We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful, classy hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #22 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful, classy hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Excellent, elegant, classy mid size boutique hotel on the Ramblas across from the Hotel Meridien. Recently redone. Ask for rooms on a high floor. We were in superior room on the 6th floor. Beautiful, very quiet, large queen with new granite/marble bath (shower/tub). View over roof tops was wonderful. 7th floor Roof top pool and terrace is fabulous. Full spa and fitness center with indoor pool. Hotel restaurant was excellent but expensive. Very helpful, friendly staff. Easy walk to most sights. Short cab ride to others. Overall a wonderful hotel. Good value.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room and asked for a high floor. All the rooms are different because the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest,


We are pleased to learn that you had a marvelous stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilites.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,161
    857
    143
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
2,575
116
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 20th to 24th may for honeymoon in 344, superior room overlooking ramblas. Perfect hotel and very good staff. Great health spa and roof terrace with pool and bar. Great restaurant, bars and lounge

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluetayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for a such important moment in your lives as your honeymoon and especially grateful to hear that you had a wonderful time with us!

I would e honored to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Came with my husband for an anniversary vacation to this hotel.
The room was great, we took the superior room which was big and spacious.
It's great being right above the ramblas since you're close to everything and there are very good resturants in walking distance.
We'll defenetily come back here.
:)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your reviews with us!

We are honored to learn that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and most at all that you liked the room and stayed comfortable during your stay.

We look forward to see you again at the H1898.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for one week in May for our honeymoon. Its a great location, right on La Rambla, out door market & has an amazing roof top lounge area. The rooms are typical european small size but with a modern deco. The hotel is really nice & up scale.

Bar Lubo is right around the corner & offers a great bite to eat (I suggest the lubo burger).

The only complaint I have is the church bell ringing at 8am until noon at all hours. I think all the hotels in the area can hear it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that your overall experience at out hotel was pleasant and that you could enjoy all the neighborhood area as well since we are locate in the plenty historic part of the city.


It was our pleasure to have you in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Me and my family of five stayed in Hotel 1898 around three years ago. I wonder why I forgot to review what I found to be one of the nicest hotels we had stayed in. The location was perfect, right along La Rambla where all the action was. Our rooms were very nicely decorated with stripes of black and blue, modern with some fusion of the old. We had two rooms and both were a feast to the eyes. Our room was spacious and with separate double lavatories outside the bathroom. Everything is spotlessly clean.

It was quite a nostalgic experience staying in this hotel because being from the Philippines I appreciated that the hotel designers paid homage to the Philippine culture and history. Old photos and paintings depicting the Philippine history were prominently displayed on the walls. The year 1898 is a very significant period in our country because that was the year when the Philippined gained its independence from Spain. Traditional Filipino materials were displayed in some areas and that made us proud and happy to be staying there.

We had buffet breakfast at the hotel and the spread was fantastic. A variety of hot and cold selections were available besides the usual bread, jams, cold cuts and cheeses. Service was excellent and no request was left unattended.

We love the bar at the penthouse where you can lounge and relax at night or enjoy the sun in the morning.

Very convenient too as to shopping. All the shops are along the street where Hotel 1898 is situated, from souvenir shops to the big marketplace that sells tons of hams, fruits and other specialties.

I love Barcelona, the food, the people, the convivial atmosphere. If we get the chance to return, Hotel 1898 is our home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redstone1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Sir.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful say at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We are really proud to keep alive the Philippine tradition and culture as long this was the 1st headquarters of the Philippine tobacco in Barcelona.
We kindly invite you to come over again and rediscovering all our facilities and more interesting pictures regarding your beautiful land.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

great location (right on La Rambla and close to two subway stops), luxurious lobby and rooms and great professional service. We did not try the restaurant, so no comments there. Rooms were quiet and modern. Wi-fi worked fine. Only one negative comment: the inside pool was unusable for us - the air temperature is set at the same temp and humidity as the spa/steam room, so, unless you want to use a pool area having 90 deg heat and 90% humidity, you won't us it. The rooftop pool and terrace was beautiful, however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before our cruise. It was fabulous from begining to end. They allowed us to check in at 9 am which was great for us since we had just got off a long flight. We had a superior room and everything about the room was great. The bed was comfy and the bathroom first rate.
The service was also very good. Everyone we encountered spoke great English and was willing to help with all our questions.
The spa was very nice. We did not have any treatments but made use of the facility which had a steam room, sauna and a hydrotherapy pool.
I believe one of the best features of the hotel though is its location. It could not be any better. Just walk out the front door and you are right on la rambla.
The only possible negative, which is not a problem for me but could be for some is the noise. If you are a light sleeper or go to bed early you will hear the noise of la rambla late into the evening.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone but especially couples! I will definently return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zwpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing