We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel and great location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #24 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and great location”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our stay was for three nights, the hotel was very clean and lovely decor. The theme ran through the hotel, with wooden floors and tranquil atmoshere. The room are lovely with every bit of kit you require, including a free safe in the room. Bath robes with the hotel logo on were a great touch. You were abe to pop your robe on and go to the spar, and pool/ gym area including steam room and sauna.

The location was near to the Rambla, so loads of restaurants to choose from, the one we went to was next door to the hotel called Luzia . The girls in there were very helpful, and gorgeous.
The other advatage is the metro is only a short walking distance. This is a must as you can get so many days pass to travel the city. Its funny at first but you soon get used to it. Its a must as you can travel the city easy.

The only down side was the tax they pay at the end of your stay, they charge 1.10 Euro for each pearson to say in Barcelona. This cost use for two people to stay for three nights 7.26 Euro. We dont do this in our country, as the price would be in the charge of the hotel. That was the only naughty side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,242
    877
    144
    54
    50
See reviews for
576
2,636
121
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in February. The hotel staff was extremely professional and efficient.While we were on a couple holiday, the hotel is great for both business travelers and holiday makers. I selected this hotel based on it's location and it was perfect with everything within walking distance. The rooms were fantastic and the view from the roof top fabulous. The hotel menu seemed a bit limited so we never ate here but there are plenty of restaurants around and really liked Bar Lobo which is in the same building as the Hotel. Will definitely be staying here again when visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was a special birthday for my wife. We wanted a hotel which was centrally located, medium sized, at the high end of the quality scale and had style. H1898 met these criteria admirably. Unfortunately such birthdays don't come around too often!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paynedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent my last night in Barcelona here after getting off my cruise ship. Hotel 1898 has amazing service,, beautiful rooms, is walking distance to everything, has an AMAZING roof top with bar & pool and the Spa... it is heavenly!!!! I could of laid in the warmed pool chair all night.

You get what you pay for... this hotel is a little pricey but worth every dime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shareen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times, and the service has always been great, best of all consistent! It is a beautifully designed, well run, comfortable and perfectly located hotel. My only comment would be that the breakfast is delicious with loads of choice, but the dinner was a bit boring. Not that the food was bad, but frankly there are better places to eat. one of which is right next door (Bar lobo - see Groupo Tragaluz for some amazing places to eat in Barcelona). It is on Las Ramblas and literally right next to the main square and loads of shops. two mins walk to the tube station and easy to get around. Also i quite liked being able to walk down little streets and explore things knowing that 1. it was easy to walk back to the hotel being central 2. every taxi knows las ramblas, meaning you never lose your hotel!. I would really recommend this place to stay. best in the summer because it has a roof top pool and bar. (which is a closed in the winter).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Second time I visit Hotel 1898 and I just love this place ! Not only the hotel is a gem but also the service is awesome: fruits/ champagne offered for my birthday, extra attention to cleanliness of the room due to dust allergies.

Great staff which is at the same time very supportive and discreet. There's no need to hesitate. Just book it ! You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Book a superior room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PARIS-AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Second time we're staying here. Brilliant service, recognized us upon arrival where our last stay was slightly over a year ago. Rooms perfect, pool perfect, location great within walking distance of all downtown attractions. It makes the regular 5 star hotels look like ikea: they all look and feel the same, this one is different.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing