We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 1898
Nearby Hotels
$208
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$242
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$356
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$421
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,782)
Filter reviews
4,782 results
Traveler rating
3,563
942
162
61
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,563
942
162
61
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolla ramblabasement spatobacco companyclassic roomsuperior roomsauna and steam roomprivilege roompillow menutapasperfect locationside streetprivate terracestreet noisegothic quarterthe heart of the citysmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,908 - 1,913 of 4,782 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and it was wonderful! We received an upgrade for our room and even received a welcome bottle of champagne. The hotel has a spa, rooftop bar, and pool. The location was perfect....right on las ramblas! It's not nosy as some people may say about las ramblas, unless you live on a farm. It is definitely one of the more expensive hotels but you only have a honeymoon once so it was well worth it! Can't stay in hostels forever.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snknight10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip to Barcelona. We thoroughly enjoyed the rooftop terrace and pool, and thought that the Spa was really lovely.

The rooms are small but this is usual for European standards, however the bathroom was really quite spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy06Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel 1989 is located at La Rambla, the most touristy street in Barcelona.

If you want luxury, this is the hotel to stay at.
The rooftop is amazing, it was soo good we spent way too much time there instead of exploring more of Barcelona:) But you get 360 degrees view of Barcelona from the roof top (if that counts). There is always a swimming pool on the roof!
The food is amazing at the hotel, AMAZING!
Rooms are beautiful, beds are huge!
Service is exceptional.

We were really happy there!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont stay in the room above kitchen, they work late and start super early. We had to switch rooms when we realized we were about kitchen.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YumsterLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your really high reviews about our facilities, services and Staff!

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 was wonderful especially on our roof top terrace.

Looking forward to having you back at the H1898!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is the most stylish I have visited, the decor and ambience is perfect after the hustle and bustle of the streets of Barcelona. Once back to the hotel its hard to believe you are still in the city, the location is perfect. The rooftop pool is a great place to relax , few beds but we could always get one, fresh towels and good bar staff. On an evening the roopftop is a chill out bar which overlooks Barcelona lit up- the perfect end to a busy day. Overall I couldn't fault this hotel and would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator I would not advise this if at all possible as could hear noise although am sure this applies to any hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleW475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about us!

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the H1898.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a perfect location. Most of all; the staff and the atmosphere are perfect. We have travelled a lot, this is the hotel we allways want to come back to.
The terrace on the roof is a perfect place to relaxe, with the pool, sunbeds, lovely daybeds and something good to drink and eat.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the best rooms with a lovely terrace, we have stayed here several times and will be coming back to stay in one of these very nice rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant!
We take the chance to thank you for coming back again, your very high reviews about our services, facilities and most at all our staff!
We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews