We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 1898
Nearby Hotels
$208
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$242
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$356
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$421
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,782)
Filter reviews
4,782 results
Traveler rating
3,563
942
162
61
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,563
942
162
61
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolla ramblabasement spatobacco companyclassic roomsuperior roomsauna and steam roomprivilege roompillow menutapasperfect locationside streetprivate terracestreet noisegothic quarterthe heart of the citysmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,857 - 1,862 of 4,782 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Barcelona. It is a great location and a classy hotel. It may be a bit more expensive than some of the other hotels but I feel it was well worth it. We had a corner room on the 6th floor with an amazing view of the city. The hotel has everything you need to relax after a long day of seeing the city. We did not eat at the hotel (as there are a lot of choices nearby), but we did go to the roof top to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are spacious, the higher up the better view of the city.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandBfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your really high review about our services and facilities!

We definitely would like to see you back so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stunning hotel. The pro's are perfect location right on the Ramblas, perfect rooms wich are perfect clean, very well maintained and decorated to perfection. The service overall is great and the breakfast and restaurant were superb. The con's are ; perfection has a price and no triple rooms available (not so good for families). I will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Jan-0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
First at all thank for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona and for taking time and share your good opinion about our hotel on TA!
We kindly inform you that the hotel when was opened it was focused more to a business profile, since with the reconstruction we could not force to much the interior spaces – we had to kept the external walls like they are since we are talking about a historical building, so usually when we accommodate families we are doing our best to provide the rooms door by door or door in front door or suggest to check to the main webpage from the chain, since we do have hotels more appropriate to families.
We definitely would like to see you back so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898. :)

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 1898 for one night before our cruise. The location, staff, room couldn't be more perfect. Staff was extremely helpful. Room was very spacious, especially by European standards. Beware of Barcelona taxi drivers! We were in a totally avoidable fender bender on our way back from Sagrada Familia. No serious injuries, fortunately. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
First at all we would like to say thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona and for your really high reviews shared about us on TA!
We are more than honored to hear that your stay prior to your cruise with us was marvelous so definitely we will be here waiting for you on your next stay and hope that it will be longer that just one day.
Look forward to see you again at the H1898.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel 1898 is a real find. It is a perfect hotel in the best possible location in one of the world's most interesting and exciting cities. The only problem with this hotel is it is very seductive and alluring; you may want to stay inside rather than explore the many wonders of Barcelona.

But for that, it is perfectly situated, close to all the Gaudi stuff, the harbor, in the middle of the Old Town and right on top of about eighty percent of Barcelona's top attractions.

I could write a long review just based on the rooftop pool and restaurant bar. Wow. What a view. Great menu and great service. Heated pool. You may find it hard to leave. The same is true with the lobby bar, situated in the beautiful modern cherry wood interior, with great service, great tapas, and a great atmosphere. The spa is out of this world, with an excellent exercise room, great spa services, very neat pool, and (This is the kicker.) a sauna and steam room. If you go there, you may also never want to leave. The same can be said for the room, beautiful, comfortable, well appointed, light and airy. (My only suggestion is that they make the lights independently operated, rather than on several packages.)

There is no no better place from which to see Barcelona. There is no better place at which you can luxuriate while you are not seeing Barcelona.

Room Tip: Be sure to request an outside room, on the street, and not on the courtyard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so impressive about your fantastic review about us that maybe saying that it would not be enough, but we definitely are so glad that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant!
Thank you so much for taking time and sharing your impression on TA: opinion like yours makes us so happy and encourage as well on keeping improving in order to make satisfy all our guest’s expectations.
We definitely would like to see you back and welcoming you again, so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the privilege room that was superbly clean, with the parquet flooring winking brightly at us.....and being treated with a view of Sagrada familia. Not to mention, the generous and excellent coffee and tea facilities!

Plaza catalunya is just a 3 mins walk from the hotel. Carrefour, McDonald's, burger king, Zara are on the left and Starbucks is just next door (to the right). The cab fare to Sagrada familia cost less than €7!!

We felt safe staying in this hotel as the streets around it are busy and bustling with life. Coming from Singapore, my sis and I are not bothered at all with all the noises which some reviewers have commented on.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Thor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We are happy to hear that you experience at the H1898 was beautiful and you could feel good and safe during your holidays in Barcelona.
As mentioned by yourself we are located right on Las Ramblas which is basically the most popular street in the whole city and everything could be reached walking or in a short taxi’s ride.
Thank you again for taking your time to share your opinion and hope to have you back soon!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews