We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #250 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, booked directly through the hotel website, in mid-Oct. Pool was still open, but freezing cold. Jacuzzi was hot, at least, but didn't seem to be working. The ice machine on the 3rd floor was out of action for our whole stay. And some bits of the room were a bit shabby, including the laminate floor.
Aside from those niggles, location is good, rooms are a reasonable size, reception staff are helpful, and drinks on the terrace are fairly priced.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Al W,
I would like to thank you very much for giving us thereby useful feedback.
I am happy that you addressed some failures during your stay, because they reveal points to be improved. We will check with our maintenance team in order to ensure we could avoid this sort of complaints at future. It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel.
Kindest regards from Barcelona.
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a group of friends.
This is a great hotel, we had a triple room which was very spacious and modern, breakfast was included and was really good, lots to choose from, good coffee and juice too which you don't always get in Spanish hotels!

We did the Barcelona City open top bus trip 2 Euros cheaper if you book through the hotel and it picked up and stopped right outside the door.

The best thing about this hotel was the pool area, which made it feel like a holiday!!

We had a fab meal at a restaurant round the corner recommended by the hotel staff and walked to the beach where there are some fun bars.

Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank JDP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear JDP73,
Thank you for the review and for strongly recommending us.
We would love to have you back with us on your next visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely.
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the SB Icaria the week commencing the 9 September 2013.
We arrived early but our room was ready and we were able to check in. The receptionist was very friendly (and spoke good English). The rooms are accessible via lift using the room key. The room was very clean and well decorated. The room had good facilities including tv, mini bar/fridge and safe.
We spent most evenings outside on the terrace. The tapas was delicious and the cocktails amazing. All the staff were friendly and we were always served quickly. Breakfast was also excellent with a great variety of food.
The hotel itself is in a good location. Although not in the centre of the city the bus stop for the bus touristic is just round the corner. It is also a couple of minutes walk to the beach and there is a shopping mall down the road with restaurants and a supermarket. There were also taxis nearly always available right outside the hotel which made it so easy to get around. The local area feels very safe to walk around.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Fiona G,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words. Your positive comments about our team encourage us to go further and work harder in order to exceed our guest expectations. We remain at your entire disposal.
Sincerely yours,
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in September 2013 and had a great trip.
The room was modern, clean and spacious enough for a long weekend.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly (helping us with directions and restaurant reservations etc).
We were concerned it might be a little out of the way but the location is actually great. The hotel is very close to the beach and has a much quieter feel than some hotels in the centre of town but it has great access to town. We used buses to get to places like La Rambla (two buses run right outside the hotel to La Rambla and Placa de Catalunya) and took taxis in the evening which cost about 10 euros.
Would definitely recommend this place for anybody looking for a base for their Barcelona trip but without the hustle and bustle of areas like Rambla and the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoviceTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear NoviceTraveller2013,
I'm happy to see that you have enjoyed our location. Thanks you for sharing your comments with us and looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to Barcelona.
Kindest regards.
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice modern hotel, great rooms, nicely furnished and clean. Staff were very helpful! From the hotel it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach, 10 minutes to the metro station, and the bus stop is right outside. The location was perfect and just what we wanted.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shanpurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Shanpurcell,
We are grateful that you have sent us your nice impressions. We keep entire at your service waiting for your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards.
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel is modern rather then cosy, in a good position to visit the City and Beach. Hotel in quiet area 5 min's from beach and near City Tour bus stop. The room was of a good size, clean and designed in functional Spanish style, colour wood and chrome. Staff were helpful once you could grab there attention. There are loads of good restaurants to choose from nearby in the beach marina area. We found it difficult to find the Hotel initially because of one way streets, parking at hotel was expensive but we could of parked in the street FOC unfortunately we had pre-booked. Front desk price same as pre-booking. Breakfast was included in our rate which was good rather then fantastic. If we go again we will gladly use this Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Leslie T ,
Thanks for choosing us and taking the time to write your review on your recent SB Icaria experience. Also let me inform you that currently free parking is available if booking through our official website.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barcelona very soon!
Sincerely,
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Barcelona; we had decided upon some Sights that we wanted to see, and also we wanted to visit the Beaches.

Hotel Icaria is perfectly located for this - there are plenty of taxis and busses to take you into the city. The busses are very clean and very reasonably priced - just 4 euros for the pair of us to travel to Parc Guell; a visit here is a must.

The Tourist Bus stops just outside the hotel and the Hotel offers discount tickets for this bus.

The beaches are just aprox 5 minute walk away, exit the Hotel, cross the Av. d'Icaria carry on straight up Carrer de Joan Oliver, over the bridge, walk down a bit to the crossing over the roads and you are there - with plenty of restuarants and Chiringuitos!

This is if you can leave the Hotel Icaria of course - Hotel Icaria is lovely!!!

We found all the Staff to be very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.

Our room was PERFECT; very clean and modern, and the view was fantastic!!!
The toiletries were of a very high standard and the room facilities were marvelous with flat screen TV with a variety of channels, strong wifi and plenty of storage space, and the Patio Furniture was so very, very comfortable!!

There was an Ice Machine by the lifts, with an Ice Bucket provided in the room.

The Hallway is carpeted, and the Doors shut quietly - no clattering and banging!
( there was some traffic noise in the evenings, though this did not affect us)

The choice at breakfast was amazing, with enough variety to suit most tastes, all very well presented and plenty of it including: Friuts and Yoghurts, Meats & Cheeses, Breads & Cereals, Cakes and Sweet Pastries and hot English Breakfast, with the crockery, cutlery and glasses all very clean

There were several vending machines in the dining room for hot and cold drinks, with the hot drinks being hot, not luke warm and the cold water was nicely chilled with a very good taste.

The Pool Area and Sunset Terrace were again really lovely, very clean with modern decor with a lovely cosy atmosphere and plenty of seating. We had a couple of snacks and drinks here which were reasonably priced.

(On this occasion we did not use the Spa or Pool Facilities so I can not make comments)

It was not easy to leave the Icaria, day and night, but we were in Barcelona to see and feel Barcelona!!

Sorry to submit such a long review, it is hard not to go on and on about the delights of the Icaria and our wonderful stay!

We would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Icaria and we intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool may be quieter for traffic noise. The Terrace rooms have a fantastic spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Freixie,
Thank you for the compliments. It is great to hear feedback from our guests and to feel rewarded when we read we are doing a good job. We hope to see you back soon!
Cordially,
Ramon A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#175 of 519 in Barcelona
2,591 reviews
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero
#240 of 519 in Barcelona
2,247 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#174 of 519 in Barcelona
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 519 in Barcelona
3,169 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#189 of 519 in Barcelona
3,114 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Salles Hotel Pere IV
Salles Hotel Pere IV
#269 of 519 in Barcelona
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#160 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $94 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing