a lovely afternoon view of the city and the surrounding mountains. There is also a small fitness center in the basement, which enables one to get a workout without having to run around the crowded streets. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    204
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
372
986
106
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I love camper shoes so I was curious to see what kind of hotel they make. Basically it is like the shoes. good wuality, a bit quirky and very ¨"different". The location was good as it is in the heart of the city and I enjoyed the room and the ability to wake up and be in the middle of the town. Everything abou the hotel was nice - even the satff was very kind - something that can not be taken granted in spain. it will be great to come back - maybe I even visit their other hotel in berlin just for fun....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petkep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are seeking a formal, elegant hotel in Barcelona Casa Camper is not for you. Casa Camper is very casual and very comfortable. The hotel is very small, and very well located. The design and concept of the hotel is very different than any other hotel I have stayed in, but the fresh ideas which start with the location of the front desk - all work. The staff is incredible. We must have interacted with 8 different staff members over our 3 days, and they delivered wonderful customer service while never being intrusive. Finally we loved how quiet the hotel was. The bedrooms all open up to an interior courtyard.

Room Tip: ll rooms appear to be pretty equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent four days in casa camper in jan 2013 celebrating my husbands birthday. We have three year old and two months old baby who came with us so I was little nervous especially after seeing the suite was not very big and did not have too much daylight apart from in the bathroom. However, there was no reason to worry. The hotel was very comfortable, the little ones loved the hammock in the room, and the big bath. All day buffet in the kitchen was great with a lot of healthy snacks - great when you have always hungry child. Hotel service was brilliant, and we also liked somewhat quirky decor. The location was very convenient for walking around the centre, we hardly needed the taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aidavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Fabulous 'design' hotel - as others have said, could be called quirky, but we just thought it was well thought through and as a concept, separated itself from all other hotels in the city. Staff made you feel like you were staying in a family run establishment - super helpful and all really knowledgable about the city, etc.

Bedroom and separate sitting room works really well. My daughter loved the hammock. Bedroom could have had stronger lighting and we would have liked an overall cooler temperature - the aircon didn't seem to work very well so we had to open the window in the loo and leave the door open to get any fresh cool air in the room.

The self service snack area works really well. We enjoyed returning from sightseeing and treating ourselves to a soft drink and snack before dinner and then after dinner, coming back to a herbal tea and brownie. Yum.

Five minute walk to Plaza Catalunya for the tourist bus (well worth it if you're a first time visitor to Barcelona) and very close to most sights. Do try and book at the hotel restaurant next door Dos Palillos which we thought was really good.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The sitting room and the bedroom is separated by a corridor; it worked for us; but if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAmandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 4nts end Feb and had a Suite rather than a separate lounge and bedroom as we wanted our daughter in the same ‘area’, rather than across the corridor. Here is what we thought:
5 stars
Location – 2mins from the Ramblas (which is not a ‘cute street‘ but a busy ‘tourist highway’!!), and 5mins from Catalunya Plaza where the Tourists buses go from (yes – get one, it’s such a great way to see a large part of the city)
Staff – helpful, friendly, personal, remember your name (and your birthday!)
Quirkiness – great, decor fun, just look around and they do a load of thoughtful things that other hotels are missing out on such as being able to charge you iPad in a locked safe! ; lending out umbrellas or bikes (depending on the weather!), chocolate cake on your birthday and more
Breakfast – best we’ve had and cooked to order. Loved the 24hr self-service snack area.

4 stars
Our room(s) were a bit dark – especially the master bedroom which had no windows (felt a bit claustrophobic the first night so we had to open all the sliding doors to the lounge and bathroom). The bathroom had one average sized window but we couldn’t open it so the master bedroom lacked light and bathroom lacked ventilation. No individual room a/c (apparently it's a whole hotel thing; either on or off); there is room ‘heating’ with a wall thermostat but even set on the lowest setting 18c it was still too hot at night (even in March) so we had to turn it off and have the balcony door open.... which can be slightly noisy from the street below.

Expensive, but now you know what you're going to get – you decide!

Room Tip: High floor for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent Hotel with a lot of good innovative thinking in terms of design of the whole place (rooms, lobby, breakfast and snack area). The only hesitation is that the room is actually divided in two rooms, one bedroom and another room, and you have to cross the corridor to go from one to the other. Can be convenient... or not. We ended up not using the second room and would have preferred one bigger room. Having said this we really loved this hotel, where amazed at how helpful the staffs were...and will go there again next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
211 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,276 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
171 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 512 in Barcelona
859 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Property: Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Address: Carrer Elisabets 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Camper Barcelona
Barcelona Casa Camper Hotel
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing