We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #245 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very good hotel,close to the beach,a little bit far from city center,but you can take hop on-hop off bus which stops close to the hotel.If you are looking for a beach holiday in Barcelona I think Icaria is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeeTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear DeeDeeTimisoara,
I would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing your SB Icaria Barcelona experience.
Sincerely.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    689
    229
    69
    35
See reviews for
438
437
28
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyed staying at the Hotel Icaria. Staff were most helpful and the amenities at the hotel were good. Excellent breakfast. We used both the tour buss and the Metro to reach centre of the City but on several occasions we walked into town. Being so near to the beach was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jane M,
We are so happy that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we have met your expectations. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Barcelona in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We opted for this hotel based on its location near the beach, and we weren't disappointed. Although it meant we had a longer walk to the city sights (Sagrada Familia was about 45 minutes, the Ramblas about 30 minutes), it's minutes from the beach and from Port Olimpic. Having said that, it's only 10 minutes from the metro and the hop on hop off bus tour stops nearby, so there are alternatives and quicker methods to get into the city. It was actually nice to escape the hectic touristy areas in the city for a more peaceful location. Our room was small but perfectly formed, and always cleaned to a high standard and simple modern decor. The aircon worked well, and we faced the pool area - I'd recommend you ask for a room facing the pool as it was very quiet. The bathroom was lovely and the shower always had plenty of hot water. Only downside was the bath took AGES to fill, so slow that we gave up on having one after a long day of walking!

The beachfront is lined with restaurants, and although they were fine, I felt they were all extremely overpriced for the standard on food on offer - although the view was always beautiful. I felt like we missed out on the best restaurants, because after a long day we didn't fancy walking back into the city for food (where we imagined the restaurants would be better, but that could be our fault for not doing our research).

Back to the hotel, the pool area was fantastic. We didn't find it too hard to find a sunbed. The jacuzzi was lovely, and we used the sauna too which was great. There's a small gym off the pool area, which we didn't use but looked fine. They lent us towels, which you could also take to the beach, so you don't need to bring your own.

The breakfast offered a huge choice - cereals, fruit, cold meat and cheese, bread, yoghurts, pastries and a cooked breakfast, which was nice despite the fact the fried eggs were practically raw. The hotel also offers food during the day, but it was expensive and pretty average. Drinks at the bar during the day were costly too - it cost me 5 euros for a tiny coke (about 250ml) and a small bottle of water.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and for some travelling tips, and they always produced the goods. In our bathroom there was a pump on the wall with shower gel in, which was nearly empty when we arrived. I asked them to fill it, and it was done by the time we got back to our hotel.

In summary: it's no 5*, swish and glamorous hotel, but it's pretty decent, we really enjoyed our stay here and we'd recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool, which was only open after 9am so it was quiet. Having said that, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarey_oo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear clarey_oo1,
Thank you for choosing us and for for share your Hotel Icaria Barcelona experience.
Best regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in June and were disappointed in this hotel. The staff here were nice which was a good start. However, the rooms are incredibly old and shabby. We checked into our first room and the aircon sounded like a jackhammer. Spoke to reception and they moved us to another room - and this time the aircon was hot and rubbish. The room even had toilet paper covering the smoke detector! The location is good - within walking distance of the beach. The pool area is fairly nice but being summer, was always uncomfortably crowded. I'm sure there are much better places to stay in Barcelona - I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Aussie A,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay. I am disappointed to hear we did not fulfill your expectations. We will focus our efforts to improve the details you are highlighting in your review. The next time that you visit Barcelona, I hope to get the chance to show you that we can offer you a much better experience. Cordially,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good hotel - highly recommend the breakfast as they cater for all tastes and there is plenty to eat.
Room quite small but very clean - we were in the standard room.
Shower/bath excellent, always hot water. Air-con took some getting used to.
All staff very helpful.
There are may restaurants and cafes on the beach front which is only a 5 minute (if that) walk away. There is a stop close by for the hop-on hop-off bus which was well worth the money for a two day ticket. Metro and bus stops not too far but we didn't use them as tended to walk most places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear KelC_10,
Thank you for sharing your SB Icaria Barcelona experience.
Sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked into here as there was nothing else left during Sonar weekend and I usually stay in less fancy places to be fair.

The first room I had on the 3rd floor was extremely noisy: I could hear the neighbours opening and closing their wardrobe and bathroom doors, when they were walking around, you could hear people upstairs walking about too and could even hear the neighbours’ baby crying. I asked to change room and the nice girl on reception helped me out immediately and offered me one on the 6th floor which was much better. The hotel’s not cheap considering that it’s nothing that fancy or special but the location is great: 5 minutes’ walk to the beach and thankfully quite away from the freakshow of La Rambla and its constant stream of drug dealers, pickpockets and prostitutes. The staff were ok and did the job, most were nice but some of them urgently need some training on how to smile at customers and learn basic courtesy like saying “hello” when you say hi to them, and “thank you”. Everything is expensive in Barcelona to be honest but I probably wouldn’t stay there again as there’s much nicer places to stay for a lot less money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Martin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 88Martin88,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed to hear we did not fulfill your expectations and I would like to apologize if some other guests were talking loud or slamming their doors next to your room. Even though this is sometimes out of our control, as you said, our staff immediately worked to correct this situation successfully. I hope you will give us another chance on a future visit to Barcelona.
Cordially, Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast although coffee not great as from machine :-( Lovely pool and bar. Close to the beach. Nearest metro ten minute walk away but we prefer to walk along the beaches to the centre of town, approx. 30 minute walk. Third time here, will come back again :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JanHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JanHitchin,
I want to thank you very much for your kind words that I’ll be glad to extend to all of our team. We all feel really happy to receive our clients positive feedback.
Best Regards,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#220 of 513 in Barcelona
596 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#163 of 513 in Barcelona
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
4,587 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
2,375 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#155 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing