We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1898 to your Saves list
Hotel 1898
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Love this hotel. The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in with beautiful egyptian cotton sheets, suburb cleanliness, beautiful bathroom. Comfortable bar with lovely service. We stayed there as a base but wish it had been for longer than a weekend. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,828
    766
    122
    45
    42
See reviews for
503
2,296
109
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here based on reviews and were not disappointed. The location is great, right in the heart of La Rambla. However, the hotel is quiet and extremely comfortable. We upgraded to a corner room and were extremely happy. The room was large, the A/C was strong and everything was just nice. The staff were great, the indoor pool amazing and overall a great experience. This is now one of our favorite hotels. Our group had 3 rooms and everyone shared the same experience. Stay here!

Room Tip: Just make sure that they aren't going to be moving chairs/tables around on the roof in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Right in the middle of town. If you like to walk around this it the perfect place. Loads of restaurants in area. Great bar on the roof with a pool. Wonderful view of the city. Full service. Rooms clean, big and nicely designed. Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Might be a little noisy but see if you can overlook the street. There is a train below the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Isn't it nice when you arrive travel weary at your smart and sophisticated hotel and are told that they are upgrading you.
Not when it's from a nice quiet interior room to a noisy room on the street side.
Barcelona bin men work through the night and most of them, apparently in the street under our rear facing room. They take it in turns with the party crowd to ruin your nights sleep. Sunday night was nice and quiet but any other night is very noisy and the poor windows don't deal with the noise at all, so if you are a light sleeper keep this in mind.
The hotel is very nice. Staff are very good.
Breakfast on the roof will set you back what other lesser hotels charge for a room for the night. In fact everything on the roof is expensive. A cocktail will cost you up to five times the price of one a short walk away and both were as good as each other. But they give guests a 20% off voucher so if you are rubbish at maths it balances out.
My advice is to get a quiet interior room at a good price and eat and drink elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great location just off the Ramblas. Nice lobby area. Rooms are clean and nice, on the small side, but not unusual for a city hotel. Free wi fi in rooms. Excellent staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wings0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has everything you would want in a hotel. The food is great as well as the facilities. The roof top patio/pool area is spectacular and the service was fantastic. It was such a charming hotel and if you like something a little more traditional and cozy you will love it. I stayed here with my 19 yr old son for 5 nights and unfortunately we were there around the time of the riots on the Las Ramblas which was a bit unnerving. Once we got back to our hotel it was like our own little paradise away from everything. We felt totally safe. There was even someone at the door making sure no one got into the hotel that shouldn't be there. The sangrias were absolutely amazing and we even ordered room service one evening and had one. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had breakfast on the rooftop patio. Both were wonderful! I did however find this area of the city a little worrisome in the evening because of everything I had read and of course the riots didn't help. I would probably of felt a little more comfortable had my husband been with us. If someone was traveling alone (especially if it was a female) I'm not sure I would recommend this area although it would be unfortunate to miss out on this wonderful hotel. During the daytime it was an awesome area. It was bustling with people but I didn't mind that at all and walking distance to the water. The hotel had a Starbucks just around the corner which was also a bonus for my morning latte.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the4bedfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Amazing hotel, amazing room, amazing location and amazing staff. What a fantastic stay we had in Barcelona. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this great city.
The complementary bottle of cava the arrived on the morning of my partners birthday was an especially nice touch considering we hadn't even informed them. Thank you to the staff for that :-)

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy on the lower floors due to its great location on la rambla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,472 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#71 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#68 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 5,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing