We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day break over Ash Wednesday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #225 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Three day break over Ash Wednesday”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Parking around three corners! Car not used for three days!
Hotel was very clean and staff great, helpful and understanding.
Good bus and tram service just outside.
Self service breakfast - generous selection.
Would we return - yes.
But there are so many other hotels to try!

Room Tip: Glass walls for bathroom, no problem for us but maybe not suitable for family / friends sharing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clokeyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    965
    323
    106
    74
See reviews for
198
1,127
71
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

When you come,you think it is modern nice hotel. But this is wrong impression. The rooms are big, but unconvinient - you need to walk inside to undress yor coat, absolutely useless door between corridor & room - it opens the view to the bath. Smoking rooms with unopenable window. The tea on breakfast (other meals are ok) was simply the grass.Laundry (I was need ironing) was not working at weekend. And finally there was every where VERY COLD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vladislav r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel from 17th Feb to 21 Feb 2013. On arrival i was overwhelmed as the hotel looked beautiful. The reception staff where not very friendly when checking in.
The room looked nice but was not suitable. After 2 nights we realised the air con was broke and it was blowing out HEAT. The noise from our room 920 was unbelieveable. They are building a hotel next door, a wake up call off an angle grinder at 6am is not good!
The bathroom floor was sticky, and there was a fishy smell coming from the toilet.
The bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in.
Also the noise of the shutters to darken the room is so loud, anyone who lowered there shutters in the hotel no matter what room number you could hear it and it woke us up.
We ate in the Piano bar and there were 3 hairs in my potatos bravas, the guy was very friendly and removed the dish. This is not acceptable for a hotel of this standard.
On checking out the staff again where very rude, beware you get charged 3.40 euros tax per day if you use your mini bar. We got a 24 euro bill for 4 bottles of water.
The staff did not ask me how our stay was and were again rude.
I will be writing to the hotel manager regarding my stay.
I never never wrote a review before but felt i had to as i would NOT reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time ever that I experience a double bedroom with only one towel. I called the reception to get a second one. It never came. There is no such thing as couples in the wonderful world of trendy designers hotels.

Silken Diagonal looks flashy and crisp on glossy paper indeed. Once you get there though, it turns out to be plainly impractical and depressing. Walls are black, dark grey, dark brown. And the whole "design" thing is not working. For instance, doors are light grey but walls are pitch black, so your instinct tells you to pull the door, whereas you need to push it.

And another thing: elevators don't have any button in them. The destination floor must be punched in on a pad before you enter the elevator. Again, another idea badly implemented. Let's pretend you want to go to the last floor to enjoy the view. Well, you can't because you don't know how many floor there are. Lots of "??" LCD answers here. And by the way, if you type 10 thinking you're going to end up at the swimming pool, you end up surrounded by locked doors.

Weird weird weird. The bedroom was divided in two by a sort of half sliding wall made of fabric. But "closing" it only exposed the bath in all its glory right next to the bed...

Bad design ages quickly, as illustrated by this hotel. Our room had dark stains on the grey walls. A rather intriguing humidity spot had maculated the shade a while ago. And talking about those electric shades... Whenever someone in an adjacent rooms opened or closed one it sounded as if ours had magically turned on. You can hear most of what is happening in the surrounding rooms. Which is totally fine in an egyptian dormitory charging 5$, but definitely not in a "high profile" hotel in one of Europe's top city.

A sick torture idea would be to force the designer of this place to live in it for two months straight. And from behind that fabric wall watching the depression growing as days go by. Staying at this hotel was a constant fight against the elements. Staff was great and helpful but couldn't compensate for all the drawbacks.

Want more?

Lighting is brutal beyond belief. The toilet is litteraly inside the bedroom, with no fan. The safe had no handle. How do you open a safe without a handle? And this is just what I can remember.

Room Tip: How do you choose between two illness? Get a place closer to the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hholbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time to Barcelona, I thought it will be walking distance from the center but if you walk all day around this lovely city you do not want to add 30m walk to the Hotel. Metro was very close so no big deal. Hotel is very modern - I liked very much the glass bathroom.
Breakfast excellent with high quality and verity to help you get started.
Service was professional - no complaints here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel was in an great location 2 min walk to the metro and also 5 min walk to a shopping centre with a large supermarket inside. Room was lovely with a great view of Barcelona. The only bad points were that the room's phone was not working properly, and the pool on the roof was smaller than appeared in photos and was too cold to really go in. We really enjoyed our stay was nice to have everything so accessible to us.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is right next to the Torre Agbar , a remarkable office building in the newer part of barcelona. Many design office building are in the area, making Barcelona an architectural hotspot. Neighborhood feels quite safe with a lot of people on the streets. Trams right in front, and at walking distance from Sagrada Familia (20 mins). The hotel is very stylish and wecoming, great foyer. Personnel is very kind and helpful. The room was really nice, stylish interior with the latest in glass-walled bathrooms and a wonderful lots-of-water rainshowerhead. Not too convenient for working in the room (not much of a desk and uncomfortable chair). This room was more for visitors spending the day outside i guess. The bed is a bit hard for my taste and in that regard contrasts with the style of the room but that is personal. Otherwise everything was spotlessly clean.
In all a very nice place to stay for a few days!

Room Tip: The higher the better for barcelona. Room towards the torre agbar is towards the center, you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#161 of 513 in Barcelona
3,498 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#185 of 513 in Barcelona
2,934 reviews
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Bit
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
1,372 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 513 in Barcelona
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gates Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Diagonal Barcelona

Property: The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#148 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#209 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207) is a modern hotel. It is situated on the Avenida Diagonal in the trendy district of Poblenou, affectionately deemed by some as the "Brooklyn of Barcelona," in a neighborhood of striking contrasts. Perfectly located in a prime location, immediately neighboring the Torre de Glories, next to the Plaça de les Glòries Catalanes, which can be reached from any point in the city. The excellent location of the hotel and its connectivity with public transport, makes it easy for leisure and business guests alike to access all of Barcelona's main attractions and convention centers in just minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Gates Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing