We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #14 of 524 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Everything was excellent - staff, facilities, food etc. Please consider this if you are wanting something central in Barcelona.

Major bonus was the roof terrace which has outstanding views of the city and the spa in the basement.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,889
    780
    126
    46
    43
See reviews for
513
2,344
109
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cabrieres-d'Avignon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed for several nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed this superb hotel. Arrived by car (not easy in the heart of las Ramblas) but was immediately personally guided round to the underground car park (payable). Excellent greeting on arrival with plenty of staff, no waiting and a room that was ready. The hotel has recently been restored to what I would call "modern classic". Beautiful old-style furniture and fittings but up-to-date features where neccessary. The staff were very helpful and relaxed. We particularly loved the rooftop bar. The hotel is very centrally situated, ideal for touring the city, and just a hop away from the amazing food market, la Boqueria. Take the time to wonder at the array of produce, particularly the fish, and then stop at one of the many tapas bars for a light snack and a glass of well chilled Fino Sherry (ideal with fish dishes) fizzy Cava or the local Spanish white wines. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it were not for the fact that one of our suitcases did not get put into our car by the valet, which we did not discover until half way to the french border! The air in the car went blue as we were forced to do a U-turn (I don't DO U-turns!) to collect the wayward baggage. Once again into Las Ramblas only to find ourselves in the Bus/Taxi only section in the middle of lunctime and trying to explain our predicament in our best Spanish to the local constabulary. What larks as someone once said. Anyway, I digress. Would definitely return but count my cases on departure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomaineFaverot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just got back from staying here at the end of July 2014. Very beautiful and clean hotel. I was worried about the noise since it is on The Rambla, but we stayed on the 5th floor and our room was in the back with no problems. The rooms are small, but the additional terrace/balcony made all the difference. Free wifi, chocolates on our pillow, mineral water each day, nice toiletries, and beautiful lobby with ice water and lemon. My daughter enjoyed the quaint pool on the roof with such a fabulous view. I loved being in the excitement of it all in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Pick 5th floor back for a quiet room. Ask for a quiet room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Love this hotel. The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in with beautiful egyptian cotton sheets, suburb cleanliness, beautiful bathroom. Comfortable bar with lovely service. We stayed there as a base but wish it had been for longer than a weekend. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here based on reviews and were not disappointed. The location is great, right in the heart of La Rambla. However, the hotel is quiet and extremely comfortable. We upgraded to a corner room and were extremely happy. The room was large, the A/C was strong and everything was just nice. The staff were great, the indoor pool amazing and overall a great experience. This is now one of our favorite hotels. Our group had 3 rooms and everyone shared the same experience. Stay here!

Room Tip: Just make sure that they aren't going to be moving chairs/tables around on the roof in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Right in the middle of town. If you like to walk around this it the perfect place. Loads of restaurants in area. Great bar on the roof with a pool. Wonderful view of the city. Full service. Rooms clean, big and nicely designed. Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Might be a little noisy but see if you can overlook the street. There is a train below the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Isn't it nice when you arrive travel weary at your smart and sophisticated hotel and are told that they are upgrading you.
Not when it's from a nice quiet interior room to a noisy room on the street side.
Barcelona bin men work through the night and most of them, apparently in the street under our rear facing room. They take it in turns with the party crowd to ruin your nights sleep. Sunday night was nice and quiet but any other night is very noisy and the poor windows don't deal with the noise at all, so if you are a light sleeper keep this in mind.
The hotel is very nice. Staff are very good.
Breakfast on the roof will set you back what other lesser hotels charge for a room for the night. In fact everything on the roof is expensive. A cocktail will cost you up to five times the price of one a short walk away and both were as good as each other. But they give guests a 20% off voucher so if you are rubbish at maths it balances out.
My advice is to get a quiet interior room at a good price and eat and drink elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 524 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#78 of 524 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,325 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 524 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 524 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#30 of 524 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing