We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

we had an amazing stay, totally worth the higher rate!
the breakfast was the best one we've ever had, just the right options and perfect quality
the rooms were spacious, very tasteful with beds you absolutely adore and do not want to wake up!
the spa was atmospheric, although the serenity was ruined a bit by the guests and from allowing small children to use the pool
service at the reception was perfect, although there was some misunderstanding with the breakfast charged
very conveninently located
overall an extremely satisfying stay!
definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities and our Staff!

All our guest opinion are important for us and when we are reading that they had a amazing stay at the H1898 it make us happy and encourage to improve in a better service every day.

Thank you for recommend us and we hope to have you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,274
    885
    146
    54
    49
See reviews for
585
2,660
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just stayed for two nights at the end of September and would really recommend staying here! The hotel was spotless and the service was equally of a high standard with efficient check in and out! When asked any questions the staff were more than helpful! The hotel had wooden floors throughout and had huge seating/lounging areas!
The rooms were spotless,we were a corner room, so a bit darker room 301 so would request a non corner room! Also there is a slight rumble from the metro so floor 4/5 would be great! However we had big fluffy towels and dressing gowns and ample products! The facilities really set this hotel apart though, the divine pool on the roof where you can also have al fresco meals and the amazing spa area on the third floor with vaulted swimming pool with sauna and steam
room just amazing !the position of the hotel is perfect right in the hub of the city! Finally the breakfast was outstanding with everything you could wish for and more and again the service excellent! All in all please stay here I really don't think you will be disappointed !

Room Tip: Ask for a non corner room,and level 4-5,also facing the rear is probably quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snootyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 was wonderful and thank you so much for your really high reviews about us and about our job!

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and hopefully see you again in the next future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Perfectly located right in the middle of Ramblas, this is an amazing hotel. The roof terrace is to die for with a pool for lazying around during the day and funky lounge beds and sofa's for lounging on around the panoramic terrace for evening drinks. I'm sure that they "pipe" warm air in the evenings to keep you warm and cool air during the day, it's a mesmorizing place to while away a few hours with a few drinks and friends. The rest of the hotel is pretty much perfect as well, as all the other reviews suggest. If it was half the price you'd say i was a complete steal, but as it is you get what you pay for, total quality in a pefect location.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room with a decent view, all are double glazed and no issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the H1898 and especially on our roof top terrace.

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high opinion with us.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you again in a next future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a beautiful, stylish hotel. The front desk service was excellent and the room was very stylish and modern. Room service was prompt and the food I ordered was great (tip for Americans though: if you order sausage for breakfast, you will get those Vienna sausages, not what we're used to in the U.S.). In fact, the fries were some if the best I had.

My only frustration with the room was the noise level. It isn't really the hotel's fault, as it is located on La Rambla, one of the liveliest parts of Barcelona. But the noise from the street below went on til 4 in the morning - and my room was on a side street, not across from La Rambla.

As long as you don't mind the noise, this is a terrific choice for Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room possible (if one exists)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viki41
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views of the city. Extremely polite and friendly/welcoming staff. A pool and bar area fit for a celebrity and reasonably ish priced drinks. An oasis in a bustling centre. An awesome little find

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in the summer. It was a beautiful hotel with some of the best staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We wanted to go to see a flamenco show, but we didn't want a touristy one so they recommended a more authentic one for us and we could't have been more pleased. It was a fantastic experience. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to stay. This hotel is close to everything, we walked everywhere!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, even though it's right in the middle of the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and it was wonderful! We received an upgrade for our room and even received a welcome bottle of champagne. The hotel has a spa, rooftop bar, and pool. The location was perfect....right on las ramblas! It's not nosy as some people may say about las ramblas, unless you live on a farm. It is definitely one of the more expensive hotels but you only have a honeymoon once so it was well worth it! Can't stay in hostels forever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snknight10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,385 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
850 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,114 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing