We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on first impressions but let down by a closer look” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar
Ranked #169 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel on first impressions but let down by a closer look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've recently spent 4 nights at this hotel, booking it after reading reviews on trip advisor. When we first arrived, the hotel met our high expectations. It was easy to find, an impressive building with modern decor, the staff were friendly and helpful, it all looked perfect. On the whole it was very good, but there were a few points that let it down. Our room was on the 6th floor near the entrance to the lifts, so opposite the room was a drop leading down to the foyer. Although this was made to look nice, it also meant that the noise from the breakfast buffet travelled up to the room. Combined with the noise from the cleaners outside the room, who seemingly didn't try to keep their voices down, we were often woken up in the mornings. The rooms could do with some sound proofing to prevent this problem.
The hotel had a nice space on the roof with a pool, a bar and deckchairs. If you just want to sunbathe or enjoy looking out over Barcelona with a drink that's fine. If you actually want to swim, then bear in mind the water is very cold. We went in September, which was still very warm and although the sea was warm, the water in the pool wasn't, which we were disappointed about as it is only a small pool. It was also closed twice in the 3 days we were there, once for a private function, and once because it had been raining a few hours previously.
The only other negative point was that the snacks in the room weren't replenished when they were used.
On the whole the hotel was very good. Other reviews complain that it's too far out of the city centre, which we didn't find a problem. It was a 10 minute walk to the metro (and incidentally, a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction to the beach), and then 10-20 minutes into the city on the metro depending on where you wanted to go. We bought 10 trip tickets from the metro station for about 10 euros, which was sufficient for the time we were there.
Word of advice, if you decide to get a taxi to the airport, the train journey looked like it could take a considerable amount of time when you changed from the metro to the line going out of the city, then if you ask the hotel to call the taxi for you, you will be charged an additional 7 euros, on top of the 6 euro airport charge. The taxi ended up costing us over 40 euros because we weren't told this until we arrived.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the end of a corridor, not overlooking the foyer it will probably be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamasimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear dreamasimpson,
My name is Marta, Guest Experience at the hotel TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar


Thanks very much for your comments
We are pleased that you gave us these advices. In this way you give us the chance to improve our service more and thereby you make it possible for us to adjust our hotel to the expectations of our customers.
We will be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Marta_TrypCM
E_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    861
    236
    75
    48
See reviews for
245
890
57
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great Hotel, location was okay too, not as bad as some of the reviews, train station was less than 5mins walk and there is a nearby shop where you can buy drinks etc at cheap prices. Easy to get into the city centre as the metro is easy to use, very user friendly esepcially if you buy the T10 card which only costs 9.80Euros for 10 single trips, you can even use this card on the trip from airport to hotel, which is very cheap. I'd rather pay 1 Euro for an hours journey than pay 30+ Euros for a half hour taxi ride to airport! Defo worth it!

Hotel was clean, very nice, modern and staff were nice. Gym was a little on the small side though. Hotel was also a close walking distance (10-15mins walk) to Mar Bella beach which was much better than Barcelonta beach which was too crowded. Also 10mins walk to Daignoal mar shopping centre which included shops such as Mango, Zara and Primark!

Only fault was the hotel fridge was not very cold,

Overall good hotel at reasonable price...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waiy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear waiy m,

I am Marta, Guest Experience at the hotel TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us
We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.
Your positive evaluations are valuable and will help us with our continuing effort to improve the quality of the services to our guests.

It is very glad to hear the hotel exceeded your expectations and we will be very pleased to welcome you again in a next visit in Barcelona.
Yours sincerely,
Marta_TrypCM
E_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is a bit out of the way but we have stayed in another hotel that was closer to the beach and the shopping centre before but we still love this Hotel more! It was our 3rd visit and loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta TrypCM E, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Vicky L,

Thanks very much for your comments

We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. Your positive evaluation is valuable and will help us with our continuing effort to improve the quality of the services to our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome by third time at TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar!!!

Yours Faithfully,
Marta_TrypCM
E_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel on two occassions. The last being for a week in September 2013. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes bus/tram to city centre. Buses and trams can be picked up on the Diagonal which is 3-5 minutes walk away. Staff are great at the front desk (Hi Tamara - Tamara - Tamara :) ) and in the other guest areas such as the restaurant and poolside. Could do with some more sun-loungers at the rooftop pool though - there is the space. Rooms are very good, clean and tidy and excellent value. Budget for a €45 taxi fare from/to the airport though. Taxi from city back to hotel of an evening is around €18.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta TrypCM E, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Dekathleen,
I am Marta, Guest Experience at the hotel TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar.
We would like to thank you for your review.
I appreciate your mention of the service that we provide as well as cleaning and location. We will send your compliments to Tamara.
We are very glad to hear the hotel exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you again by third time.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel TRYP Condal Mar.

Warmest Regards,

Marta_TrypCM
E_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was nicely decorated and within a quite area,friendly staff who were very helpful and made sure we got everything we needed. But i wish the AC would go below 18degrees as it was summer but turns out we didn't need it after all. Had a big of challenge with the safe which didn't close for some reason. The restaurant and food was fantastic,had a great laugh trying to ask for the beach in spanish to one of the waitresses.
It was truly one of the nicest hotels i ever stayed in ;-)

Room Tip: Higher floors give you the best view of the surrounding areas from your hotel window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietrot20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta TrypCM E, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Pietrot20,
My name is Marta, Guest Experience at the hotel TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar
Thanks very much for your comments!
We are very glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Tryp Condal Mar
We appreciated the fact you mentioned you liked the food and restaurant and we take note of your constructive comments regarding AC and safe.

We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel TRYP Condal Mar

Yours sincerely,

TRYPCM
G_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed with my gf last week and was very impressed with the hotel. Modern decor, brilliant pool/bar area and massive room. I emailed in advance to ask for a room as high as possible and was given the 8th floor with views of the sagrada familia! We were also on the 'corner' of the oval shaped building so I think the room was slightly larger than average. My only negative is that there are not enough sun beds by the pool, had to wait for one most days. They could easily fit more up there if the whole area was decked instead of small patches.

The hotel is quite far out of the main town (10mins on tube...which is short walk away) but if it was any closer it would be a lot more expensive as it is very nice!

All in all very nice and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Contact in advance to ask for high up...always nice to get the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta TrypCM E, E-Guest-Experiences at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dan L,

My name is Marta, Guest Experience at the hotel TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar.
Thanks very much for your comments!
We loved hear you appreciated your stay in our Hotel TRYP Condal Mar.
Please rest assured we will share your comments with team members.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel TRYP Condal Mar

Yours sincerely,

Marta_TrypCM
E_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 29 August - September 5th. The staff were very polite and they looked after our luggage when we arrived as the room was not ready as we were early. The room was nice. The noise however was not nice. We had very noisy people both sides of us and every time a door is shut you can hear it through the rooms. Most people seem incapable of closing a door without slamming it. We were woken by screaming girls on our last night there. It won't be a hotel we ever stay at again. If you are on holiday for a nice relaxing break then this is not the hotel for you. Also, don't be fooled into locking yourself into the hotel breakfast, at 13 euros per person it's not worth it. We had a five minute walk to a bar by the shopping mall and had two breakfasts for 6 euros and great food. Beach is about 15 minutes away and it's nice 18Euros for two beds and a parasol! Beware of the taxi trip from the airport 46 euros each way very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta TrypCM E, E-Guest-Experience at Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Christine Z,
My name is Marta, Guest Experience at the hotel TRYP Barcelona Condal Mar.
First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to leave your comments after your stay.
We are sorry that the service you received was below the standards you expected and we take note of each one of your constructive comments and suggestions. Thank you!
Yours sincerely,

Marta_TrypCM
E_Guest Experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Vincci Bit
#102 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#167 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#213 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Princess
#180 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Poblenou
Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Barcelona
#228 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar

Property: Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar
Address: C/ Cristobal de Moura 138, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#124 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Hotel Condal Mar is one of the most modern hotels in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Condal Mar Hotel Barcelona
Vincci Hotel Barcelona
Vincci Hotel Condal Mar
Hotel Condal Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Condal Mar Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing