We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #26 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were more than pleasantly surprised by just how good this hotel was.

The reception staff were friendly and very helpful (we ended up with both an early check-in and late check-out). The general decor is very impressive, though perhaps a little gloomy. The rooms (we were in 423) are a good size, comfortable, squeaky clean - the bathroom is more than adequate and stunningly finished in green marble.

A couple of "niggles" though - at times there seemed to be a lot of people all wanting attention at reception (more staff needed there perhaps?) and I'm not sure what was the point of employing porters. They ignored my wife and I as we struggled with our bags; subsequently I noted it wasn't just us and they simply stood around not helping anyone!

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,106 - 2,112 of 4,595 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona and we really enjoyed our stay at H1898. The location is ideal, within walking distance of sights, restaurants, and shops. Public transportation also easily accessible.
The property is newly refinished and public areas are fantastic, especially the roof terrace and basement spa. Both pools are open year-round! Our room was comfortable but not exceptional.
Previous reviewers are correct in that soundproofing leaves something to be desired. You can hear everything in the hall from your room and everything in rooms from the hall. A pair of earplugs will improve your sleep quality here. And since the subway is nearby, you will feel rumbling as it goes by. Some usual room amenities are oddly missing: washcloths, kleenex, and pens. None are essential, but you never need them until they aren't there!
All in, I recommend it for the excellent location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: A room on the courtyard side of the hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubergirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for a weekend, room small but nice, however amazing large roof terrace great for daytime lounging and night time cocktails! Had great champagne breakfast on terrace on Sunday morning.

Amazing spa in basement of hotel and decent sized pool on roof - will stay again!

Perfect location can walk to just about anywhere in the city!

Room Tip: Perfect can walk everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of beautiful Barcelona.... My friend found it. Near amazing places to eat, close to the airport, and harbor. Fab galleries, buildings, shops and lots to do and see all with in walking distances.
The hotel was beautiful, service was the best I've received in a very long time.

Shall be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAGordon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Exceptionally clean - I have never seen so many people dusting/sweeping/polishing all day long.
As already said, the location is second to none.
The roof terrace is luxurious. The heated outdoor pool is open all year round although the bar has now closed for the winter. Not sure it is the best place for families with young children as they don't have family rooms/extra beds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Referred to by TA, H 1898 exceeded all expectations. This being our first visit to Barcelona, we first appreciated its excellent location on the Rambla. The Palau Guell (a must see), the Mercat de la Boqueria, and the Cathedral are only a few blocks away, should you arrive too early for check in. Actually for us we were pleasantly surprised to be shown to our room, which was upgraded, at 10am (November has its advantages), having just arrived on the Seabourn Legend. From one luxurious experience to another. The room was beautiful, well appointed, and the beds immaculate with the finest of linens. After day touring, we spent a relaxed hour with drinks in the setting sun atop the hotel on their roof terrace/ swimming area. We finished the day with an excellent, reasonably priced dinner in their dining room after 8pm (this is Spain). Note: the Hotel's bartenders in the comfortable lobby bar are masters at their trade; real professionals.
The H 1898 staff, front desk, bellman, and concierge (received a written confirmation of our second night dinner reservation at Restaurant En Ville) are friendly and looking to please.
Beautiful hotel; memorable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at 1898 in August 2011. Great location, just on The Ramblas. Rooms luxurious, lovely bedding, nice bathrooms. The rooftop terrace and pool is fabulous, great cocktails. Good service. Tips, take the bus tours around the city - you get to see everything and also enjoy the many tapas bars just off the main Ramblas strip. Service good as well. Breakfast buffet was great - we ate out the rest of the time.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the side with balconies - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte_w941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
925 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $212 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing