We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Ranked #231 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip because it was close to the business location I was visiting.
Hotel is nice and modern. Rooms are clean and nice, though a bit small (standard for Europe, I guess). I would not recommend it for families, too small.
For business purposes, very good. Food in the restaurant is very good as well, wifi works very well. Breakfast is superb, ample selection of hot and cold items, plus champagne and Cava (which I did not touch... not a morning drinker).
Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR_Traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    973
    331
    111
    78
See reviews for
203
1,140
75
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is very modern. So modern that the bathroom walls are made of glass. If you are sharing with a colleague and dont mind baring all this the hotel for you. Its a good thing I wasnt sharing. Free WIFI which was good as I was there on business. A good selection at breakfast. Unfortunately the waiters were more involved in their conversation than attending to the customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed in the Silken Diagonal for the second time in June 2012. Hotel is well situated on the metro station as well as closeby to shopping arcade makes the location convenient. Rooms are well sized with bathroon glass. Furniture, carpets are runing out of its best days, meaning some refurb would not be bad idea as well as carpet cleaning. There is construction site next to hotel. That brings noise and dust. Overall fine but for next year trip I will have a look for different hotel already.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Conveninet n strategic. The location of this hotel is beside of Torre Agbar the modern landmark tower at Glories. From here u can take 5min walks to Sagrada Famiglia. Metro station also just step ahead.
The room was clean, modern, spacious. Bfast was OK. Staff was helpfull n friendly. Good services.
The only complain i had was the bed not comfortable, the mattras was hard n i had back pain the next morning. Also the bathroom walls were made from transparent glass, (your friend can see u take a shower) in my case stay with travel mate (man) can be lack of privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Today we've checked out and below are our comments:
Staff: friendly and cooperative
Room size:small
Housekeeping: baaaaaaad,they are cheating not cleaning
Location:very good
Price:excellent
Food:we've didn't tryed it
Complimentary services: baaaaaaaad although we've mentioned to them that we are in Spain to celebrate our anniversary and they did not even serve us flowers or chocolate at least.

Shall we come to this hotel again?
Noooooo

That's it

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amilavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel situated 5 tram stops (or 1/2 walk) from conference centre.
Rooms were functional and modern with lots of glass, especially the shower area, but screens are in situ. The aircon was fine for me and you can operate the two blinds if you want to look out.
the hotel is situated on Avienda Diagonal next door to the "Gherkin" and Novotel on the other side.
Reception were very helpful to myself and the restaurant at breakfast was adequate, although I cont comment on the evening meals.
The lifts are computerised and not having any buttons to press inside the lift is strange at first. however if you take the lift to the top floor (10) you can go to the wooden floored roof area. This has a pool (too small to swim in really), loungers and a bar. This looks like a nice place to relax in the evening, and gives you good views across the city

Room Tip: I was in 119 which was just of the lift area, but it was totally quiet, Numbers 9 - 12 are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0MacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is modern and convenient for trams,buses and metro to Las Ramblas.
It has a rooftop swimming pool and bar with great views of Barcelona. There was a DJ playing great 60s music until late.
The breakfast was very good.
There is a modern shopping centre across the road with good shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Suggest a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#164 of 512 in Barcelona
3,523 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#189 of 512 in Barcelona
2,953 reviews
Vincci Bit
#117 of 512 in Barcelona
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#188 of 512 in Barcelona
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gates Diagonal Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Diagonal Barcelona

Property: The Gates Diagonal Barcelona
Address: Avda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#151 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#209 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona (HB4207) is a modern hotel. It is situated on the Avenida Diagonal in the trendy district of Poblenou, affectionately deemed by some as the "Brooklyn of Barcelona," in a neighborhood of striking contrasts. Perfectly located in a prime location, immediately neighboring the Torre de Glories, next to the Plaça de les Glòries Catalanes, which can be reached from any point in the city. The excellent location of the hotel and its connectivity with public transport, makes it easy for leisure and business guests alike to access all of Barcelona's main attractions and convention centers in just minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gates Diagonal Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Diagonal Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Silken Diagonal Hotel
The Gates Diagonal Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing