We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, modern and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #241 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel after a recommendation from a friend, and we weren't disappointed. The front desk staff were keen to tell us about the tour bus that stops right outside across the road, we bought a 2 day ticket from reception that allowed us to hop on and off whenever we wanted. I recommend sitting on the bus for the whole route to get your bearings and see everything Barca has to offer.

The hotel is very modern and lovely design, breakfast was amazing! Made you want to get up early and start the day with a great selection of food and even champagne if you want it. The room is on the small side but the views from our room made up for that, the room looks fantastic and was clean and tidy.

We stayed one afternoon chilling on the roof terrace, perfect place to sun bath, the pool is small but still nice to jump in when too hot and the bar staff up there were happy to bring our drinks to our sun loungers and were friendly.

The beach is a 15/20minute walk from the hotel, and is literally straight all the way.. you can't miss it, there is a shopping centre across the road with a supermarket in it which is handy. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Location is good, close to the centre of Barcelona without being bang in the middle. Rooms were a little on the small side for a 4* hotel, but clean and tidy. Could do with a bit of maintenance as looking a little worn and shabby in places. Hotel facilities were excellent with a very nice roof terrace and bar. Room 'quirck' was definitely the bathroom in the main room, and wouldn't say this type of arrangement was for everyone but suited us fine. Didn't eat in the restuarant/cafe or have much need to use reception staff so cannot comment on this aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is located right in front of the rail station that connects, ultimately, with Barcelona's other rail routes. Sagrada Familia is with walking distance, and a modern shopping mall is located across the street.

Rooms were clean, although quite noisy. Late-night revelers returning from a night out often could be heard quite clearly talking in the hallway, and from adjoining rooms.

Courteous and very friendly staff.

Negative: "Free Interne" does not include full internet access and is painfully slow. In order to use Skype or other programs you may need to pay an additional 7-Euro fee for a faster, in-room connection.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquanaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel may have been nice at one time but it is now dirty and smells, not only the rooms but the hallways and elevators as well. The carpet is so dirty that we hated to walk on it and the white leather chairs and sofa were dirty with large stains on the chair backs. The room smelled so bad that we had to open the window for fresh air, we then had to put up with the noise from the street. We wanted to watch television but it was not working properly.
My husband and I were staying here after a seven day cruise and we were very tired. We tried to use the business center to print our boarding passes for our flight but both of the hotel's computers were broken. We then tried to print the boarding passes from our ipad but they do not have an air printer.
We would have gotten another hotel but we pre-paid for the room through a travel agency and this hotel would not refund the cost. Thankfully we only had to stay here one night.
We were curious as to how and why this hotel was rated as a four star hotel as the lobby is even dirty and worn and the service is horrible.
I would advise not to stay here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RGeneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel was right beside a large building similar in shape to the london's Gherkin which made it easy to locate almost from anywhere in the city and easy to spot on maps. Metro station was less than a 5 minute walk which would take you to the hot spots in just 3-4 stops. The hotel itself was extremely stylish and had a "just new" smell. Rooms were spacious and had plenty of storage, only downside that the bathroom was a glass room (toilet separate), there was a blind around the shower but this was see through....this didnt put many people of although i do not know if all other rooms are the same. We had dinner once in the restaurant, it was delicious!!! breads, 2 mains, 2 beers for 27 Euros was a good price! the room service prices were good at 3-4 euros a tapas. I would reccommend this hotel for its location and style!

Gothic quarter for dinner and night life is a must!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8506CarlaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

OK hotel - a bit overpriced in my opinion. "Free" Internet is a Joke, and a real connection costs 6.50 per day. Next time I will choose a more central location. The metro is close, but better to be in walking distance of the action. If it was not for the poor Internet, this would be a good business hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank CDFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice well designed hotel. Rooms are well furnished.

The location is great not far away from the heart of the city.

The service provided from the front desk to room service is not exceptional but with the rate provided is a good value for money.

The swimming pool on the roof top is marvelous.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangaka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 515 in Barcelona
3,641 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#191 of 515 in Barcelona
2,554 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#207 of 515 in Barcelona
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Princess
#189 of 515 in Barcelona
3,047 reviews
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Vincci Bit
#115 of 515 in Barcelona
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gates Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Diagonal Barcelona

Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#209 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $95 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207) is a modern hotel. It is situated on the Avenida Diagonal in the trendy district of Poblenou, affectionately deemed by some as the "Brooklyn of Barcelona," in a neighborhood of striking contrasts. Perfectly located in a prime location, immediately neighboring the Torre de Glories, next to the Plaça de les Glòries Catalanes, which can be reached from any point in the city. The excellent location of the hotel and its connectivity with public transport, makes it easy for leisure and business guests alike to access all of Barcelona's main attractions and convention centers in just minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gates Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing