We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #232 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for four nights for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the layout of this hotel and its style. The double motorized blinds were great to block out that unwanted sun when you want to sleep in. Located in one of the business districts of Barcelona and very close to the Tube, Transit, and Tram. Also the tube is very easy to navigate around, comparing it to Paris and London. Staff spoke very good english and was very helpful with directions and suggestions. Room was very clean and spacious and it was a safe neighbourhood to be in. As for location its about 20 euros to get to the bars/clubs (opens at 11:30pm - early morning) on the beach at night because the tube stops around midnight but other than that its short walk to the tube and it stops at all the main sights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WARNPEACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is located adjacent to Glories metro station making access to the city very easy. The hotel rooms are of a decent standard. Make sure you ask for a view of the tower. The pool is tiny and the staff less than attentive at the poolside restaurant. The food itself is expensive for what it is. Having said this the shopping centre opposite has a Carrefour supermarket, Starbucks etc. which is very useful. The Internet connection is.... Lets say poor and that's being generous... Reception provides you with codes and passwords to use per device... Cumbersome and not really what's expected in a 4 star establishment these days....

Room Tip: Ask for a view off the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did not actually choose the Silken Diagonal but were booked there by a cruise company; the rate they offered seemed reasonable and from what we read on the internet, the hotel got solid reviews, so we said ok to the booking. We were pleased we did - it is a nice hotel to stay at.

The hotel is very modern and the room was sleekly furnished, with a large window that had a killer view of the city. From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff was very responsive and helpful. Our room rate included breakfast, which was plentiful and different from what we are used to - Cava was offered, right next to the orange juice and the savories included tasty vegetable components.

On the hotel's roof is a small lap pool, which was a nice place to go after a hot day of sightseeing. From the roof you can see much of the city and it was an especially beautiful vista at night.

Right across the street from the hotel is a shopping mall that we spotted very few tourists at; it was a good place to find food and pharmacy items and the food court was a nice place to grab a quick bite or sweet treat.

My only reason for not giving this hotel the highest rating is that you are just far enough from the city's main area so that you either have to hop a cab or navigate the transit system to get there. We did do a lot of walking but again, if you cannot do that, you will have to take a taxi or public transportation to visit other parts of the city.

Room Tip: Both sides overlook other commercial buildings, but it was overall a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trvlfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice hotel although we were possibly the eldest guests. Our room was v clean and spacious floor to ceiling, wall to wall windows with electric blinds. Lovely. The reception staff were just wonderful so helpful cd not do enough for us! Even asked for extra pillows at midnite and they came delivered to the room that time of nite !! Cant comment on restaurant ate out all the time in this fab city. Safe and fridge in room, dont drink from the fridge 4.50euro bottle of small water !! Chekc in and out easy and efficient. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent Location and Cleanliness with very Friendly Staff!!! Room Service and Breakfasts with excellent wide selection, are perfectly and very quick served! Rooms are large, clean, modern with large wide windows! I have been all my life to the best 5 stars Hotels in the World and Silken Diagonal, is an excellent 4 stars hotel...

Room Tip: For Internet users, ask for rooms close to the Internet Installation bases of each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed six nights here and we were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff who helped to arrange concert tickets,car hire, a practice room for our musician and great ideas for our holiday. Our room was excellent value, clean and roomy. .fantastic breakfasts and very reasonably priced. Lovely quiet room and close to LA Rambla and easy walk to the Port. Highly recommended and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: A good room always smells fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

After visiting the hotel for a drink two years ago as a passer by, i was optimistic and really looking forward to my stay here.
Myself and a friend arrived in reception and were greeted with a receptionist with broken english, who eventually checked us in and gave us our room cards. On entering our room, the standard of cleanliness was good, the bathroom and toilet were clean, if a little small. However, after unpacking we found the room safe was not working correctly. My friend went to reception, and a handyman arrived who spoke no english and continued to open the safe via an allen key! Batteries were replaced which made no difference whatsoever, and after realising the door hinge wasnt working correctly, it was fixed. This had taken over an hour to sort, and got the holiday off to a bad start.
The free wifi the hotel provides only works fully on the ground floor, it very rarely worked in the hotel room.
The terrace bar is the main feature of the hotel, and to be fair it doesnt disappoint. You get an unrivalled view of the amazing Torre Agbar building, at night, with the Sagrada Familia also seen in the near distance. When the Torre Agbar is lit up is a wonderful sight. The terrace bar is open til late, so perfect for an end of night lager or cocktail before bed. The pool is clean and well maintained.
We didnt use the hotel facilities every day as we were out exploring the city, but on arriving and departing the hotel staff never seemed willing to help, our room cards were faulty throughout our stay, which was frustrating.
The last day before we left we had breakfast as a one off as it was really expensive (€18). There was a wide range of food at good quality, so even though it was pricey, if you like a big meal to start the day, its for you.
This review sounds as if the hotel was below standard. Maybe i was expecting too much from a 4 star hotel, i personally would rate it 3 star. The position of the hotel with fantastic views and nearby shops maybe adds a bit to the price, but i won't be going back again. If you do decide to stay here, the positive is that its only a minute walk to the red 'glories' metro line which is very easy to get around barcelona with, i recommend a T10 ticket which is €9.80 and gives you 10 trips on the metro. Its the best way to get around the city if you're keen on sightseeing and exploring. There's a nice little shopping complex as you turn right out of the hotel, with plenty of cafes, restaurants etc.
To sum up, its a place where the basics are done well, but that extra bit of customer service i was expecting, just wasn't there.
I hope your stay is a bit better than mine!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markb7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#178 of 515 in Barcelona
3,681 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#188 of 515 in Barcelona
3,066 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#191 of 515 in Barcelona
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
3,089 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel SB Glow
Hotel SB Glow
#329 of 515 in Barcelona
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gates Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Diagonal Barcelona

Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#209 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $71 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207) is a modern hotel. It is situated on the Avenida Diagonal in the trendy district of Poblenou, affectionately deemed by some as the "Brooklyn of Barcelona," in a neighborhood of striking contrasts. Perfectly located in a prime location, immediately neighboring the Torre de Glories, next to the Plaça de les Glòries Catalanes, which can be reached from any point in the city. The excellent location of the hotel and its connectivity with public transport, makes it easy for leisure and business guests alike to access all of Barcelona's main attractions and convention centers in just minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gates Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing