We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of character, excellent location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #31 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Central location on La Ramblas, the facilities are all very good - from the rooftop terrace and pool to the sub-terranean pool, gym and spa.

All areas of the hotel have character - rooms are uncomplicated, yet have all of the facilities.

Cleanliness is exemplary.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sillybilly1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 4,657 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is well located, very handsomely appointed and very clean. It is on the very busy Las Ramblas but when you enter the property you quickly forget this. Staff is knowledgable and efficient. Beautiful basement pool/spa and great rooftop pool and lounging area. Hotel is pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jodib452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Hotel 1898 is in an excellent location right off La Rambla, but seems a world away. My husband and I stayed here the night before our cruise. Front desk service was very efficient. As a room was available we were able to check in before the official check in time which is greatly appreciated when arriving from an overnight flight. The room was very large with lots of storage. We had a small balcony which looked out over the street. The view from the hotel roof of the city is wonderful. The hotel location is so convenient. There is a grocery store just a couple blocks down the street if you need to pick up anything you forgot. Would definitely stay here when in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justme2Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We booked this hotel based on location and previous reviews & I'm happy to recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a clean, stylish & pleasurable place to stay. It's location sets it apart from all similar hotels & the amenities are great. We upgraded the room & found it to be clean, spacious & of a high standard. We paid the extra €6 per person supplement to have what I can only describe to be a massive breakfast upstairs on the terrace for 2 of the mornings & we couldn't fault it at all!
The spa & gym were perfectly adequate and the sauna provided much needed escape after sweating on the treadmill.
We will be returning which is as high an endorsement as we can give it! The staff were all friendly & helpful & arranged swimming towels for us to take to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Tiddles_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Fab View, from the rooftop terrace, tucked away off The Ramblas. Wedged between The Meridian Hotel, not advertised, but well worth a bottle of vino overlooking Barcelona. Wise to book a booth if you wish to visit after 8 or you'll not get the best views.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jacqueline887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I am usually a budget traveler, but it was my sister's birthday, so we decided to splurge.

This hotel was well worth it, in every way. The thing that impressed me the most was the bottle of champagne on ice and a happy birthday card to my sister when we arrived home after a day of site-seeing. It was so kind and unexpected. It truly is the little things that make you love a hotel!

Everything else that everyone else is saying is true - amazing staff, great rooms, wonderful views, awesome pools ...etc etc etc

The only bad thing is La Rambla at night ..... their are aggressive prostitutes on the street after midnight. Be careful when coming home late, they will get very touchy!!! -- But this is not the fault of the hotel, just a warning to future guests to be aware!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

1898 is in the Ramblas but more towards Plaza Catalyna area. All the tours leave fr there and is a 5min walk fr Hotel, close to many many restaurants. The hotel has an amazing spa which has free entry for Hotel guests. The rooftop bar has great food n ambience. Hotel gave us a 20%off coupon for drinks up there. Rooms r really good but the classic a bit small. Inspite of the sz it was a great exp, it's not bad for 2, we got a king sz bed, of course two beds joined like everywhere in Europe. Nice bathrooms n really good amenities. Housekeeping was amazing, left the room spotless n kept adding stuff n clean robes n slippers for the spa. My husb n I were super impressed. Security was good need yr key card to go up the elevator. U need to be careful in the Ramblas though cus many pickpockets. I wd definitely come back, I give this Hotel a thumbs up . Very pleasing staff.

Room Tip: If u like space get the superior with a window, it's not noisey but walls r thin. Classic is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Koms70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,177 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,350 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
958 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $148 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing