We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #234 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not in the city center but right next to a metro and tram stop and opposite a little mall. It is well decorated and the rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is also complete with croissants, donuts, eggs, sausages, bacon, iberic ham, cheese, fruits,... I recommend this hotel.

Thank lolo92210
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Lolo,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us, and that you enjoyed our rooms and our breakfast. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. It has been a pleasure to read your review and It would be a pleasure to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were here for just one night but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very clean and modern. The front desk staff is very professional and spoke multiple languages. The room was larger than we expected, the bedding very comfortable, and the wifi was free.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant as not much else was close by. We had multiple tapas plates and the food was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was a buffet with plenty to offer all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota3496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear guest,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, I want to thank you for your review about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it is also great to read we exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again at the Silken Diagonal Barcelona.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good location, convenient to subway and trolley makes it easy to travel about the city even for someone not accustomed to using urban public transportation. We stayed two nights before boarding a cruise ship.

The architecture of this hotel is very modern right down to the design of the hallways. The contemporary style rooms were comfortable, adequate in size with floor to ceiling windows/wall and very clean. Even though we are traditionalists when if comes to architecture in hotels we were pleasantly surprised and pleased with the Silken. Restaurant was excellent for dinner. Room included breakfast buffet that was the best we ever had anywhere. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Great views of the city from the roof top patio. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review, about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you believe that our breakfast offer is the best you have ever tried at any hotel. It is great to see that although our hotel has not your usual clasic style, you have enjoyed a great stay at our more modern concept. Your advices and review will be very usefull for future guest and tripadvisor users. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in September'13 with my wife. The hotel is good and quiet. Corridors are quite dim and there are carpets all over, that's not attractive to me but seems like most of the hotels have the same lay out unfortunately.
We stayed in the 3rd floor I believe, not facing the landmark beside the hotel. We were out early in the morning and got back not all that late for sleeping, so we didn't really care for hotel amenities, although the pool in the 10th floor was pretty attractive with the view over the city and a bar to have drinks at night. You can even see the famous church from there at night with all the lights around it.
Breakfast was included in my stay and they had a nice variety of food so this is why I rank the hotel "very good" and not just average. Also wi-fi included in my stay, mobile phones connected ok from the room, not great but ok.
The location was great for us but there's not much to do in the area, we usually took some transportation somewhere and walked a lot, and for us that was great because we prefer walking up and down the city and feeling the city that way. Transportation is very accessible from the hotel, Subway (metro) just a block away, but if you're a tourist in town don't take the subway, use the little-train which runs through the middle of diagonal avenue as that gives you some sight seeing while you're riding it. There's a "hop in hop off" bus stop just across the street and the hotel sells you the tickets but you can also buy it at the bus it self for the same price ; there are regular bus stops on both sides of the street . And you can walk diagonal avenue or ride a bike, there are plenty of "bike rental" stops all over town.
We didn't demand much from the staff at the hotel and when we needed anything from the receptionists they were helpful , we had no trouble at all checking in or out, and they handed me the city map and sold me the tourist bus (hop in hop off type) tickets.
Overall I recommend the hotel, and I would stay in there next time I visit as well.

Room Tip: I personally wouldn't like to have a room facing the landmark beside the hotel , it's just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoLucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Bruno,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review, about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Silken Diagonal and that you would choose us again. It is a pleasure to read you liked our facilities and that our staff has been attentive to all your needs, we always try to offer the best service. Your advices and review will be very usefull for future guest and tripadvisor users, and for the Hotel Silken Diagonal staff it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was lucky enough to get a sixth floor corner room, looking past Jean Nouvel's Torre Agbar to the Sagrada Familia. For anyone who loves architecture, the view alone was worth the price.
The room itself was spacious, comfortable, well furnished (and very clean), and quiet in spite of the main roads.
Breakfast was good.
There were some drawbacks, though: it was the coldest night in Barcelona for 14 years and the heating really was struggling to warm a room with two glass walls. Be warned also that the WiFi comes in two versions: the free version is rather slow and web access only.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We know that we have to improve some aspects and comments as yours allows to fullfill our customers needs. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us, and that you enjoyed our rooms and its views. It has been a pleasure to read your review and It would be a pleasure to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is nice and is in a great location. The internet did not work well at all. We were very disappointed in this. The shower/tub design was not good as the floor in the bath got very wet when the shower was on due to the location and no door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Susan,

First of all we want to apologize for not having been able to meet the expectations you put on our hotel. Right now we are working on those points you mentioned, as they are some of the weaknesses we have detected and we truly believe we have to solve to reach the standards our guest deserve. It has been a pleasure to read your review and we hope you make us another visit so you can see the improvements made due to your comments.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in a 'Comfort' room, which I think is their second style. Was very spacious with a good sized double bed (I think it might have been King sized, it was really quite big) plus an arm chair and a chair at the dressing table. The windows are great. There's a really busy road outside but when the windows were closed it was silent. The electric blinds were a nice touch as they let as much or as little light in as you wanted. We also had a free safe and mini bar in the fridge. Although we only used the fridge for our water :)

As others have said, the bathroom situation is a bit odd. It was fine for us and I wasn't put off by it but if you want some privacy in the bath or shower, and don't trust your travelling companion to leave you alone, then this isn't the hotel for you!

The rooftop pool is great and a real treat in Barcelona as there aren't many hotels with pools. The drinks at the bar are a bit pricey but that's to be expected. I think it was about 9 euros for a Bacardi and Fanta lemon, but it came in a pint cup with about 5 measures of Bacardi in it, so it lasted a while! ;)

This is a 4-star hotel and I would agree with that, the only thing is there are some details needing finished and touched up like maybe little chips of paint or marks on the wall, but nothing major. Hopefully they'll get them seen to before it goes downhill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polythenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at The Gates Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear guest,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, I want to thank you for your review about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it is also great to read our guests considerations to improve all our services. We look forward to welcome you again at the Silken Diagonal Barcelona, it is always a pleasure to have such wonderfull guests.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#177 of 515 in Barcelona
3,676 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#190 of 515 in Barcelona
3,064 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 515 in Barcelona
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
3,080 reviews
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#131 of 515 in Barcelona
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gates Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Diagonal Barcelona

Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#151 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#209 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $82 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207) is a modern hotel. It is situated on the Avenida Diagonal in the trendy district of Poblenou, affectionately deemed by some as the "Brooklyn of Barcelona," in a neighborhood of striking contrasts. Perfectly located in a prime location, immediately neighboring the Torre de Glories, next to the Plaça de les Glòries Catalanes, which can be reached from any point in the city. The excellent location of the hotel and its connectivity with public transport, makes it easy for leisure and business guests alike to access all of Barcelona's main attractions and convention centers in just minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gates Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing