We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff - less excellent rooms.”
Review of Chic & Basic Lemon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chic & Basic Lemon
Ranked #324 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed November 3, 2012

During november 2012 during a business trip we decided to stay at the Hotel Marvi due to location.
First off – Marvi is an independent hotel that does not follow a Radison/Mariot/Best westen std. This means that there are no facilities common to these chains. This is ok, it was business only, so we basically needed a place to sleep.
First off, the staff is very very nice and forthcoming. Good English skills, very polite. Could not ask for anything more on that account.
WiFi is good as well.
Now the less-good part.
The room itself was clean, but smells like chlorine. The beds are incredibly hard to sleep on, and the only 0.8x1 m window goes to a window shaft 3x3 meters wide. So in effect, there is no window.
The breakfast buffet was really bad. Bad tasting coffee, no real selection: 1 type of pre-packaged cake, fruit salad in plastic boxes, VERY dry biscuits and jam. That’s it.
This hotel is basically a bed with a bathroom – nothing more. And a very bad bed. Specially as the AC did not work in our room.
Looking at pricing there are better hotels in same area.

Room Tip: Not recommended at all. IF you choose to get a room, make sure to ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piotr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Located right next to the Universitat metro stop, about 10 min from Placa de Catalunya. Rooms spacious, though minimal furniture. Staff always courteous & nice to give us a room with a balcony with excellent views. Daily cleaning thorough & must leave our keys behind when we go out. Wifi strong in our room cuz they got a separate server for each floor. Only complaint is the meager breakfast. It's buffet style but only 1 croissant, some small packaged dry toast & tiny cake, packaged cut fruit available. Wouldn't it be cheaper for them to buy & provide fresh fruits? Must be some reason why everything is pre-packed. I really craved some protein! But some bkft definitely better than none. There's a Big Bite across the street that sells delicious subs for €2+ and several cafes nearby. Just by the location, cleanliness, & professionalism of the staff, I will recommend Marvi.

Thank Hydien
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel Marvi is in an excellent position with comfortable, extremely clean rooms. The staff are most helpful and welcoming.
I had read about possible noise but had no problem. My room was on the first floor, overlooking the Carre de Pelai and, as soon as I closed the french window to the balcony, the noise could not be heard.
I would have liked tv with some English channels but you can't have everything! Previous reviews have mentioned the breakfast which is not great. I think the addition of self service fruit (rather than the pre packed offering which was meagre) would make breakfast more acceptable. I visited the fabulous food market close by and was amazed by the variety of fruit on offer at good prices. The addition of a toaster would also have improved the experience for me.
Since I knew what to expect, it was not a big deal. I had tea/coffee/juice which kept me going until I got to one of the many cafes in the immediate vicinity.
Because I knew what to expect, I consider I got overall good value for money in such a centrally placed Barcelona hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank mariamcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Basic but comfortable and clean rooms.

Excellent location - you can get anywhere in Barcelona in about 15 minutes.

Staff could be more friendly but no issues.

Breakfast needs improvement. Some cereals or fresh bread would be good.

Would stay again if on a budget. A good little cheap hotel in great spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Marvi for 4 nights and just returned yesterday and I couldn't have been more impressed with the place.
It was much cheaper than so many hotels we looked at as Barcelona is so expensive for accommodation. I have to say we weren't expecting much but it was great.
It's ideally located if you're getting the bus from the airport into the centre (Aerobus runs every 10 mins or so, costs just under 6 euros per person and takes half an hour). Get off at Universidat (the stop before Placa Catalunya) and the hotel is literally just over the road.
It's a 10 minute walk if that down to Placa Catalunya and therefore Las Ramblas when you want to get in on the action but far enough away that you're not kept away by noisy bars etc.
The hotel is really clean, good size bathroom with hairdryer complimentary toiletries etc and the staff really helpful.
My only negative would be the breakfast isn't anything to write home about but there's nothing actually wrong with it. Croissants, biscuits and cartons of fresh fruit - just not that exciting. Instead we walked down Las Ramblas to the Boqueria food market and bought fruit, smoothies, bread, cheese etc from there.
All in all if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel I don't think you can go far wrong. It's not luxury but it's absolutely not trying to be. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#219 of 515 in Barcelona
863 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#353 of 515 in Barcelona
353 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#182 of 515 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#196 of 515 in Barcelona
787 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#132 of 515 in Barcelona
1,962 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#179 of 515 in Barcelona
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Lemon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Lemon

Address: Calle Pelayo 6, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marvi)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $70 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chic & Basic Lemon 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are provided with central air conditioning and heating, safe box, complete bathroom, public digital TV and direct phone line. Children minor than 7 years are not welcome.Baby cot for free (under availability)■air conditioning■Wake-up Service■Daily cleaning service■Hairdryer■Wi-Fi For Free ■Television■Iron and ironing board (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chic & Basic Lemon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvi Hotel Barcelona
Chic & Basic Lemon Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing