We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is modern, great staff, but the location is the best. Just off La Rambla but within walking distance to the waterfront and shops, it has the most lovely pool area - roof top bar and tapas area with great views over the city. The rooms are lovely and the rate compared to a lot of other hotels is very reasonable. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if we come back again, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelqueen0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,550)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1898
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,023 - 2,029 of 4,550 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location on the Ramblas and beautiful old buidling with a lovely ambience. However rooms slightly small and dark - although very comfy bed. Did feel it was slightly overpriced.
Fabulous roof top terrace with great views - lovely place both to sunbathe and have cocktails in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel, small enough to be personal and big enough to have all the amenities, is situated in a strategic side road 50 yards from the main La Rambla. The rooms were nicely appointed and the service quiet, discreet but good. We were in a group of 17 and the staff spared no effort to accommodate our diverse wishes. The rooms are quiet and one can really cut out the light with three sets of curtains (good for sleeping at the wrong time of the day if you're jet lagged). As a seasoned traveller who stays in hotels about half the year, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If your well off enough take a suite. They have their own deck and plunge pools, a feature I've...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captain1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January 2013. We had booked a courtyard room but on arrival we asked if we could have a room with a view. We were upgraded to a nice room with a view over the mountains. Nice room and a large bathroom with both a bath tub and a separate tiled shower. Thick bathrobes and plenty of amenities.
Location is perfect with La Rambla just outside and close to the Bouqeria with all the fresh food stands..
Nice buffet breakfast.
Our last day it rained in the afternoon so we used the heated ouside pool on the open roof terrace with view over Barcelona. Hot pool with falling rain. Very nice.
And how can you not like a hotel with such a pool on the roof and a hotel showing old Buster Keaton silent movies in the lobby!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tjosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel has everything.in center.Most of places are just in walking distance.Breakfast was just perfect!Room was so clean and enough big!Specially after long walk coming hotel and going to top floor for pool was just perfect!i can recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my third time in Barcelona but my first at 1898 Hotel. We stayed three nights coming from a two weeks trip from Italy and the feeling was that we felt at home! Perfect location within the best tourist area but not a classic tourist trap hotel. Its very modern hotel with a nice bar great sevice at the front desk and a great surprise was the wonderful rooftop bar!
Spacious room and beautiful bathrooms. Just a block to Plaza Cataluna anda few step across the Barrio Gotico.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Right from the time we walked into the foyer it just kept getting better. We had been travelling for 5 weeks and had already stayed at a number of hotels and apartments. This was by far the stand out, for both this trip and those in the past. Our 8 bags were quickly delivered to our rooms, both modern, fantastic decor. We had the bigger room with balcony and view out onto the street. Bathrooms fantastic, beds comfortable and overall feel just perfect. We were in winter but the heated roof pool still fun, and the basement heated indoor pool and spa were a delight. Teenage kids loved the whole feel of the hotel. Free Internet, great in house restaurant and bar. Close to all other sites, shops and restaurants. Upper end of pricing, but ultimately probably the best hotel we have stayed in, to quote my wife.

Room Tip: For summer, the outer rooms on level 5 have outdoor settings to sit outside and enjoy the weather.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timprice_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
882 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
2,070 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
732 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $213 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing