We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SERHS Del Port Hotel
Ranked #166 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a cruise initiating in Barcelona and wanted to go in a couple of days early to see the city and adjust to the time change. After reading the reviews of this property, I booked with this hotel but was hesitant given some of the reviews I read...don't be! The hotel is in an excellent location - we walked to Las Ramblas and took the metro to the other sites we wanted to see. I suggest you buy the 10 ticket pass right off - a couple can share the same ticket and it doesn't have an expiration period. A metro stop is just down the street from the hotel - easy walk. Everyone talks about purse snatchers and the like in Barcelona and upon checking in the hotel clerk warned us to be careful and that the hotel provided a free in-room safe for our valuables. We had purchased those money belts you hide under your clothing and had absolutely no problems in this city at all. The hotel also has a secure entry - you should buzz to be let in, but the clerks minding the desk are vigilant and often see you standing there before you buzz and will let you in on sight. Both clerks we encountered, the day and evening clerk, were friendly and helpful. Upon check-in the evening clerk even gave us a map of Barcelona - an excellent map...I was rather sorry I had bought a tour book with the map in the back pocket before leaving home - didn't need it. The hotel's map - and knowing which sites you want to visit by checking the internet before you go - would have done it.

The hotel offers a breakfast but at 10 Euro each we thought that was a bit pricey and probably more than we needed to eat first thing in the morning so we opted to walk down the street a bit and on the same side as the hotel (turn right when you leave the hotel) you'll find a couple of places that offer breakfast pastries/croissants and coffee at a reasonable price.

We thoroughly enjoyed Barcelona and if we return to this city I would definitely stay here again. They were very helpful and accommodating. Upon checking out they stored our luggage for us so we could see more of the city before boarding the ship. Oh, and the room - it was clean, the bed the was comfortable, the bathroom nicer than many I have seen, and it was quiet enough that noise never bothered us at night when we went to sleep. We aren't night owls, and for a city that doesn't even eat dinner until 9 pm that's saying something. Our first morning in Barcelona we slept until 12:30 pm! That's not because we stayed up late; it was due to jet lag and a testament to how quiet the room actually was. What more could someone want?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for SERHS Del Port Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 629 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in November. The location is spot on for the old town, Port Vell & the Metro. Yes it may be in a residential area with locals cafes & restaurants nearby but those reviews who said it was in a sketchy area are clearly more nervous types. As for the room it was clean & tidy with 2 large beds & a smart bathroom with a large powerful shower. Reasonable hanging space with a good number of hangers, a few drawers, safe & mini bar. We had double doors & a very small balcony whilst other rooms just had windows. The only view from our room however was straight into the front rooms of the private apartments over the road. We did pass on the 10 Euro self service breakfast & opted for a cafe 2 doors down the road at a fraction of the price.

For the money we paid I can't fault the place & would stay again if we return to the city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We booked 3 rooms here for a 3 day weekend with friends. The hotel is in a great location - easily reached from the airport, close by to a central metro station, a 5 minute walk to La Rambla & to the port. The rooms are clean, sufficiently sized & comfortable. All 3 rooms were road facing & we had no trouble with noise levels. Some of the front desk staff could have been a little more helpful, but they were pleasant enough. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiminitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hotel located 10 mins from las ramblas. Do not walk alleys and side streets around hotel. Stick to main street down towards marina when heading too and from las ramblas.
Hotel is clean. No Bar but couple of cafes type bars to the right hand side of hotel.

Hotel ideal for stag partys, football matches etc. Not for romantic getaways.

Hotel is clean and comfortable and has a lift and 24hr reception. Metro stop 5 min walk to the right.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryHolidayLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Hesperia Carlit for 2 nights and were very pleased with the room. It was clean, comfortable and worth the price. The location was ideal for us. It was a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from a metro stop and only 2 stops from Las Ramblas. We mostly walked from the hotel to may tourist sights as the weather was nice and we wanted to see the city. I'd stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hesperia. We arrived late and were assured by reception that the street was safe, even so late at night. Having never been to Barcelona before, the street did appear a little seedy in the dark, however we found a great bar (fashion tapas bar &pizzeria), about 5 doors down where we ate every day and night due to the price and good quality food. During the day we found the street to be very pleasant and safe, also a great location for the port and ramblas.

We had a street facing smoking room on the 5th floor that was very clean on first impressions, although the bed was a little hard, not really an issue as we walked miles and miles every day-we were just glad of somwhere to rest! Air con was on all night so we were cold in the morning, thus using the blanket, only for me to find several long black hairs on the inside of it, (I am blonde and my husband has short hair...definatly not our hairs!), it was a little off putting for me, however i know that some people will find this totaly unacceptable. Said long black hairs were also on the bathroom floor!
The bath/shower drove me insane! The glass door was glued to the wall and bath, so to turn the shower or bath on, you had to get into the bath first and set the temperature while your standing there, freezing water, all over you. nice. Also, the bath would not run without the shower going. So clearly lacking a bit of common sense in the bathroom department!

We were going to have breakfast in the hotel, but didnt bother as the bar we were in were serving breakfast for less than half the price, and there is a lovely pastry shop 2 doors down, and a shop next door selling a bit of everything (alcohol, cold soft drinks, snacks, fresh fruit etc), all at half the price that you would pay on the port, ramblas or the hotel minibar, and there are plenty of cheap places to eat, just a stones throw away from the hotel.

On checking out, we asked reception to call us a taxi to the airport, it arrived in a couple of minutes. Very efficient, or so we thought at the time. We arrived at the airport, and the meter said 20 something euros, then the driver pressed a few buttons and the then tried to charge us 38 euros..... dont think so somehow as our taxi from the airport to the hotel was only 18.... we tried to get the driver to justify the price, and we understood that there was a charge from the hotel for phoning the taxi for us, also an airport suppliment. (needless to say we did not pay the full ammount, 30 euros is all he was getting from us!)

Then, the day after we arrived home, my husband checked the bank account online as we reguarly do, only to find that the hotel has taken £18 worth of euros out of the bank as a tip...? we were never told this on booking, or checking out of the hotel, neither did we leave a tip. My husband never signed for anything to be taken out of the bank, nor did he authorise any further payment to the hotel after we had paid for our stay, (well over 2 months before we arrived). We are now in dispute of this paynent, so we should get the money back, however I am disgusted that they did this in the first place, I'm pretty sure you cant just take a tip out of someones bank account just bacause you feel like it!

All in all, it was a great trip, the hotel isnt awful, the staff just seem to use your card without telling you and that is the reason why i am rating this hotel as poor.
S X

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxsophiemxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We arrived in Barcelona back in May, and stayed at the Hesperia del Port. Barcelona is a wonderful city and we enjoyed our stay.

Positives: It is an excellent location. Quick walk to the train to Montjuic, and just around the corner from Las Ramblas and the Port.

Negatives: (1) The twin beds that made up the one big bed both squeeked if you moved. It woke my wife and I up most of the nights. (2) The walls are paper thin and I could hear everyone come into their rooms while we were sleeping. I could even hear someone in the neighboring bathroom singing. (3) The shower would leak into the bathroom. Made for a nasty floor.

Overall, we would visit Barcelona again, but pay the extra $$$ to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Americans, pay the extra $$$ to get a 5 star hotel in Europe
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neerav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#181 of 513 in Barcelona
1,078 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic
Acta Mimic
#219 of 513 in Barcelona
2,665 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#285 of 513 in Barcelona
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#86 of 513 in Barcelona
1,677 reviews
Eixample
Hotel SERHS Carlit
Hotel SERHS Carlit
#325 of 513 in Barcelona
313 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#190 of 513 in Barcelona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SERHS Del Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SERHS Del Port Hotel

Address: Paral.lel Avenue, 40, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia del Port)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $87 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SERHS Del Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SERHS Del Port is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the center of Barcelona. Within just a few minutes' walk from the bustling Las Ramblas and beautiful port area, this newly built hotel provides exceptional value and a high level of modern comfort. Non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SERHS Del Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Del Port Barcelona
Hesperia Del Port Hotel Barcelona
SERHS Del Port Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing