We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend, wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A friend and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Barcelona staying at the 1898, we know the hotel and personally chose it as it is a favourite. It is in a brilliant location right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of the ramblas and Plaza Catalunya. The spa is great for a quick respite in the afternoon after walking around the city. The room was lovely, the only criticism I would have was that there was not enough drawers for clothes (one very small drawer) however that was a minor thing in what was just a lovely hotel. The rooftop pool and bar looked beautiful, although it was shut as we went out of season. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were added touches like turning down service with chocolates and strawberries served with the room service champagne, a pillow menu so you can choose which pillow you would like to sleep on that just made it that extra bit special. I would recommend and certainly go back...best hotel in Barcelona taking everything into consideration.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGrindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,161 - 2,167 of 4,692 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Perfect. Beautiful furnishings. Good size room. Great bar. Friendly staff. Amazing location. Great roof terrace with pool.

One of the nicest city centre hotels we've ever stayed at.

Don't bother paying for breakfast as you have 100 cafes within 5 minute walk.

Just book it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Enjoyed staying in this hotel. Location is tops. They had very tastefully refurbished it. Rooms are comfortable and nice with a spacious and functional bathroom. Free internet. Breakfast buffet is very good. Staff was very polite, helpful and patient in giving information, and when you asked for something it was delivered very quickly. Only problem was the architectural defects: 1) All lights in the room are on and off at the same time; no individual controls 2) not enough light in some parts of the room 3) heat control was put in closet!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomruk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

we have just come back from a weekend trip in barcelona where we had the fortunate experience of staying at h1898. if I could summarise my stay in one word it would be SUBLIME.
I have had the pleasure of staying in some of the best 5star hotels in the world but never have I come across a more friendlier and helpful staff from the reception to room service.As soon as we checked in a lovely bowl of fresh fruit arrived with a personal note wishing us a pleasent stay as my wife had indicated to them that it was my 50th birthday.The room was lovely fresh and very contemporary. We were having a tough time trying to book a table in a local restaraunt but the receptionist Lara was simply amazing ....sorted us out for a lovely indian meal when we had almost given up...thanks Lara
I simply cannot say enough for this hotel it is centrally located ,beautifully and thoughtfully designed ,the staff was extremely polite and helpful , its very rare to find all the combinations .This hotel is a jewel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepak k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A classy contemporary hotel right on the hustle and bustle of La Rambla and perfectly situated for all the sight seeing and shopping you could want.
La Boceria market a few steps away with the most enticing fresh food ever and great tapas and sangria bars in the vicinity.
Great pool upstairs and fantastic views, would be a great place to sundown in summer I am sure.
the bedroom is large with tasteful decoration and blockout curtains, real wooden floors and high thread count sheets with really comfortable matresses and quiet AC. Tea and coffee facilities with kettle and bar fridge.
did not partake in breakfast- great small restaurants around for morning coffee and donut and Carrefour supermarket around the corner for any other needs.
the front desk staff all very helpful and polite, and willing with providing advice and recommending palces to eat or visit.
Tip: ask for rooms off La Ramblas to reduce noise impact, although I still hear the trucks and late night revellers.

Room Tip: we stayed on 4th floor room 429 away from the main drag and overlooking a fairly quiet side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank econokal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although rated 4 star- this is a 5 star hotel in every way.Reception could not be friendlier or more cooperative!
Beautiful , clean and attractive, good sized room, lovely view.. my room had a small balcony
over looking Las Ramblas..but extremely quiet considering all the activities outside my
window. Had dinner on the second floor dining room and it was quite good.. a little pricey,but worth it.
Free computer center also on second floor with four large screen desk top computers 2 of which were Apple. Only stayed two days because was picking up a cruise, but would love to come back and spend more time in the Beautiful city and most definitely stay at H1898 for sure!
Michael
NYC

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredandginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Reception staff not very friendly in marked contrast to our last stay here. A real disappointment when you have travelled a long way. We were not shown our room at all-just given the key. The turn down service was haphazard and differed on the two nights. It is an ideal location. We had a cheaper room this time. It was still very nice and had a wonderful shower. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlomaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#108 of 518 in Barcelona
3,463 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 518 in Barcelona
912 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 518 in Barcelona
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 518 in Barcelona
1,979 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#110 of 518 in Barcelona
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $158 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing