We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fantastic hotel - perfect location, historic vibe, and great amenities. We absolutely loved the rooftop terrace and sat there with some friends for afternoon drinks and snacks. I wanted a hotel that had a bit of history and this place more than met my expectations. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alexis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,545)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1898
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,465 - 1,471 of 4,545 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Perfect location. Very friendly staff. They helped me a lot. Very clean and comfortable room. Highly recommended to travel alone. The value is very good. They offered me a room with a terrace overlooking the Rambla. Satisfied

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josep O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great hotel- wonderful rooms, very good service' astonishing rooftop and beautiful gym and swimming pool and all right at the Rambals in the center of all the action and once you close the window, you do not hear any noise. It is quite expensive but worth it!

Room Tip: take the bigger rooms and from 3rd floor and up
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheleg710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed 5 days in the Colonial Suite, supposed to be the " best one " in Barcelona, according to the hotel advertising. We appreciated the efficient reception, the lobby, common areas and room decoration, the fitness ( small but convenient ), the excellent german masseur, the inside pool, the roof bar- restaurant ambiance and view, the friendly staff from room service, house keeping and laundry.

But we were disappointed by many details which spoiled part of our pleasure, like :

Reservation service : not customer oriented, reception staff efficient but unable to smile, rates offered by Internet which don’t take in account the previous deals. In the room : Kettle difficult to access, next electric plug out of order and never repaired, not enough electric plugs, jacuzzi engine out of order ( repaired the last day of our stay. ) Many mistakes in the room service delivery, many small problems in the SPA ( no space for changing clothes, no watches, shower and door lockers out of order )

Last but not least : Director absent, don't answer to comments, also here on this Tripadvisor website.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the opposite side of La Rambla, too noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIERREGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were here 4 night with my spouse just end of June and start of July. Classic room reservation but we got upgraded room. Nice! Room was normal quite big hotel room. With nice bathroom and tube. Internet connection worked very well from the room. Because it was highest floor 6, it was very easy go to the roof terrace and bar. Roof terrace was nice to take little sun and drinks. There is also little pool about 4x8m that enough to the morning and evening swim. Breakfast is Super!!! A lot of fresh fruits, bacon, breads, youghurts, cakes and so on. You can order omelet and there is also strawberries and wine! I recommend one dinner in hotel restaurant, fast, great service, great food. Summer offer was 28eur that dinner (starter, main, dessert) + drinks. My spouse also gor gluten free meal, mainly same than I. Also gluten free bread. Our costs with one bottle of wine about 70 euros.With location you have to choose, eg. would you like beach or centrum. This is almost middle of rambla. However peaceful and nice choose if you like middle of center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarkoandHeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I am a hotel guest....staying 5 nights and paying hefty price for the privelage. Im finding it VERY frustrating that for the first 2 nights here I cant get a drink on the rooftop because the place is so damned busy...with people i guess arent even hotel guests! 1 of the reasons i book the hotel is for this rooftop bar .... im now changing my hotel in future!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director de Recepción at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TA!

We take note of your comment and we kindly inform you that we do book some tables for guest of the Hotel.
Our terrace is open to the public, however, the guest in house are prior to us and this is why we book some space for them.

We are sorry to for any inconvenience we may caused during your stay. We will put all our efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is possibly one of the best hotels that I have EVER stayed in my entire life. The service was impeccable, the staff are welcoming and friendly, it has the best location and the hotel is simply beautiful. I would make this your first choice when going to Barcelona!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank loulee2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
881 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,112 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
2,066 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
731 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $213 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing