We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Look no further...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #22 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Look no further...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on three occasions and it provides everything for a trip to Barcelona.

It is ideally situated for the city and all communication networks.

The hotel is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of La Rambla when some down time is needed.
It has a fitness suite and pool as well. The roof is superb and the staff are very helpful.

Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

That is why you need look no further...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us again and again; we are so glad to hear that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant!

We would be more than honored to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,035
    829
    140
    50
    47
See reviews for
544
2,475
113
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

There is really nothing more to add to all the very postive comments. The location couldn't be more perfect; spend half an hour choosing your choice of fruit juice and breakfast from the amazing array in the market, grab a Starbucks from next door and nip straight into the station to start sightseeing; have a fab dinner in Bar Lobo downstairs behind the hotel, then go up to the rooftop bar to take in the incredible views and the best Mojitos I've ever tasted. Then collapse in the crisp white linen bedsheets. We had an unforgettable stay and couldn't recommend any higher. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumsgoingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 goes beyond and expectative!
As you mentioned yourself the hotel is very well located and offers different services to create the right atmosphere to relax and enjoy the city ( we are right on las Ramblas) from a different perspective - just like having an amazing Mojitos or a swim at the roof terrace swimming pool!

Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us and hopefully have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Super friendly staff, great location (Right on Las Ramblas), amazing facilities.
The spa in the basement is perfect for relaxing before and/or after a long day of walking around and exploring.
Train station 2 blocks away from the front door, right across the street from an amazing daily market where we could've easily eaten every meal of the 3 days we were there.
Room's have wifi, large wall mounted flat screen tv's and electric teapots along with all the amenities in the bathroom one would expect from a high class hotel, shoe polish kits, toothbrush kits, along with the standard hair supplies.
I would avoid eating on most of the places on Las Ramblas unless it looks heavily frequented by locals and/or has a wait, but by walking 10-15 in either direction from Las Ramblas you can get a little further off the beaten path and find something delicious very easily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high reviews regarding our hotel’s services, facilities and especially about our Staff!

We are deligheted to know that your experience out hotel was marvellos and that you could enjoy Barcelona!

Looking forward to having you back and welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our second stay at the 1898. I love quiet dark sleeping rooms. Both the roof top pool and bar are a great place to hang out and watch the sun go down! We also swam in the pool in the spa (which is below the ground level. Very nice. Starbucks is right next store as is my favorite tapas place Bar Lobo. Take the 6 euro bus from the airport to within two blocks of the hotel. It doesn't get much better than this! I do agree with a previous reviewer. The restaurants associated with the hotel are not that great! But you are In La Ramblas area! Just a few doors down is the famed Boqueria market! Can't wait to stay here again next year!

Room Tip: all rooms have been great when we stayed there. if you have a chance, splurge on the suite! Quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeline2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and thank you for choosing us again as your next stay in Barcelona!

Thank you for your feedback about our Restaurant – any opportunity for improvement through this kind of sincere and constructive feedback is gladly welcome.

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at H1898 in November 2012 on our honeymoon for four nights.

We chose to stay in one of the junior suites on the sixth floor - a generous open plan room with a separate lounge area, widescreen TV in front of the bed (not in the lounge?), toilet and bathroom with another toilet, shower and bath again separately and an extremely comfortable four poster bed. The room was extremely luxurious. The towels were as thick as duvets, the coffee was a machine and not a kettle, slippers and robes and all of the trimmings that you might expect.

On our arrival at the Hotel we didn't feel that we received a five star welcome. There was no offer to help with our bags, we were not asked about our journey or even told where the lifts were to find our room. This might sound minor, it is, but for a five star honeymoon we expected more.

The Hotel itself is immaculate. The Spa in the basement is warm and extremely relaxing, though small. There is a small hotel gym (three or four running machines and not much more in front of a large TV). The pool is shallow but warm and fitted with various relaxing additions - a small waterfall, chairs in the pool to lie on with bubble jets etc. There is also a sauna and a steam room all to use free of charge.

On the roof of the hotel you will find an outdoor pool, a bar and seating all around the edges overlooking the city. We didn't spend any time on the roof terrace (it was November!), but I can imagine in the summer it is a real benefit of this hotel.

Overall, we would highly recommend H1898. The location is perfect for La Rambla and once you are accustomed to the busy street noise below it is a very calm chilled experience staying here. Breakfast is a buffet arrangement with the option of eggs to be cooked in addition and the quality of the food is very good.

If you are looking to eat out rather than at the Hotel then avoid the strip of La Rambla. If you turn left out of the hotel you are a very short walk from a small courtyard area where you can drink and eat for half of the price (Bar Lobo for example). If you turn right out of the hotel, cross La Rambla and keep going you will soon find the Gotic area where the food is good and inexpensive.

The hotel bar is fine for a nightcap and is not overpriced given its location and status (10 Euro for two drinks). You should expect to pay 40 Euro for a taxi from or to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiJo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest.

First at thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona and for all yours really high reviews about our hotel!
Regarding your comment about your check in moment we would like to apologize if your first impression about our staff was not friendly as you were expecting.
We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our services and costumer care. On behalf of the Front Desk staff we would like to inform you that we do care about all our guest and we are grateful for all them that are staying here with us, so we hope to have another chance to see you in the next future and make our best to change your impression about us!

Looking forward to having you back at the H1898!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel the room the staff and the location were all first rate excellent service with the attention to detail and help above and beyond expectations i've found in asian 5 stars the restaurant in the evening is good but not up to the same standard with wrong orders one dish that never arrived and a waiter that told us it was our mistake but don't let this put you off one of the best hotels in Spain just use it as a base to try some of the other superb restaurant's in the square off la Ramblas after you've had the excellent breakfast offered here

Room Tip: the metro can be felt/heard in the restaurant so try for a room on the sidestreet if you upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Fist at all thank you for choose us as your next stay and thank you for your high reviews about our hotel and staff!
We apologize if your restaurant experience was not what you expected! We will take note of your complaints in order to keep improving our service.
We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and hopefully see you in the next future!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 518 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#84 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#5 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 518 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#7 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing