We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way! My room was spacious and meticulously clean (and cleaned that way each day). It was furnished comfortably and beautifully. The bed was wonderful and I slept like a baby all three nights. They even have a pillow menu. I had room 404 which faced the side street but had a limited view of Las Rambles from the small but adequate balcony.

The room was soundproof so I was not disturbed at all by street noise. The bathroom was spacious and very modern, complete with bidet and towel warmer as well as rain shower head and hand held shower. Toiletries were fragrant, rich and well supplied. Wash clothes are provided which is not common in Europe.

There is a rooftop pool and an indoor pool in the spa area. The pictures of the spa pool are accurate (the spa area is absolutely incredible) and this pool has all the whirlpool jets and message nozzles you could want. There is a small but well appointed gym, sauna and steam rooms and spa treatments are available. The rooftop bar and pool areas are fantastic with incredible views of Barcelona.

The air conditioning works reliably as does the rest of the hotels mechanicals. The staff is friendly, gracious and helpful. I did not eat here so I can't comment on the food. The drinks at the bar were pricey, but being on such a great rooftop more than compensates.

The lobby area is beautiful as well and also has a bar. There is a lobby lounge area with fireplace and TV showing old black and white movies. Very charming and comfortable.

Check-in and check-out were seamless and all accounting was accurate. I spent much more time in this hotel than I did roaming around the lovely city of Barcelona because it was such a relaxing and wonderful place to be. I very highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again when in Barcelona.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are modern, spacious and immaculately clean. Chose a room based on whether you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsAisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,157
    857
    143
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
2,571
116
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not a fan of Barcelona in general, however this hotels is a bit of class.
Situated on La Rambla. Lovely sub terrainian pool where you can relax from the hustle and bustle of the city. You feel a million miles away from the pick pockets and prostitutes of the main strip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank covlad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week and I can honestly say this hotel in one of the very best we have ever visited. The building is stunning and luxurious. We had a privilege room on the third floor which was huge and very well appointed. We could hear absolutely no noise from the street whatsoever. The only noise we heard was the chiming of the church clock next door which was pretty loud but only from 8am to about 9pm. We could not fault the service at all. The staff were excellent in every area; friendly, polite, helpful and efficient. The location was fantastic right in the heart of the city. With everything you need right on your doorstep, but the hotel being a calm oasis as soon as you walked in the door. The breakfast was expensive but extensive and excellent quality.
The rooftop bar and pool were outstanding although difficult to grab a lounger in the pool area due to locals and people from other hotels sneaking in and grabbing them to use the facilities.The staff did try to weed them out and explain they weren't allowed, but they fight a bit of a losing battle as the deck is so popular. This was the only slight issue we found in an otherwise perfect stay. We would not hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 1898 for 5 nights in May 2013. The location on La Rambla is great, and the rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. The rooftop pool and bar are the reason to stay here. There are amazing views of Barcelona from the rooftop; it was a little retreat in the middle of the city. The hotel was in walking distance of lots of great restaurants, sights, and shops. We had a great stay here.

Room Tip: The bed was very comfortable; however, rooms on La Rambla tend to be a bit noisy from the traffic an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaC_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is well situated on Las Ramblas close to most things. It was peaceful and felt almost like an oasis of calm. The room, although not large, was well appointed and smart. We had some plumbing issues (bath/shower not draining) but they were fixed without issue. Also, being on the top floor underneath the roof top pool and bar, we could occasionally hear the drinks trolley being wheeled around although this did not keep us awake. There are good views from the roof-top swimming pool and bar area, although there was some noise from the hotel air conditioning and kitchen extraction flues. The breakfast buffet was good and extensive. We also had an evening meal in the hotel which was delicious. As it was the night of the holiday of St Joan we were given a complementary celebratory cake. The restaurant deserves to be busier. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

+ The rooftop bar/pool was amazing, so stylish and beautiful. The passionfruit mojito was delicious and spider crab ravioli. The location on La Rambla was great. The indoor pool was fun and the sauna. My room was modern and quite large with a nice view to a garden. Very good turndown service. The bar staff were very nice.

- The lobby was very dark and gloomy which is strange for such a light and dynamic city. It strangely didn't have much atmosphere except for the rooftop. The English guy who checked me in was a little rude and didn't explain anything about the hotel. I didn't have breakfast as it was too expensive. There is a breakfast tapas place right beside the hotel on Fortuny Street which is much cheaper. My room was right near the elevator so I could hear people constantly walking around and the cleaners were very noisy, the door could be more soundproof!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avaritia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

If your budget can stretch to a Superior or Privilegio room, then Hotel 1898 is an absolute must. A beautifully designed, calm and elegant interior, and the perfect air-cooled retreat from the happy chaos of the Rambla. Perfect for ventures out to the nearby food market (seafood, fruit, cured ham, artisan bread), to the Plaza Real for drinks or supper, and only 30m away from Carrefour, to buy breakfast, - as the hotel version, although beautifully-presented, is eye-watering at 25 Euros pp, for a family of 5. Additionally, it's key to note the hotel's policy of no rooms for 3, which increased our overall cost. But even so, which is still quite telling, there's nowhere else so good in Barcelona. A chilli and coconut mojito at the rooftop bar, with 360 degree view if the city: just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artista802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing