We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silken Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #226 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
“Silken Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is nice and is in a great location. The internet did not work well at all. We were very disappointed in this. The shower/tub design was not good as the floor in the bath got very wet when the shower was on due to the location and no door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Susan,

First of all we want to apologize for not having been able to meet the expectations you put on our hotel. Right now we are working on those points you mentioned, as they are some of the weaknesses we have detected and we truly believe we have to solve to reach the standards our guest deserve. It has been a pleasure to read your review and we hope you make us another visit so you can see the improvements made due to your comments.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    920
    312
    100
    69
See reviews for
189
1,082
65
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in a 'Comfort' room, which I think is their second style. Was very spacious with a good sized double bed (I think it might have been King sized, it was really quite big) plus an arm chair and a chair at the dressing table. The windows are great. There's a really busy road outside but when the windows were closed it was silent. The electric blinds were a nice touch as they let as much or as little light in as you wanted. We also had a free safe and mini bar in the fridge. Although we only used the fridge for our water :)

As others have said, the bathroom situation is a bit odd. It was fine for us and I wasn't put off by it but if you want some privacy in the bath or shower, and don't trust your travelling companion to leave you alone, then this isn't the hotel for you!

The rooftop pool is great and a real treat in Barcelona as there aren't many hotels with pools. The drinks at the bar are a bit pricey but that's to be expected. I think it was about 9 euros for a Bacardi and Fanta lemon, but it came in a pint cup with about 5 measures of Bacardi in it, so it lasted a while! ;)

This is a 4-star hotel and I would agree with that, the only thing is there are some details needing finished and touched up like maybe little chips of paint or marks on the wall, but nothing major. Hopefully they'll get them seen to before it goes downhill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polythenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,

In the name of Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona team, I want to thank you for your review about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it is also great to read our guests considerations to improve all our services. We look forward to welcome you again at the Silken Diagonal Barcelona, it is always a pleasure to have such wonderfull guests.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have booked this hotel based on the pictures and reviews on the web. We were surprised that the hotel is not clean , in fact the lighting on the main corrdior is so dim that you cant see properly and I beleive that was done on purpose. The first room we were sent to was not clean and the toilet smilled. They changed it for us with a little better on but the room does not meet the hotel standards. Carpet is dirty , they have the worst beds, matresses and billows you could ever see in a hotel. The curtains are electrical but very noisy so you will always rooms around you openning and closing thme in the morning and night.
Flat TV a joke, it is the size of a computer screen. they mention that wi fi is free but actually it is not you can only browsewith a lot of rstirictions and at the end you are forced to buy if you want a real wi fi. House keeping do not do a good job in theri daily cleaning. We had kids and required cots that the hotel charged for in advance and when we arrived they were not ready so they brought them without installation and then they spent an hour trying to install them after that we found the remains of foodin one of them from previous use. It is obvious that they do not clean them. The room is not equipped to a hotel standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raed400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we want to apologize for not having been able to meet the expectations you put on our hotel. Hotel Silken Diagonal team always try to offer each guest the highest standars and it seems we did not accomplish our goal during your holidays in Barcelona. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to show you the great services that we are proud to offer.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Silken Diagonal is an average hotel but not really a good one. It looks modern but the rooms could have been designed better. The overall lighting too needs to be better as the hotel looks very dull and gloomy and depressing. The rooms are ok but not spacious. The highlight of the bathroom is it does not have any privacy!!!. There is a glass wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom and not acceptable. Becomes difficult when travelling with kids and friends. No water in the room. And no coffee maker in the room. They claim free wifi but no signals in the room. Overall not a great experience. Checked out to another hotel as was not happy with the facilities!!!

Room Tip: Can look for better options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviHebballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we want to apologize for not having been able to offer you the experience you deserve, during your stay at the Hotel Silken Diagonal. We will deeply analyze your feedback and will act to improve those aspects you point out. If it is possible we would like to contact you directly, in order to understand better all the different aspects you did not like of our hotel. Send us an email to: calidad.diagonal@hoteles-silken.com

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sliken Diagonal is a good value hotel for a city break and with a couple of changes could be a great hotel. The hotel itself is very cool, with some great design features. We stayed in a comfort room, which was incredible good value and had a dual aspect with amazing views of the Sagrada de Familia and over looked the Agbar tower (Barcelonas own Gherkin). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only real downsides of the room itself was that the shower screen was slightly too narrow so you soaked the bathroom everytime you showered and the only English channel to watch whilst getting ready to go out was BBC news which gets a bit dull after a while. Both of these are minor things that wouldn't affect your stay. One big downside is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which was a pain.

The rest of the facilities at the hotel were good. There is a great sun deck and pool on the roof, although the pool was freezing, even on a 27 degree day, and the roof top bar never opened. I guess mid October must be out of season for them. Breakfast was very nice, but insanely expensive if like us it wasn't included in the price of the room. At almost 19 euros, you have to eat a lot to get your moneys worth. We found some great places for breakfast within a few minutes strole, which were much better value.

The hotel location is amazing, with easy access to the Glorie metro station and within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and some of the best sites, such as the Sagrada de Familia and Casa Batillo and Casa Mila.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful and we throughly enjoyed our stay. With a couple of tweaks it could be an amazing hotel. We would definitley visit again when back in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Departamento de Calidad at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Rory,

We want to thank you for your extensive review about your stay at Hotel Silken Diagonal. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the stay and that our facilities have been to your liking. We know that we have to improve some aspect in our services and also in the rooms, comments as yours allows to fullfill our customers needs. In what concerns the roof top bar, we have to tell you that it is open until september 30th, and about the TV Channels available in english i must say that in addition to BBC they are also available Eurosport, CNBC and bloomberg, it might be a problem with your TV. It has been a pleasure to read your review and we hope you make us another visit so you can see the improvements made due to your comments.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
372 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,680 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The best sunday afternoon place... Probably the best sunset spot in Barcelona! Modern and clean... The employes are very nice to all people... ;) good place to relax in the afternoon with some pool parties around the pool...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JGordicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Director General at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear customer,

We want to thank you fantastic words about Hotel Silken Diagonal´s exclusive terrace. As you say, it has one of the most fantastics views in Barcelona. It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback about our staff. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stopped in barcelona for a 2 nights and stayed here. Cannot fault it for anything especially its location. The gorgeous sagrada familia is just a few steps away and the neighbourhood is really colorful. Adds to the charm. we had a very comfortable room with a nice design edge to it. There´s a lovely latino vibe around the area and good food to be found. we got some great recommendatns and the hotel concierge made sure we were supplied with very helpful walking maps as well. Ace!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWJamms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkendiagonal, Director General at Hotel Diagonal Barcelona, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make a review about your 2 day stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it is great to read you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad our staff recomendations and advices were usefull to you, yours here will be also usefull for future guests. We hope to see you once again at Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#158 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#182 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#189 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Eixample
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
#143 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#88 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diagonal Barcelona

Property: Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#209 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Silken Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207), se distingue por su moderna arquitectura y por el diseno de interiores, obra del arquitecto barcelones Juli Capella, quien ha ideado para su fachada un sugerente juego de contrastes en blanco y negro.Su excepcional ubicacion es otro de los alicientes del Hotel, ya que es vecino de la impresionante Torre Agbar, el nuevo rascacielos de esta ciudad dinamica, cultural y mediterranea, que firma Jean Nouvel, uno de los grandes de la arquitectura.Las mejores vistas de la ciudad se obtienen desde su piscina... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing