We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views”

Magic Fountain (Font Magica)
Ranked #6 of 794 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A combination display of water, music and light which was originally built in 1929. It was restored in 1992 and provides a spectacular show every half hour.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

be there for sunset. Great photos from high up. Museum above is wonderful. Fountains stop at dark...

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"light show"
in 580 reviews
"water show"
in 297 reviews
"hear the music"
in 215 reviews
"show starts"
in 188 reviews
"friday and saturday"
in 130 reviews
"classical music"
in 149 reviews
"art museum"
in 118 reviews
"visiting barcelona"
in 144 reviews
"display"
in 659 reviews
"spectacle"
in 221 reviews
"thousands"
in 253 reviews
"mnac"
in 172 reviews
"metro"
in 445 reviews
"arena"
in 121 reviews
"placa"
in 182 reviews
"pickpockets"
in 198 reviews
"performance"
in 171 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 27,188 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

These fountains are impressive at any time, and after dark there is a light show added. The trick to making the most of the experience is to move around to see the display from different angles, with different backgrounds. Think like a photographer, and you'll find the best angles. The experience is memorable. I would guess that during a storm would be the only time to skip this colourful attraction.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

What a show to see for all. There is many fountains surrounding the main one with great views from each angle. Lots of people, so be mindful of belongings. Best views are at night. Look at schedules. The dates of operation change.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank MJ0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

We were surprised to learn that the fountain show lasts almost an hour (now this might be season dependent). We went half an hour before and it was full of people and we couldn't get a good spot. After half an hour of the show, many people left and many good spots open up. One of the best is on top of the ramp that cross the street to the fountain (you will need to climb up a bit). If we knew this, we would have enjoyed our dinner before going to this.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank MontfortOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2018

An absolute must! You just can't leave Barcelona without seing it!
Easy access by metro (Espana station) or by foot (we had a walk from the city center).
The place is very crowded, but the good thing is that everyone will see everything. You don't even need to get too close - the fountain is so huge that I would suggest to watch it from a little distance, then you will see all the beauty of water and colors.
They usually have a few parts, each one with different kind of music - classic, popular, from the movies, etc. Make sure that you don't miss the legendary "Barcelona" by Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballe - it's breathtaking!
Been to this place many times and it never fails to amaze me!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ptica_Divnaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Fountain (Font Magica) also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Magic Fountain (Font Magica)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing