We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“5 days in Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #15 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
“5 days in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Excellent stay at the Htel 1898, would highly recommend. Incredible service and wonderful location. Complete staff was friendly and nice through out.
The front dest service was so professional and patient and kind. If ever a line they brought out more help.
Wait staff and bar staff all friendly and excellent. Rooms were very comfortable, very hip vibe through out hotel. A great boutique hotel in the heart of downtown and convenient to everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,835
    768
    122
    45
    42
See reviews for
504
2,303
109
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had no knowledge about the hotel prior our visit but was realy pleaset. The service was excellent during our stay from arrival to departure.
Room including bathroom was clean and tidy.
We will return :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stokka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for a short city break and from the moment we arrived in the lobby we knew we made the right choice in hotel.
From the staff to the amenties we couldn't find anything negative about it. We were lucky enough to have been given a room with a small balcony that overlooked La Ramblas, which was lovely to be able to hear and see such a famous part of the fantastic city. We crammed a lot into our short stay in Barcelona so this hotel was also perfect location for everything we had on our itinerary for both walking distance to things (La Sagrada Familia, La Boquiera, Casa Battlo etc) and for catching a taxi if need be to get to a little further out (Park Guell, Monjuic, Camp Nou). All the staff we ecountered were polite, extremely friendly and attentitative. Our (fantastic) room was kept maintained with clean towels and linen everyday not to mention the bed (extremely comfortable and absolutely huge). The terrace was wonderful - perfect place to relax having a beer on a bed/sofa or to catch the rays by/in the pool- great views too. This trip was a birthday treat for my boyfriend and although the hotel never actually knew his birth date as it wasn't on any of their systems - they saw birthday cards in the room, when we arrived home from dinner that night a complimentary bottle of champagne and a birthday note were left for him. It was pure attention to detail with this hotel that we throuroughly enjoyed and that will bring us back for when we return to Barcelona! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Everything was excellent - staff, facilities, food etc. Please consider this if you are wanting something central in Barcelona.

Major bonus was the roof terrace which has outstanding views of the city and the spa in the basement.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrieres-d'Avignon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed for several nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed this superb hotel. Arrived by car (not easy in the heart of las Ramblas) but was immediately personally guided round to the underground car park (payable). Excellent greeting on arrival with plenty of staff, no waiting and a room that was ready. The hotel has recently been restored to what I would call "modern classic". Beautiful old-style furniture and fittings but up-to-date features where neccessary. The staff were very helpful and relaxed. We particularly loved the rooftop bar. The hotel is very centrally situated, ideal for touring the city, and just a hop away from the amazing food market, la Boqueria. Take the time to wonder at the array of produce, particularly the fish, and then stop at one of the many tapas bars for a light snack and a glass of well chilled Fino Sherry (ideal with fish dishes) fizzy Cava or the local Spanish white wines. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it were not for the fact that one of our suitcases did not get put into our car by the valet, which we did not discover until half way to the french border! The air in the car went blue as we were forced to do a U-turn (I don't DO U-turns!) to collect the wayward baggage. Once again into Las Ramblas only to find ourselves in the Bus/Taxi only section in the middle of lunctime and trying to explain our predicament in our best Spanish to the local constabulary. What larks as someone once said. Anyway, I digress. Would definitely return but count my cases on departure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomaineFaverot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just got back from staying here at the end of July 2014. Very beautiful and clean hotel. I was worried about the noise since it is on The Rambla, but we stayed on the 5th floor and our room was in the back with no problems. The rooms are small, but the additional terrace/balcony made all the difference. Free wifi, chocolates on our pillow, mineral water each day, nice toiletries, and beautiful lobby with ice water and lemon. My daughter enjoyed the quaint pool on the roof with such a fabulous view. I loved being in the excitement of it all in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Pick 5th floor back for a quiet room. Ask for a quiet room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Love this hotel. The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in with beautiful egyptian cotton sheets, suburb cleanliness, beautiful bathroom. Comfortable bar with lovely service. We stayed there as a base but wish it had been for longer than a weekend. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#71 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#68 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 5,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing