We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we listened!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #24 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So glad we listened!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Two of our friends highly recommended this hotel, but its location concerned us as some reviewers mentioned noise from La Rambla. Our friends (as did the hotel) assured us this was not a problem. The hotel itself was as gorgeous as everyone said. The room amenities and design were top notch as was the staff and the service. We also had a problem with the safe that was handled swiftly and graciously. The whole hotel was as quiet as any i have ever stayed in despite the busy location, which brings me to the best part. The location was fabulous. Right in the center of everything and walkable to everywhere. Desk recommended wonderful restaurants nearby, and the hotel was so close we could make frequent stops back there if we needed to. We spent 3 wonderful, quiet, nights at 1898. A gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,242
    877
    144
    54
    50
See reviews for
576
2,636
121
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woerden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A very pleasant stay, great reception and great beds...near to everything you need in barcelona...the rooms are very clean...the toproof pool and restaurant are great after a trip trough the city many thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

During my trip to Barcelona we were fortunate enough to stay at Hotel 1898 . Arriving at the hotel after my luggage was misplaced by the airline I wasn't in the best of spirits, the concierges and staff of 1898 quickly changed that. They were friendly,understanding and attentive. The design and ambiance of the hotel itself was gorgeous as was our room. Prompt rather immediate help was sent on an issue with the safe. The rooftop restaurant and lounge was great & so were the views! The only disappointment we had was the pool areas closing too early. I want to thank the staff of 1898 for making the luggage situation bearable and for their exquisite service!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frombostonwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Superb - outstanding accommodation and service.
We have stayed at Hotel 1898 many times and have never been disappointed.
In 2010, we were stranded under the Iceland volcano ash cloud and the hotel couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a family we enjoyed the location of Hotel 1898 as it was right on the Ramblas and allowed us safe and easy access to sites and shops in the area. Hotel 1898 is a beautiful hotel with glorious rooms, super comfy beds and a wonderful shower! Unfortunately we had to pay an additional 30Euros a night for a roll in bed and upgrade to a bigger room. Front desk staff were efficient, though not overly helpful or friendly (no smiles). We were never greeted with pleasantries as we left or arrived from our days out which was unfortunate. Rooftop pool difficult to access through the bar area, inside pool very nice, though restricted to age 14 and over.
Overall Hotel 1898 was a superb hotel with a hefty price tag. Best location!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamHowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen Op Zoom, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel directly at La Rambla. Inside the hotel it is nice and quiet. It is 4 minutes from Pl. Catalunya and 2 minutes from La Boqueria Market.
Me and my daughter had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Romy_vdN1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking your time and sharing with us your opinion about your experience with us on TA.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wow what a hotel, recommended by family, checked it out on tripadvisor and you were all correct.
This is A great hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful, rooms all you need, rooftop bar amazing. Situation perfect right in the centre of town, close to shops market and all tours.

Recommend it to everyone. Thank you 1898. Front desk staff FANTASTIC

Room Tip: We had the basic room, all we needed, no problem with noise, completely comfortable, we were out si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you choose us upon the family recommendation and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities, location and most of all about our Staff!

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am happy that they were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing