We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet but not exceed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #234 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked following reviews on here, good and bad. On arrival impressed, stylish looking building dwarfed by a more impressive version of the gherkin, easy to find from Glories metro and tram station. We were upgraded to a corner suite on the 9th floor which was nice, spacious and modern with a jacuzzi bath and freestanding shower. Electric ceiling to floor blinds with full and half view looking onto an abandoned building site and Novotel, looking beyond that we had a fantastic landscape of Barcelona, bed was very nice and big,but be warned the mini bar is a rip off I had a water, red bull, apple juice and a can of coke came to 30 euros as you pay tax and then a daily tax. Restaurant was nice and much cheaper than what you will pay in las rambles which by the way avoid at all costs and a decent bottle of cava for 12 euros is a result, staff were very friendly and helpful, booked us a table at dos cielos which is just 5 minutes walk a MUST if you are staying here. Would defiantly return in hotter months to use the roof top pool and bar

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Aaron,

First of all we have to thank you for have chosen our hotel to enjoy your holidays in Barcelona and for taking part of your time to write a review. We are glad to see that the previous reviews of other guest have been usefull and a key point for your reservation. It is great to see that you were confortable in our room and that you liked the views of the Barcelona Skyline, although we know we can improve some services such as you mentioned. We believe our Piano Restaurant offers a great quality at the best prize and it seems that you also believe it, we thank you for recommend our restaurant. For the whole team of Silken Diagonal it would be a great pleasure to have you again as guest and we are sure that you will love the summer views of our rooftop.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Silken Diagonal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a trendy hotel which is well placed for my work. Friendly staff BUT with a couple of major drawbacks.
Firstly, the walls are too thin. Walls this thin should not be allowed under some form of human rights act. You have no privacy. I could hear someone coughing as if they were in the room and identify ringtones on phones. What is more they have an electric blind system which is noisy. On two occasions (one at 2am) I had to check my blinds to see if they were opening when it was someone above, below or beside me.
Barcelona is a reasonably cheap although 18 Euro for a breakfast is too much. An evening meal can cost you less. It has smoked salmon which gives it somne credibility at this price but a scandal really.

Room Tip: Ask for NO ONE to be either side of you FOR THE ENTIRE STAY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattLeRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we want to apologize for not having been able to meet the expectations you put on our hotel. Hotel Silken Diagonal team always try to offer each guest the highest standars and it seems we did not accomplish our goal during your holidays in Barcelona. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to show you the great services that we are proud to offer.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Decent hotel, especially for short trips. Scratch beneath the surface though and it's not all that pretty. Some cheap construction in the rooms (cupboard where the safe is opened by lifting overhead, but had no locking mechanism to stay open. Annoying), the 'business centre' was incredibly outdated and the front desk charged a fortune to print. The basic WiFi is terrible - it's not enough to check your email. Upgrading to the next level of WiFi was (If I remember correctly) $17 for three days but you also had to buy one for each device. Again, annoying. Staff were friendly but just don't seem empowered to make your stay special in any way. It always felt like they were trying to regulate you rather than ensure you had a comfortable stay. Needs better management I think. I would still recommend this hotel for someone on a budget, but avoid if you're looking for real service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Silken Diagonal for your recent trip to Barcelona. We are sorry for those aspects of your stay which you were not completely satisfied with and we appreciate your feedback, since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfaction of our guests. Right now we are working to improve some of the aspects you mention, such as the WiFi Service as we have the objective of improving we every guest stay. It is important to us to say that we are very proud of our staff service and it is hard to share your opinions about this concern, although we could understand that we can even improve in this point. We appreciate the time and effort you put to inform us about your experience as guests and we look forward to welcoming you back at Silken Diagonal very soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Location is ok. Probably not the best in Barcelona and would require lots cabs to commute.

Lobby, reception and bar are all right. It’s a pleasant hangout. They have a rooftop pool and bar which could potentially be a great place to be in summers.

Rooms are ok but not of great quality and bed are not very comfortable. Bathroom shower and tub is only isolated from the Room by a glass wall. It’s quite a hassle if you are sharing the room with someone.

Silkon Diagonal rooms are normally listed for discounted rates and would represent a great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faisal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Faisal,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, I want to thank you for your review about your stay. We will deeply analyze your feedback and will act to improve those aspects you point out. Hotel Silken Diagonal team always try to offer each guest the highest standars and it seems we did not accomplish our goal during your holidays although you enjoyed your stay. It has been a pleasure to read your review and we hope you make us another visit in a near future.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I bought a weekend away in Barcelona for my boyfriend, for his 30th Birthday in June. We had a fantastic time staying at the Silken Diagonal hotel.

The welcome by reception was great, and the room was out of this world! The hotel is super close to the metro, so it's a great place to stay to get loads of exploring in.

The room was so funky and I can see that a lot of people have been moaning about the bathrooms, but we thought they were great! Don't let it put you off, you do have privacy, especially in the important part . . the toilet!

The breakfast was lovely, delicious food and Cava and wine on offer in the Mornings. Which we did indeed indulge in! The staff couldn't do enough to help us out when we needed them, even breaking the padlock on our suitcase, when it helpfully reset itself so we couldn't open it!

Absolutely nothing to complain about and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room high up, as the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Suzzne,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor. What a lovely review!. It is always a great pleasure to read the first time customers have enjoyed a wonderful experience at our hotel. This show us that we are on the right track with our services and standards. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The staff on Reception were very welcoming and professional. Our room was very nice and quite spacious. However, the bathroom and toilet were in a large glass "pod" in the bedroom. It was just fine but the screen between it and the bedroom became quite clear when the light was on. Some people may not mind but we found it rather disconcerting. The Hotel itself is not particularly central so we did a lot of walking.
We only stayed for one night before a cruise and did not have breakfast so cannot comment on that.
I would have rated it as 3+ but the helpful Reception staff upped it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Winedrinker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Silken Diagonal Barcelona. It is a great pleasure to read that our staff has been friendly and helpfull during your stay, as they are an important asset of our service. Our guests opinions are vital to improve our services and we will take in consideration your commentaries to improve. We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future, and it would be a pleasure to have you as guest for more time, so you could enjoy all our services.

Warm regards
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Flew from US to Barcelona, Spain to board our cruise ship. Decided to add a day in Barcelona, Spain before we got on the ship. Bad choice, should have added quite a few more than one day. The cruise line booked us in this hotel. After the flight and all the hasels to traveling we were checked into our room right away. The staff was great. The hotel is very modern and clean. We had a room on the 9th floor facing the water tower. One wall was a window ceiling to floor with motorized window blinds and a great view.. The shower and everything about the room was exceptional except the TV which was a very small screen with bad reception. never mind, your not there to watch TV, I hope.

The top floor (10) has a bar and a small, but nice, swimming pool with GREAT views of the city.

The morning breakfast, included in the room rate, was excellent. Assorted items that you would expect at a nice brunch. They even had Cava. The national sparkling wine.

The hotel is out of the way from the city area. But only a few minutes by taxi. It is very clean with a very friendly staff who spoke English.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room facing the tower. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear guest,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, we want to thank you for making such wonderful review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you appreciate all our services, but we especially enjoy to read that our staff has been always kind and useful. Our guests opinions are vital to improve our services, and although your stay has been good, we will take in consideration your commentaries to improve some aspects. It´s been a pleasure to have you as guests and it would be wonderfull to have you once again at Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Hotel SB Glow
Hotel SB Glow
#321 of 519 in Barcelona
70 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#174 of 519 in Barcelona
3,771 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#137 of 519 in Barcelona
2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Princess
#189 of 519 in Barcelona
3,114 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,508 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#191 of 519 in Barcelona
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gates Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Diagonal Barcelona

Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#151 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $96 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207) is a modern hotel. It is situated on the Avenida Diagonal in the trendy district of Poblenou, affectionately deemed by some as the "Brooklyn of Barcelona," in a neighborhood of striking contrasts. Perfectly located in a prime location, immediately neighboring the Torre de Glories, next to the Plaça de les Glòries Catalanes, which can be reached from any point in the city. The excellent location of the hotel and its connectivity with public transport, makes it easy for leisure and business guests alike to access all of Barcelona's main attractions and convention centers in just minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gates Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing