We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a peaceful haven in the midst of the Ramblas”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, a peaceful haven in the midst of the Ramblas”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

H1898 is first class, from the moment you enter the air conditioned lobby and are met by the friendly staff you know that they will do their very best to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The rooms are spacious , very clean and quiet , in spite of being on the Ramblas.

We didn't dine in the hotel any evening but the breakfast choices were very extensive and well prepared. The Rooftop terrace is a real treat and a quiet,relaxing haven from the bustle of the Ramblas. The perfect place to chill out and enjoy a cocktail, with lovely views over the city. I would certainly recommend it for couples wanting to explore Barcelona

Room Tip: I chose an interior room, thinking it would be quieter as the hotel over looks the Ramblas. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFromMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,267
    883
    146
    54
    49
See reviews for
583
2,655
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hotel 1898 is in the perfect location especially for folks coming to Barcelona for the first time. It's only steps the older city (Barri Gotic) and has easy access to the metro. The multi lingual staff is always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet is amazing--as is the bar on the roof! Plus two pools--one outside on the roof and one inside. Probably better to choose rooms on upper floors; lower floor rooms facing La Rambla can be a little noisy. This is a pricey hotel--but it's worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jcmaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awesome. Yes it's right in the tourist area but if you are visiting Barcelona and want to see the sights then it's perfect.
The rooms are a good size, modern and clean. Breakfast buffet is fantastic. They have a nice pool on the roof which of course gets busy as it's like an oasis in the middle of town. It also becomes quite a peaceful bar at night with a good vibe.
From the hotel we walked to every site we wanted to see in Barcelona and were there for 3 days and saw everything. A lot of walking but that's because the hotel is in a great place.
My advice is not to eat too much around the hotel aside from the small non commercial tapas bars, but head north up Rambla de Catalunya where there are less tourists and some awesome spots.
Check out my other reviews to see where we are. Also check out my Instagram @ifms7 for all my pictures or www.innnerfight.com

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early July at the end of our Spain adventure. The hotel is beautiful. Although, when first trying to locate it the pictures from the Internet are not what you'll see. I guess that view is looking back? I'm not sure but since we were driving I passed the hotel once before seeing it. After a prompt check in (our room was ready early!) we had a drink at the rooftop bar. The views were spectacular!!! The room itself was very nice although we didn't have a great view. You can not beat the location!!!! We were a quick walk away from the old town. It's a very posh place and definitely caters to English speakers. The parking is underneath the hotel. You have to literally drive through diners of an outdoor cafe to get to the garage. The drive to the airport is an easy one from the hotel and early on a Sunday morning there was no traffic. We would def stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hadley311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was very impressed by the level of cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff, and the overall experience from this hotel. The rooftop terrace and pool were beautiful, and we enjoyed having dinner at the restaurant downstairs. On our last morning we had breakfast up on the roof, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the value we got for €6 per person--this included our large meals, a plate of pastries and jams to share, and a glass of rosé champagne each.

My only (very minor) complaints were that the WiFi was very spotty and didn't work at all in our room, despite the fact that we got an excellent connection up on the roof, and that I was disappointed that they close the rooftop pool so early in the evening. I would have liked to be able to swim up there at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipglosschaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was here a year ago for 3 nights total before a cruise and can not explain to you the amount of class this hotel has. The old architecture from the outside and modern edge in the inside makes for an incredible atmosphere ! The staff were friendly and helpful! The location is absolutely fantastic, & the POOLS. I cannot begin to explain the view from the roof not the amazing brickwork from the basement where the incredible spa pool is located. I would recommend (and have) as well as return here in a heartbeat !!!!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NickieMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Spent a great 4 days here with my wife. Room was spotless, rooftop bar was a joy. Discount of 20% on drinks for residents.
Staff very friendly and professional.
Ate in restaurant one night but was disappointed as the place was empty bar one other table. Serious lack of atmosphere but food was good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jgw8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,381 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,106 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing