We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch - would highly recommend!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #26 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top Notch - would highly recommend!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Let's start with the negatives, which were few and far between. First thing of note is that the rooms do not come equipped with, nor does the hotel offer irons or ironing boards(they do offer a press service for a fee). So be prepared if you worry your clothes may get wrinkled in transit. Also, I felt as though I could hear any and everything going on outside my door in the hallway. Was never really loud or disruptive, but I could hear the going ons. Still minor issues that did not take away from my overall experience during my 6 days in the hotel.

The location is IDEAL for those looking to tour the city of Barcelona. Located on La Rambla, and near numerous metro stops, we couldn't ask to be in a better position. With that said, we were worried about street noise at night. We expressed this in our room request and were accommodated with a room facing the opposite direction, and we're NEVER disturbed by any of the commotion down on La Rambla. The hotel is also approximately a 5 minute from Pl. Catalunya the last stop for the Aerobus from the airport. We found this a very comfortable and cost efficient way to get to and from the city center.

We booked through the Hotel 1898 website and they immediately reached out to confirm, and discuss any issues. The staff was at all times professional, helpful and pleasant, both through email and in person. And you should note that everyone who we ever encountered at the front desk spoke perfect English, which we found very helpful.

I can not rave enough about the roof deck pool and bar. We were slightly disappointed in the beaches of Barcelona, and my wife and I do not know what we would have done without that roof pool. It offered AMAZING views of the city, and was extremely relaxing. And again at no point were we disturbed by street noise. We only ate up there once, and the menu did leave a little to be desired, but again such a small detail. Trust me, even if you choose not to stay at the hotel, make your way up to the roof one night for cocktails and light fare just to take in the view's.

So the pool up top is great for laying out and getting some sun, cocktails and terrific views of the city. Well the pool down in the spa is fantastic as well, especially after a day of walking the city. The heated pool and its jets were ideal after a long day taking in the sights. It's suppose to be for those over the age of 14, and trust me its annoying whenever(happened twice during our stay)someone brought kids in. When your trying to relax the last thing you need is a kid splashing and making noise. Typically I'd have no issues with this as pools should be fun, but this pool was not put in place for those type of activities. We also took advantage of the sauna and steam room located down in the spa. We did not spring for any of the massage packages as they were pretty pricey. But after a few long days in the city we did seriously consider giving in.

Lastly is the look and feel of the hotel. I loved the dim lighting, black and white photo's and comfy leather furniture throughout. Always had light music in the background and I swear that they pumped cologne(not overbearing in the least)into the building. Whenever you walked through the doors you were instantly removed from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets just outside. We stayed in a superior room, which by American standards is small, but two people with a weeks worth of luggage and we were more than comfortable. On first appearance the bed would not look all that comfy, but when I got back to the states I was missing my pillow from the hotel, it was that good. Rooms were always cleaned and they offered a turn down service each night.

If ever back in Barcelona I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else, and will recommend Hotel 1898 to any, and all going into the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,309
    891
    150
    55
    49
See reviews for
592
2,689
124
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. Perfectly located on Las Ramblas. Rooms were spacious and modern. Hotel has managed to retain its historic elegance in the lobby, while being quite modern elsewhere. We had the deluxe room, which was nice as it had extra space, a sofa and double sinks. The rooftop patio is excellent -- with a lovely view, nice drinks and good food. Breakfast buffet was very good although quite expensive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice. No need for a balcony as you can use the rooftop patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights following business meetings. I chose this hotel for its location and the roof top pool. I booked a superior room and was not disappointed. Checking was smooth and I was given a room on the 4th floor towards the Las Ramblas end of the hotel. The room was lovely, dark wood floor, a wonderful comfortable bed a good bathroom with lovely big fluffy towels. The turndown service was unexpected but welcome. The lobby area contained lovely comfortable, squashy sofas. The rooftop bar was a real treat, you could see across Barcelona in all directions, the seating was very comfortable and waiter service very good. My favourite part of the hotel was the sun deck and the pool - the pool was good to cool off in and the sun deck well furnished and towels provided. I ate breakfast in the bar on the corner of the hotel - luzia and would recommend it. I walked to Barceloneta beach - about 20 minutes away but well worth the effort. The staff were attentive and helpful. This hotel is well situated for Central Barcelona with many sights being within walking distance - no it's is not cheap but I believe it was worth every euro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Martens-Latem
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel and loved it all: the quality of the food, the variety of the breakfast, the atmosphere of the lounge, the swimming pool inside and outside, the temperature of the water, the location, the spa, ... Very recommendable place. Do not forget to save time to enjoy the hotel itself after having visited a very crowded city centre that flooded by tourists.

Room Tip: I guess that a view on the Ramblas would make the experience even more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent 2 nights before the cruise at Hotel 1898, the room was clean and average in size. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom large and nicely laid out. The only downside was our room was facing the side street and not La Rambla.
Everyone at the front desk was kind courteous and helpful during check-in/out, the rooftop garden restaurant was excellent, whether you were having breakfast in the morning or a nightcap before bed.
The location was perfect, walk out the door and you were in the centre of La Rambla, we love Barcelona and Hotel 1898 is one reason why.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on spec and were lucky enough to get a room for three nights. Everything was fantastic from start to finish. The room was beautiful, the bed the comfiest we've ever stayed in, the toiletries lovely and the location was perfect. The spa is a must after a long day sightseeing and the rooftop bar at night is fabulous. The food was the best we had all holiday. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Rooftop bar was nice for lying down tapas and/or night cap.
We stayed in a Superior room with a balcony overlooking La Rambla. Sound isolation was only partially effective, so the street noise woke us up a few times each night. Nice bathroom. Bed was wide but hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from La Rambla if noise is of concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andersmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 512 in Barcelona
4,412 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
860 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,164 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing