We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no shows in the winter?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Fountain (Font Magica)

Magic Fountain (Font Magica)
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.96*
and up
Barcelona Electric Bike Tour to Montjuïc Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A combination display of water, music and light which was originally built in 1929. It was restored in 1992 and provides a spectacular show every half hour.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no shows in the winter?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tried to see it on Saturday and there was no water in the fountains. Though it says on the website there are shows all year around, I think it's not correct.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,133
    5,042
    1,621
    403
    270
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were really lucky as on our last night the fountain was working after a year of closure for refurbishment. Only runs on Friday and Saturday in winter. Great atmosphere, lights water and Freddy Mercury singing Barcelona.... what more could you want.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Currently unavailable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I got the chance to see the fountain two years back and is spectacular. A beautiful moment shared with many many others. Unfortunately this February it was closed, we waiting for a long time in the cold. There was no sign or announcement on the Internet.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We were so lucky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We decided to go to the Magic Fountains on a whim, and boy, were we glad we did! We ended up being there during the Harley Davidson Festival. It was absolutely incredible. A wonderful mix of locals and tourists everywhere, live music, delicious food and drinks to be purchased, all with the backdrop of the brilliant Magic Fountains in the background. If you have the chance to go during such a festival, make it a priority!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GiselleEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“They are magical :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

If there is one thing you should see in Barcelona then it is the Magic Fountain. A complex of fountains provides 3 hours of jaw-dropping fun :) The stairs at Placa Espanya get full hours before the show starts so it's not a bad idea to get there around 7 pm :) Even if you are late you will still be able to sit on the grass in front of the fountains and enjoy the music and the coreography of the fountains. Such a great display of colors and loads of fun. We stayed until the very end and I can't wait to come back again some day soon :) The best thing about it - totally free :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zengaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Fountain (Font Magica) also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Magic Fountain (Font Magica)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing