We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Gat Xino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Gat Xino
Ranked #547 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    39
    17
    17
See reviews for
9
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Tiny single room, short on natural light (window faces a wall) with small LCD TV. The room had a bad smell of sprays(!?) Modern bathroom with good shower. Breakfast is simple but way better than what I was expecting from the reviews (actually above average for my standards for this price range). Really small breakfast room (and you need to tell the staff that there is no more bread, juice, etc). Overall clean. Free wifi (very weak signal in my room though). Location: a 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas and the subway (the street is dodgy but I didn't feel any danger - there are people on the street and many restaurants and bars nearby). The design of the hotel is cool but overall it looks and feels less charming than the photos show; it has more of a cold/industrial feel than a chic and fashionable one. Reception is on the first floor. Luggage-only lift. Friendly, professional and helpful staff. Maybe a little bit overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Clean hostel, nice staff and spacious enough. I liked the room furniture in particular.
We have been good and it is very close to the centre.

However it tends to be noisy outside during the night and situated in a multicultural area, although we had no problems about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiz015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let's be clear, this a hostal, not a hotel and a horrible one at that. We were attracted by the grossly misleading photos, and advertising that makes it appear light and trendy and welcoming. It's unprepossesing from the outside and that didn't change on the inside. There's only a lift for luggage, so you better enjoy stairs.We'd booked the top floor terrace suite, and had been led to believe it was spacious with a private terrace. The room was tiny, one uncomfortable looking bed and a sofa bed crammed in to a space not large enough to swing a cat, and a shabby bathroom. The private terrace was just a section of the communal terrace, so not very private at all. The room stank of bleach, the sofa was filthy, the curtains had holes in. Contrary to the clean, refreshing green and white of the photos, the decor was tired and dismal. More of a cell than a suite. It was so depressing we checked out again straight away and had to pay for a night we didn't stay there. We went to a hotel five minutes away that was cheaper, with a much bigger room, delightful decor, a lift and lovely staff. So don't be fooled by talk of it being value for money, it isn't. At 120 euros a night it was a total rip off.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

North Wales UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here for 1 night with my family. On arrival we had an issue which thanks to the man on reception (wish I had his name but due to the stressful situation forgot to take it) the matter was resolved to everyone's satisfaction... I can not thank him enough for that.
The Hostel was basic, but seemed to be clean enough. We had a room on the top floor which had its on quite impressive roof top terrace. The room was tidy and big enough to sleep 4.
Breakfast is very basic, and to be truthful food that was there was not being replenished quick enough and the kids didn't enjoy it so it was a trip to McDonald's to feed them up.
All in all, it's an ok place for a bed for the night so thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was quite average, I really cant complaint for the price we paid. But the street the hotel is in is a completely different story. Looks safe enough but I personally wouldn't go out after dark by myself. All attractions are at close distance and there is a La Rambla tube line 10 min walk from the hotel. So its quite incontinently located. Breakfast is ok - just cereals and toast nothing much. but as I said for the price we paid its fair enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bensybose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here mid August this Year 2012. We were well impressed with extremely helpful and polite reception staff- a real credit. Well done. The rooms were very clean. The breakfast acceptable and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 501 looks out onto the terrace and the 4th floor you have your own little balcony and can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#127 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#156 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Gracia
Generator Barcelona
Generator Barcelona
#26 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gat Xino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gat Xino

Property: Hostal Gat Xino
Address: Calle Hospital 149-155, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Gat Xino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gat Xino Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Gat Xino Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing