We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 1898”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
parsippany, nj
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hotel 1898”
Reviewed May 17, 2007

My DH and I stayed here for 3 nights pre cruise 04/30/07- 05/03/07. We booked this hotel based on trip ad visor reviews. It is a really
"good "hotel but not the best I have ever stayed at. We booked a superior room which was lovely, but very small with only one window looking out into the back court yard.The bathroom was really beautiful with a really cool shower and enormous bath towels. Very hard mattress but was so tired from walking all over Barcelona was able to sleep well. We did not eat the breakfast for 18 euros. Many places to eat around hotel. Ate at the Attic restaurant right across the street, need a reservation for sure. Next year when I return to BCN I will probably try another hotel there are many to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benton1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,274
    885
    146
    54
    49
See reviews for
585
2,660
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We booked the hotel based on Trip Advisor rating and experience from sister Hotel Jazz (which is more modest and less expensive).
The experience lived up to our expectations. As we were a large family group, and we got one suite upgraded to a roof-top suite with a private pool, it actually surpassed our expectations!
One thing to remember if you have the pool though, there are other rooms above your terrace, so it´s not for skinny dipping...
The kids also tried the roof-top and inhouse pools, among which the indoor pool was the favourite.
To have a roof-top terrace with lots of nice sofas, chairs and tables - and a pool, right above the Ramblas, well it´s hard to beat!
All rooms were nicely furnised in a comfy and modern style. The staff was young, courteous, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was nice (and as others say - expensive...) and with a large selection of tasty food and drink (bubbles for breakfast?).
We´ve tried the Arts, Jazz, Grand Hotel Florida and other hotels in Barcelona - but I think we´ll go for the Hotel 1898 the next time as well. The price / location / hotel combo is proably the best in town.

  • Liked — Location, good design in rooms and public areas, fantastic suite with private pool!
  • Disliked — Pricey breakfast - but it´s prettice as well....
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J.P.Hernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

This is a fantastic hotel in a febulous location.
We chose to run Customer council of top CEO's at this hotel and it worked perfectly !
The staff are attentive, food creative and REALLY tasty and it is the cleanest hotel I ahve ever been to! The staff seem to be cleaning every minute of the day - its spotless...
Pillow menu in the bedroom is a nice touch and the bedrooms are just great
Two very small but important faults...
Cooked items at breakfast were cold - it cant be rocket science to find a way of keeping breakfast warm!!! Come on this is not difficult
And please please get some better plastic glasses for the roof terrace - i promise you, you cam buy really good plastic glasses now!
I would however HIGHLY recomend this hotel , and also the Restaurant Quo Vadis round the corner - the settng looks nothing but the food is tops - our clients feasted on , King Prawns, Steak & wild strawberries and raspberries for dessert !!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank totallydiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

Great Hotel booked on the strength of reviews on Tripadvisor, fantastic location. We stayed here for 3 nights in early May.
There have been a few complaints about the expensive breakfast but if you like a large breakfast like we do it is well worth it. Just one minor complaint about breakfast - the 'hot' food is barely luke warm (but still very tasty), surely the hotel can find a better way of keeping the food hot?
The roof top pool and terace is great but be warned that the pool is not heated! Very refreshing on a hot day, but otherwise could be a bit of a shock. The downstairs pool (heated), sauna and steamroom were very good, and quiet.
Now - just a plea on behalf of he mime artists on the Ramblas, PLEASE - if you want to photograph them give them a euro or two (or even a few cents), they are very entertaining and go to an awful lot of trouble to make up etc, but it did annoy us people trying to sneak a photo then walking off without paying them anything.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeEstuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham kent
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

just got back from a long weekend in barcelona stayed at the 1898. the hotel staff very helpful we stayed in a superior room no 635, it was lovely big and spotless! the maid came in 3 times a day and replaced toiletries.....dont bother to take bath stuff shampoo or hairdryer! bath robes and slippers are provided and there was shower caps and even a shoe cleaning kit!! no irons though as the hotel provides a laundry service. we didnt eat in the hotel breakfast was 18 euros but if you go to the royal hotel just up the road u can walk in and have buffet breakfast for 9 euros!! ( between 7.30 and 11 am) and they had everything you would want it was lovely. you must
get ticket to go on bus turistic which starts at placa cataluyna at the top of the ramblas just 2 minutes from the hotel it has 3 routes that cover all major sites the Sagrada Familia is breathtaking as is the tram ride and funicular railway to the top of mount tribidabo. try it all dont forget the nou camp and the cable cars! be careful when ordering your tapas as it can end up more expensive than a restuarant 3 course meal. we ate at the attic restuarant virtually opposite the hotel and it was really good and immaculate, however its advisable to book as most people eat after 9 and it gets busy. the roof terrace at the hotel was lovely and there where great views we didnt get time to use the spa too busy sightseeing. i would highly
recommend this hotel and woudnt want to stay anywhere else didnt want
to come home.

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank parsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

What a fantastic hotel !!! I took my fiance for a surprise 40th birthday present and what a brilliant time we had. The hotel is grand without being too pretentious. I booked directly with the hotel (which is cheaper than through an agency) and explained that this was a special occasion and could they allocate an extra special room. When we checked in I mentioned this and although our booking was for a classic room, we were placed in a fabulous room with its own terracing (room 202).
The room itself was maybe not the biggest but the attention to detail cannot be faulted. The choice of lighting, the digital radio, the tea/coffee facilities (but take some teabags along if you need your fix first thing in the morning!), the bathroom is stunning and not to mention the spa, pool and steam rooms. What an absolute pleasure it was.
Las Ramblas is an experience, the city bus tour a waste of money as its much nicer to walk to attractions. We will certainly be going back to Barcelona and will stay at Hotel 1898 again. Have fun !!!

  • Liked — Quality of the room, perfect location and price
  • Disliked — Lack of milk for tea/coffee
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We have just returned from a 3-night break in early May. The H1898 is a well-presented modern boutique-style hotel in an absolutely fabulous central location on Las Ramblas. Despite the busy location the hotel was an oasis of calm and our room (which faced into a central courtyard/atrium) was quiet whatever the hour.
We found service to be pleasant and prompt; the wonderful breakfast extensive and reasonable value at 19 Euro; the public lounge areas comfortable and impressive; the rooftop lounge/pool area fantastic (though with so much to see we didn't have much time to use it); and the basement pool/spa well presented (even if the pool was a little on the cool side).
If we were being critical we might say that the hotel is a little dark, mainly due to the style and finishes (our room saw little daylight) and the room and bathroom could have been larger.
Overall I would heartlily recommend this hotel. Given the wide choice available in a city like Barcelona we chose it for it's high tripadvisor rating. If you do the same we don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Liked — Hotel quality and location
  • Disliked — Dark rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeeman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,385 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
850 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,114 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing