We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel SB Glow(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catalonia Albeniz(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Glories(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,450)
Filter reviews
2,450 results
Traveler rating
796
1,067
370
128
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
1,067
370
128
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstorre agbarelectric blindsshopping centre across the roadglories metroglass bathroommodern hoteltram stationrooftop barfloor to ceiling windowscorner roombuilding workpublic transporttour bussmall poolmini barstandard roomcity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 2,450 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel easy to reach with metro;
great view from rooms at corner ( Torre Agbar and Famillia Sagrada ),
very modern and clean interior
friendly staff
Pool on top of hotel and bar can not be used in winter

Room Tip: Chose a corner room - great views !
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anica221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Anica,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, I want to thank you for your review about your stay. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our hotel, with special attention to our staff and to the location. It has been a pleasure to read your review and we hope you make us another visit so you can see the improvements made due to your comments.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not in the city center but right next to a metro and tram stop and opposite a little mall. It is well decorated and the rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is also complete with croissants, donuts, eggs, sausages, bacon, iberic ham, cheese, fruits,... I recommend this hotel.

Thank lolo92210
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Lolo,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us, and that you enjoyed our rooms and our breakfast. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. It has been a pleasure to read your review and It would be a pleasure to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were here for just one night but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very clean and modern. The front desk staff is very professional and spoke multiple languages. The room was larger than we expected, the bedding very comfortable, and the wifi was free.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant as not much else was close by. We had multiple tapas plates and the food was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was a buffet with plenty to offer all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota3496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear guest,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, I want to thank you for your review about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it is also great to read we exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again at the Silken Diagonal Barcelona.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good location, convenient to subway and trolley makes it easy to travel about the city even for someone not accustomed to using urban public transportation. We stayed two nights before boarding a cruise ship.

The architecture of this hotel is very modern right down to the design of the hallways. The contemporary style rooms were comfortable, adequate in size with floor to ceiling windows/wall and very clean. Even though we are traditionalists when if comes to architecture in hotels we were pleasantly surprised and pleased with the Silken. Restaurant was excellent for dinner. Room included breakfast buffet that was the best we ever had anywhere. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Great views of the city from the roof top patio. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review, about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you believe that our breakfast offer is the best you have ever tried at any hotel. It is great to see that although our hotel has not your usual clasic style, you have enjoyed a great stay at our more modern concept. Your advices and review will be very usefull for future guest and tripadvisor users. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in September'13 with my wife. The hotel is good and quiet. Corridors are quite dim and there are carpets all over, that's not attractive to me but seems like most of the hotels have the same lay out unfortunately.
We stayed in the 3rd floor I believe, not facing the landmark beside the hotel. We were out early in the morning and got back not all that late for sleeping, so we didn't really care for hotel amenities, although the pool in the 10th floor was pretty attractive with the view over the city and a bar to have drinks at night. You can even see the famous church from there at night with all the lights around it.
Breakfast was included in my stay and they had a nice variety of food so this is why I rank the hotel "very good" and not just average. Also wi-fi included in my stay, mobile phones connected ok from the room, not great but ok.
The location was great for us but there's not much to do in the area, we usually took some transportation somewhere and walked a lot, and for us that was great because we prefer walking up and down the city and feeling the city that way. Transportation is very accessible from the hotel, Subway (metro) just a block away, but if you're a tourist in town don't take the subway, use the little-train which runs through the middle of diagonal avenue as that gives you some sight seeing while you're riding it. There's a "hop in hop off" bus stop just across the street and the hotel sells you the tickets but you can also buy it at the bus it self for the same price ; there are regular bus stops on both sides of the street . And you can walk diagonal avenue or ride a bike, there are plenty of "bike rental" stops all over town.
We didn't demand much from the staff at the hotel and when we needed anything from the receptionists they were helpful , we had no trouble at all checking in or out, and they handed me the city map and sold me the tourist bus (hop in hop off type) tickets.
Overall I recommend the hotel, and I would stay in there next time I visit as well.

Room Tip: I personally wouldn't like to have a room facing the landmark beside the hotel , it's just a building that gets blue/red lighting at night... But if you're into that, go for it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoLucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Bruno,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review, about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Silken Diagonal and that you would choose us again. It is a pleasure to read you liked our facilities and that our staff has been attentive to all your needs, we always try to offer the best service. Your advices and review will be very usefull for future guest and tripadvisor users, and for the Hotel Silken Diagonal staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews