We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice rooms - just something missing”
Review of B-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
B-Hotel
Ranked #58 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice rooms - just something missing”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the B-Hotel for four nights in May. The location of the hotel is terrific, right next door to the Placa d'Espanya Metro stop and near to the Montjuic gardens, palace and fountains. There's a big shopping centre a couple of minutes walk away and you can go to the top of that centre for lots of good looking bars and restaurants and a great view.

We arrived at the hotel quite late, the room was ready but the housekeeper had the key so we had to wait about 10 minutes for her to turn up - but that was fine. We were also meant to have a free drink on arrival and didn't get it, but didn't think about it until the next morning and felt it was probably too late to ask.

The room was a really good size, had a massive bed, one of the biggest I have seen in a hotel. Plenty of hanging space but interestingly no drawers. We were in one of the better rooms but the view was pretty poor (compared to what they say on their internet site). The bathroom was very clean, there was plenty of cosmetics (no hair conditioner though so ladies bring your own). There's no iron but there is a trouser press, there's also a hairdryer and safe, no in room drink facilities for tea and coffee but there is a mini bar.

The roof top terrace is pretty cool - there's a small pool but it has an amazing view overlooking the fountains. We only went up late at night so couldn't get a drink up there but imagine it is really nice in the day.

Breakfast was good in terms of food. Delicious hams and meat, cheese and little pastries and cake. There's also scrambled egg and bacon. Hot drinks are on the side and you're reliant on the staff having to refill them which is where breakfast wasn't so good. There were hardly any staff on, so sometimes the water was cold, or bread ran out and you had to wait a while to get anything. It can also get very busy so when they eventually did replenish there was a huge rush! Having said that - it was nice food.

Came back late one night and had a great pot of tea in the bar, the waiter was very friendly. I didn't have anything else in the bar whilst we were there, it looked really modern but a little soulless.

On the one hand this hotel is good, it's modern and is in a terrific location but on the other hand it just lacks some atmosphere. There's no reason not to stay there and there's no reason to stay there either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    817
    176
    43
    19
See reviews for
230
1,256
89
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at the B Hotel and enjoyed it. The decor and vibe is in the modern vein, so keep that in mind if you're hoping for a piece of history. The shower had mini blinds in the glass shower wall, so we were glad to find the up and down control located near a wall outlet. You need to leave the main room key at the front desk when you leave, and you have to slide it in the slot inside of the room to turn the power on. I checked the roof and pool briefly and it was nice. The lobby bar was great. A tad expensive, but good sangria. The room AC worked well, and the location was fantastic. Close to a lot of great stuff, including the subway. For as loud as the Main Street can be in front of the hotel, we never heard any noise in the room. Good choice for friends or couples. Not really a family hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slvia_Nadal, B HOTEL TEAM at B-Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen B-hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We are really delighted to see that you enjoyed our sangria, and regarding the price, it’s within other hotel bars in the city, in fact we have special offers exclusively for guests of the hotel.
We kindly inform you and the rest of TA travelers that we receive a lot of families, with kids and babies; we can also provide coats free of charge.
Thank you very much for your high feedback and looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Benjamin Monti Muñiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this modern, minimalist hotel with friendly staff. We arrived about noon and appreciated being checked in before the official time of 3pm. The bar is a good place to start an evening - the hotel has a bar on the ground floor and one on the rooftop. Bar staff were excellent. Location is ideal if you want to be away from busy Las Ramblas but want to be close to transport links. You can see Plaza Espanya from the bar/ pool on the hotel's roof. From this plaza you can get the metro and the airport bus: it's 25 minutes from the airport and costs 6 EUR each way. It's a 5k run from the hotel to La Ramblas and back! It's a pleasant walk along the Grand Via going towards the University. You are also close to Montjuic. Finally, the train station of Sants is a few minutes walk away if you're taking a day trip. The room was nicely appointed but a little dark.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the main road but the windows were thick enough to stop noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbinonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slvia_Nadal, B HOTEL TEAM at B-Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments posted recently on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found your experience as exceptional as you describe it.

We are fortunate to be very conveniently located in the center of Barcelona, close to bars restaurants, congress centers, historic buildings, and main highlights.
We are truly delighted that you appreciated our rooftop terrace, staff and bar.
Regarding the early check in, we inform you that this is subject to availability, but we always try to offer this to our guests, so they can fresh up and rest after a long trip.
We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Sincerely yours,

Benjamin Monti Muñiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it is clean and new, Location is fine but for us it was the wrong choice. It was modern and had no energy or soul. The reception staff did their jobs but did not interact with guests or make you feel welcome. The bar and waiting staff were very good and very friendly and had some fun in them. We will not be back as it did not enhance our stay in Barcelona at all. Rooms were small, perfectly formed but dark. Location is good for Magic Fountain, eating, metro, tour bus, etc. Pool is heated by the sun and is only 0.9m deep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnesFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slvia_Nadal, B HOTEL TEAM at B-Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest;

I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback. Your comments help us to improve the service we deliver and therefore every single comment is worth a lot.

It is good that you have addressed us some negative points concerning the service at the reception and I do apologize if our staff there let you down on this occasion. Normally our service is exceptional and the difficulties you experienced are not a fair reflection of our usual high standard of customer care. Please be assured the issues you have raised have been addressed to the GM so appropriate corrective action can be taken.
We would be honored to welcoming you back at the B-hotel so you can change your impression regarding our hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you again to B-hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the B-Hotel for nights at the beginning of May and it was fantastic! The location is perfect, from the Airport take the Aerobus and it is the first stop. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to Las Ramblas but it doesn't feel long at all as it is such a beautiful city and there's plenty of pit-stops for a coffee or a beer :)
The bar in the hotel is great too, they make amazing cocktails, perfect to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. The roof top pool and terrace is lovely, we didn't get a chance to use the pool but usually started our day off with a trip to the terrace to soak up the sun and plan our day. The view is fab!
The rooms are comfortable, we stayed in room 503 which has a small balcony too. The room was always spotless when we returned and you can control the air-con easily.
The staff are lovely and always willing to help. I would definately recommend this hotel, it is within walking distance to the city centre and camp nou, the tourist bus stops just outside the hotel, and there is a metro station if required although we walked everywhere so didn't use it.
Tip - take a trip to the Mirablau bar (use the Blue Tourist bus line and take the blue tram) for some spectacular views and lovely red wine and nibbles.
We will definately return to Barcelona and will use the B Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slvia_Nadal, B HOTEL TEAM at B-Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest:
Happy to see that you had a wonderful stay with us, at the B-Hotel, and thank you very much for sharing that with other travelers that would like to visit us.
Your positive experience is our motivation, we always strive to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.
It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, the B-Hotel team members will be honored to welcome you back again

Kindest regards from Barcelona,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the B-Hotel for six nights during our trip to Barcelona and really enjoyed our stay! It's close to the metro and restaurants and the new mall opened up next door not too long ago, so it's super convenient. Our favorite part is the roof top pool and its location. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to be close to transportation, but away from the busy Las Ramblas area. It's also walking distance to the magic fountain, so it's a nice walk at night with gelato! :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slvia_Nadal, B HOTEL TEAM at B-Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time you spent with us.

We are delighted to read your kind words towards B-hotel and to see that you enjoyed your stay amongst us.

We are truly delighted that you appreciated our rooftop terrace. I have shared your positive feedback with all our staff; kindly know that they felt honored with your words.
We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back in a not too distant future, so you can take advantage of our swimming pool!
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,925 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
2,218 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,265 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,219 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Hotel

Property: B-Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 389-391 | Plaza Espana, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-Hotel is the one of the best places to stay while visiting Barcelona. Less than ten minutes from the Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, the beach, and the museums atop Montjuïc, its location within the most exciting area of the city and its proximity to the major conference centers have made B-Hotel a favorite destination for travelers on business or pleasure, as well as a key gathering spot or meeting place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your B-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B-Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing