We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous - loved it!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #31 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in June 2013. The hotel is easy to get to from either of two metro stops on the green line and made getting here from the Barcelona-Sants easy. The hotel is gorgeous on the inside and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone we spoke with knew English and appreciated our attempt at Spanish :) The room was gorgeous too -- best bathroom I think I have ever seen in a hotel anywhere! The room itself was a little small for all of the furniture in the room (probably could have done without the extra chair and small table) but we had a queen sized bed room -- bed was extremely comfortable. Our room was on the backside of the hotel over an alley with 3 restaurants. We were on the 3rd floor but it was noisy at night... but we kind of expected that being on Las Ramblas and in the middle of it all (Monday night was actually the loudest of the nights we were there -- including Saturday and Sunday). The rooftop pool and bar/dining area is gorgeous - you have a 360 view of the city and at sundown, it's just beautiful. Drinks are a little expensive compared to the cheap cervesa you get everywhere else but no more than most nicer restaurants. Overall, I think it's the nicest hotel I have stayed in anywhere but you do pay for the niceness. Saturday was the most expensive night and got cheaper the other nights. Easy walking distance to all major tourist spots - no need for a car if you buy a multi-day pass for the trains. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,969 - 1,975 of 4,659 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

we stayed there in june 2013
the location is great the hotel is very clean and the room we have was fabulas we did have a suit with a pool it was amazing .
the breakfast was fabulas the roof top was the best place to eat in the mornings .

Room Tip: a suit with a pool amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crop1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 1898 for 5 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday. The hotel is immaculately clean but could do with toning down the incense/room fragrance in the lobby/reception/bar area - quite overpowering at times!
We stayed in a superior room on the second floor, our room had a kingsize bed, beautiful bathroom with bath and shower. We also had a small balcony which overlooked Pintor Fortuny but we could see and hear the Ramblas, although the noise did not bother us and we slept soundly every night. Our room was cleaned every day without fail, new clean towels everyday and pretty sure the bed linen got changed every day too! The room was even tidied up again at the turn down service!
The spa was lovely and we had a dip in the pool every afternoon/early evening before going out for dinner. The rooftop terrace was stunning and the views amazing but the prices were a little ott! I know your paying for the view as well but seriouly7 euro for not even a full half pint of beer was a little excessive!
The reception staff were always friendly and helpful and the chambermaids were always polite and said hello.
We did not eat at the hotel but the breakfast buffet looked and sounded lovely - maybe next time.

Room Tip: Superior room was perfect size for couples, however, if you are a light sleeper then you would proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were fortunate to chose Hotel 1898 Pre Cruise from Barcelona. I rarely write reviews but had to take a moment to comment on just how wonderful this hotel is. Extremely tired after a 9 hour flight I emailed the hotel on the train from Madrid with a couple of questions about distance from train station. They answered immediately and knowing we were tired had our room ready upon arrival. I never mentioned that we were celebrating our 20th anniversary so I was surprised to find an upgrade to a deluxe room. I highly recommend paying for these rooms with beautiful terraces. We enjoyed dinner our last night on the terrace and it was a very special memory. The Roof Top Bar and Restaurant was also a highlight. The view is spectacular and the Chili Mojito even better! You can't ask for a more attentive staff or a better location. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms have a beautiful terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PairADice777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love this hotel. Every now and again a hotel does exactly what you want it to. A rare gem. Perfect location for the centre of Barcelona. Immaculate condition and high quality furnishings inside. Spa is excellent. And on the seventh floor is a lovely pool and bar. OK not the largest swimming pool in the world but you can swim in it which you can't say for any others. Gorgeous views of Barcelona whilst you have one of their speciality roof top breakfasts. All in all one of my favourite hotels anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: I paid a bit extra for one of the executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in this hotel last week, it was a suprise arranged by my husband. I loved both Barcelona & Hotel 1898 & would highly recommend both. The rooms are lovely, very clean, attractive & comfortable. The bathroom is super too, well stocked with quality products, clean & modern. Lovely bath & nice strong shower. Bathrobes & slippers are supplied for your use. Our room had a large private terrace with table, chairs & a super comfy lounger which was more like a single bed! Facilities to make drinks are there for your use & bottled water & a newspaper supplied foc.
We made good use of the wonderful roof terrace & pool. We enjoyed drinks up there through out the day & evenings. Didn't try the food but it looked very good & was beautifully presented.
The staff all seemed very nice, friendly & helpful at all time. Happy to recommend restaurants, bars etc.
The hotel is ideally placed with many interesting places & eateries within walking distance.
Barcelona is lovely, much to do & see but a word of warning, pick pockets abound in the area, take extra care with your belongings when out & about. Also theives use a scam where a motorcyclist will slash your car tyres then signal to the car driver to stop, get everyone out of the car & cause a distraction whilst an accomplice sneaks in to the car robbing you of bags, phones etc. this happened to friends of ours - please take care.
All in all really loved both Barcelona & Hotel 1898, would recommend them
both & would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our third stay in this lovely hotel, and we would not think of staying anywhere else in Barcelona. The location is excellent, even for those of us who are not terribly fond of the Ramblas. We were assigned a room right over the Bar Lobo, and it was very noisy on a Sunday afternoon. There was no problem moving to another room, and we had no noise problems. We did enjoy both a lunch and dinner at Bar Lobo, though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 517 in Barcelona
2,178 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 517 in Barcelona
2,350 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 517 in Barcelona
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 517 in Barcelona
958 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 517 in Barcelona
907 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $147 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing