We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely located, food good but costly, service can improve”
Review of Carpe Diem

Carpe Diem
Ranked #18 of 778 Nightlife in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CDLC in Barcelona is the finest club in Spain and one of the best in the world. Enjoy its wonderful food and drinks at its exclusive restaurant and beach club or experience the sexy and stylish night at the best club atmosphere.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicely located, food good but costly, service can improve”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant definitely benefits from its direct location at the beach. What's better than a lunch outside looking at the sea?
We had the arab mixed starter which was great followed by sushi. The latter was ok, but not great, small and a little bit expensive. The service was a little bit slow. But still we enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    206
    77
    35
    50
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful service, arrogant manager, style over substance”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited this restaurant last night to celebrate a friend's 40th having had an enjoyable experience some 3 years ago - sadly things have changed.

We arrived at 10.20pm for a 10.30pm reservation as we had been told that if we were late our table would be given away. We were finally shown to our table at 11.45pm having been fobbed off with promises that we wouldn't have to wait much longer for almost 1.5 hours. The staff during this time were rude and dismissive.

We had a table outside where half of our party had to sit with people standing and smoking above them and pushing into their chairs whilst they were trying to eat. We had to ask for water 5 times, bread 3 times, some starters didn't arrive, the food was luke-warm and average at best, the servers were terrible and everything seemed a chore to them. When the bill arrived it was riddled with errors, with multiple items we didn't have added to the bill.

Finally we asked to see the manager. He just made the experience worse! He was arrogant and rude and did not care in any way that we weren't enjoying our meal. He even had the audacity to say that our complaints didn't really matter as the venue is "the best place in Barcelona". (It's certainly not, poor deluded fool)

Sensing our frustration and disappointment, as a gesture of goodwill he offered us a free cocktail - but after the series of catastrophic service short comings and rudeness we already had a bad taste in our mouths so I like others did not take up the offer.

Such a shame that this place has become solely focused on style over substance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Creusot
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent venue next to the beach”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We went there with friends from all over the world and we had a fantastic time. People were very nice to us and the food was delicious. The atmosphere during diner is incredible and after diner, the disco is quite good.

At the end, the night has been not very expensive (130€ per head), considering the exceptional venue, the wonderful atmosphere, the fantastic massages (you can get a massage during diner, which I totally recommend) and the amazing food that we had...

Things you need to know: the price of drinks change after that the restaurant becomes a disco, and the outside (beach) coaches become the VIP area that you can only access if you buy a bottle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited at the end of September when the weather was still very warm and had such a good experience we returned three times. Beautiful décor, very friendly and helpful service, very good food and great music. Fascinating to watch the beach life go by from your comfortable lounger whilst enjoying oversized mojitos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aemstelhuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warning!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A warning to Brits going to this club, don't enjoy your self at the expense of the local wanna be's as unless you speak the lingo they will get you kicked out! Myself and my girlfriend had been having a great nite in cdlc for about 2hours and had joined up with another English hen party. The night was goin well until a local playboy & his mates took offence to us having a laugh! He had a word with the host who proceeded to have us removed! Said host had spoken to me a number of times during the nite, but when it came to us complaining all of a sudden no one spoke English! Boarder line racist! Spoilt what had been a great night up until that point! Will not be going back!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpe Diem also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing