We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dodge the upgrade!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #21 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Dodge the upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Isn't it nice when you arrive travel weary at your smart and sophisticated hotel and are told that they are upgrading you.
Not when it's from a nice quiet interior room to a noisy room on the street side.
Barcelona bin men work through the night and most of them, apparently in the street under our rear facing room. They take it in turns with the party crowd to ruin your nights sleep. Sunday night was nice and quiet but any other night is very noisy and the poor windows don't deal with the noise at all, so if you are a light sleeper keep this in mind.
The hotel is very nice. Staff are very good.
Breakfast on the roof will set you back what other lesser hotels charge for a room for the night. In fact everything on the roof is expensive. A cocktail will cost you up to five times the price of one a short walk away and both were as good as each other. But they give guests a 20% off voucher so if you are rubbish at maths it balances out.
My advice is to get a quiet interior room at a good price and eat and drink elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,033
    829
    140
    50
    47
See reviews for
543
2,474
113
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great location just off the Ramblas. Nice lobby area. Rooms are clean and nice, on the small side, but not unusual for a city hotel. Free wi fi in rooms. Excellent staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wings0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has everything you would want in a hotel. The food is great as well as the facilities. The roof top patio/pool area is spectacular and the service was fantastic. It was such a charming hotel and if you like something a little more traditional and cozy you will love it. I stayed here with my 19 yr old son for 5 nights and unfortunately we were there around the time of the riots on the Las Ramblas which was a bit unnerving. Once we got back to our hotel it was like our own little paradise away from everything. We felt totally safe. There was even someone at the door making sure no one got into the hotel that shouldn't be there. The sangrias were absolutely amazing and we even ordered room service one evening and had one. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had breakfast on the rooftop patio. Both were wonderful! I did however find this area of the city a little worrisome in the evening because of everything I had read and of course the riots didn't help. I would probably of felt a little more comfortable had my husband been with us. If someone was traveling alone (especially if it was a female) I'm not sure I would recommend this area although it would be unfortunate to miss out on this wonderful hotel. During the daytime it was an awesome area. It was bustling with people but I didn't mind that at all and walking distance to the water. The hotel had a Starbucks just around the corner which was also a bonus for my morning latte.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the4bedfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Amazing hotel, amazing room, amazing location and amazing staff. What a fantastic stay we had in Barcelona. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this great city.
The complementary bottle of cava the arrived on the morning of my partners birthday was an especially nice touch considering we hadn't even informed them. Thank you to the staff for that :-)

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy on the lower floors due to its great location on la rambla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wonderful hotel in an ideal location quiet and peaceful . Booked a standard room which was dark and cool at night but with luxurious fittings and bathroom. Stayed as 2 couples location ideal right on the ramblas but no interference from noise.

Rooftop area stunning service excellent breakfast on the terrace absolutely gorgeous I wouldn't hesitate to return and next time do the boat trip and cable car.

Did the bus tour which was great and spent many a happy hour walking around the quaint squares

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bendigedig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

As part of out Scenic Tours Paris to Barcelona River cruise stay three nights at this hotel. Beautifully decorated if a little dark in the corridors. Beautiful spa area in the basement, and the piece de resistance is the roof terrace. Lovely pool area great bar and terrific tapas.

Our room 210 had a small outdoor terrace which was beautiful for a coffee and to read the morning paper

Staff very helpful and friendly

Had one of the best steaks ever in the restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had little support by the reception to upgrade to an offered package and to coordinate a Spa treatment. I was told to cancel the inital booking, to book a new package and I was given the e-mail adress of the spa centre and was told to organise myself. I would have expected a little more on site support, since answers to e-mails took quite long.

And afterwards parts of the booked package were forgotten (champagne and strawberries in room at arrival). When I informed the reception, I got a voucher for two free drinks that was intended for people who wait for their rooms (which we did at the beginning without getting a voucher). So I paid for something that should have been free and still didn't get the whole deal.
This was quite disappointing since it was intended as a surprise for my wife for our anniversary (as I had informed the reception upon booking).

The Spa in the former storage room has a unique atmosphere and the massage was good. The pool in the Spa could be slightly warmer though.

Despite the critical points mentioned above, the central location, the atmosphere of the hotel, the perfect breakfast on the La Isabela terrace, the morning swims in the rooftop pool as well as the fantastic blackberry mojitos made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J4ckL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#83 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#5 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#7 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing