We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with few complaints”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ciudad Del Este, Paraguay
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel with few complaints”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel itself is great. It is new, rooms are chic and clean and have a modern feel, it has a spa and a gym that all guests can use. The gym it a bit small, but the rest of the hotel makes up for it. The hotel has an indoor pool (spa) and an outdoor pool on the roof. The rooftop restaurant is not a big deal, but it is made to be so online.

The reception acts as concierges too, but it is not the same when I compare it to other hotels with equal quality and stars. Although their bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

The hotel is right on Las Ramblas, a street with a lot going on all the time, which can be a good or bad thing. Driving there on your own with a gps can be hard, it took me and my family a while but we found it. It's located in a good area in order to leave to explore the city.


For a 5 star spa hotel, this hotel will not disappoint you, but it will not blow you away either.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,277
    885
    146
    55
    49
See reviews for
585
2,663
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The location of the Hotel can't be beat...right on the Ramblas. The hotel is very elegant, had a Privilege Room, and have no complaints about the accommodations. Breakfast (chose to eat in the hotel only one day due to the cost) was a quite extensive buffet.

But guests need to be aware: The hotel has no Concierge service (the reception desk tries to deliver this service in between waiting on people checking in and out), the hotel policy is that they will not provide an iron for pressing clothes (which we were able to obtain at all the other 5 star hotels on our trip), and the Business center computers are either so old or buggy that they are really quite useless. All relatively minor complaints, but unexpected for a hotel that represents itself as high caliber.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodirolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We reserved a room, then when we tried to cancel they refused to cancel and claimed they never got our emails and charged us full price. Suspicious hotel behavior, they only accept email cancellations and they claim they don't get the e-mail when it is successfully sent. Not good business practice. Suspcious and difficult.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilovebostons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director de Recepción at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, July 22, 2016
Dear guest,

We kindly inform you that every reservation has different cancellation policies.
We always ask for an email for everything to have written support. We are unable to cancel reservations by telephone without a written permission or request and if the reservation is not done directly with us it is also not possible to be canceled through us, but through the same site/agency you did it.

Also, our regular cancellation policy if booked directly with the Hotel is free cancellation until 18h00 of theprevious day of the arrival.

We apologize if any missunderstood happened with your reservation but the procedure you mention is not following the policies we do have.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel is beautiful and historic. The rooms are quite nice and the location cannot be beat. The problems with the hotel are related to some of the service. There is a rooftop bar that is really nice (albeit expensive), but the service tends to be pushy, trying to get people to leave as soon as possible. We felt that we had to insist that we would not be pushed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Ideally suited for the hustle and bustle of La Rambla but yet we had an extremely quiet room that was very clean, a decent size and with an excellent bathroom complete with quality toileteries.

With all the superb restaurants close by we only ate breakfast at the hotel but that was of a very high standard especially the ham carved straight off the bone.

Many of the major attractions were walkable or a short taxi/bus ride away - we only stayed 5 days but could have easily stayed a lot longer.

The roof top pool was a very pleasant addition to the hotel with interesting views around the city and very pleasant to have breakfast on the roof as well. Poolside drinks were very good.

We would definitely stay there again but I have to mention the activities of pickpockets which were all too apparent - if you keep your wits about then it is easy to prevent anything happening. I stopped a guy who flashed a business card in my face muttering something about a restaurant while at the same time he tried to go in my pocket which I easily stopped as I had been forewarned by other Tripadvisors. With a shrug of his shoulders he just looked for another victim and was there doing the same an hour later.

Barcelona is a fantastic city, definitely now one of my favourites, just don't let the bad guys spoil it!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBGL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed 3 nights right on world cup final weekend - about as hectic as La Ramblas could be, and yet not too much of a disturbance in our room.

The room itself is very smart, not as lush as the pics make out but I should think this is one of the nicest hotels in the area. Although 2 single beds pushed together (on wheels!) not ideal.

Beautiful roof top terrace over looking the city, amazing and romantic for a night time drink, and an excellent place to unwind with a swim after exploring.

I would not recommend the terrace for dinning; the food is lovely but luke warm by the time it gets upstairs, and there are better priced options nearby (Cafe Lobo downstairs is great). Breakfast was fine but nothing amazing - it was all there but I missed the wow factor I have experienced in hotels like Grechotel Eva Palace Corfu. I do like a good holiday breakfast, and this was just luke warm and standard.

Amazing service - the hotel should be proud of it's staff from arrival to departure. this was 5*

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
476 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Really nice hotel, very stilish. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the breakfast is just amazing and the rooms are clean.

The hotel is settled in a really old building, very nice!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,387 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
855 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,123 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
399 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing